We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Double awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Float plane ride in is fantastic, location is fabulous, lodge is much better than you would imagine (although it was replaced in 2012 due to a fire), staff are really dedicated, food really is very good, tours are well organised and informative, wildlife is abundant.

We visited in September in the early part of the Salmon run, bears are everywhere, great viewing from the weir and the finger ( I think visitors should have limited visits to these locations, we found out that some visitors to the lodge only went bear viewing )

An amazing place to visit, I hope we can visit again some time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the lodge have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sellersalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
94
205
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights including Campbell River. The time frames were tight but perfectly reasonable. Bear viewing on the platforms was outstanding; the other trips were slightly disappointing as wildlife viewed was rather limited ......but that's nature for you! My only real criticism would be the food; yes, it is good but 5* it is not - I would have been very happy with the food had my expectations not been unreasonably raised.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FarAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenview
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Lodge was perfect for me, because I could feel like I was out in Nature, surrounded by beauty of forests, water, wildlife, but have none of the hardships that generally come with such an adventure. They do a great job. To experience Nature so conveniently from the seaplane that flies the guests in to the boats that skim across the surface of the water to take you to view bald eagles, gooey star fish of some variety, grizzly bears and wonderful waterfalls, to the great food including wine with dinner, to the nice rooms with comfy beds and great hot showers, to the lovely staff and hardworking guides, and to the feeling of being unplugged without t.v.s, internet, email, phone calls and the distractions of modern life was a wonderful experience. We will be back! A postscript to the people who were crabbing about not being able to use wiifi or enjoy bison ribs (there was always fresh fruit and cut vegetables and bread, etc., available) they must not subscribe to what Thumper's mother advised in Bambi: "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wendywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was such a well organised trip. We arrived by seaplane and within one hour we had been given a tour of the lodge, shown to our room and then straight on to our first bear viewing. All the trips were amazing. The staff very friendly and knowledgeable. All food was included which was excellent. Knight Inlet was the highlight of our holiday.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Knight Inlet Lodge and were disappointed with the overall experience.

The good points were:
great guides, great waterproofs and great bear watching (if you got some allocated)

The bad points were:
very poor food (I do not understand how people rate it as 5star, it is as if we went to a
different place, maybe there were problems in the kitchen we were not told about)

the meals ranged from fair to poor to inedible (bison ribs)(even the staff left these)

the coffee machines are the only acceptable part of the catering experience

we did not receive an info pack that should have told us to expect just one trip to a bear
stand each day,
we were therefore disappointed to find that with more guests than bear stand slots we had
three non-bear stand trips per day - at more than 4000 pounds for 3 nights I find this
completely unacceptable.

the guiding staff are superb but understaffed

there is no manager to iron out problems, this is left to the senior guide when she gets
back from guiding the Disney film crew !

the new rooms are poorly insulated for sound, I was awake one night listening to one
neighbour snoring, others talking in their bathroom and others flushing their toilet


We certainly enjoyed our bear watching but, like most people we spoke to, we had to complain several times about the unfair allocation of it.

The food was pitiful and will prevent a return trip, repeat business is obviously not an issue with
so much demand but it is still sad that we will not go back
.
If you have the money and will put up with bad food then try it because the bears are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mickw952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilopsman, General Manager at Knight Inlet Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food during your stay. However judging by the many positive comments from other guests at the lodge while you were there it most definitely is only your opinion. As you state other guests rate our food as 5 star so we are confident that our skilled and dedicated Chef's are serving not just good but great meals.

Your review also contains factually incorrect statements regarding documentation, lack of Lodge Manager and more guests than viewing stand slots. These statements are simply not true.

All of the staff at Knight Inlet Lodge, including Lodge Manger Brian and Head Chef Paul, are very proud of the lodge and the program we offer guests. The many glowing reviews and comments from returning guests, some of them on their forth visit to the lodge, tell us we are doing a good job. While we acknowledge your right to have an opinion on the lodge and are sorry that you did not appreciate your visit we respectfully disagree with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cnlev
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing experience...experience of a lifetime! Staff was amazing, going out of their way to make our time wonderful. staff was a wealyj of knowledge and shared that knowledge freely. Accommodations were very nice, food was excellent. We would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited the lodge last september and we got a near perfect stay. The bears, the eagles, the entire environment of Knight Inlet is just astounding. You feel as being in a complete natural world, alone with the wilderness.
The lodge was staffed with competent and very motivated guides. The food was excellent, fresh and tasteful, unbelievable if you imagine the remoteness of the lodge.
If you want to see Western Canada at its wildest and in the best of circumstances, this is the place to go.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
0.0 mi away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
0.0 mi away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing