We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knight Inlet Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Breakers Resort(Black Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Resort(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Resorts(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge(Quadra Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Big Rock Motel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heron's Landing Hotel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
387
22
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
22
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknight inletcampbell riversalmonfloat planebald eaglesbear viewingblack beansnight packagemarine tourvancouver islandwhale watchingwonderful experiencetheir natural habitatwhole experiencerainforest walktwo daysbucket list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 419 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We love places like this - hard to get to, very few people to share the viewing experience with, fantastic views and scenery and incredible wildlife. Everything was great but for one little irritation - we didn't see enough bears. We saw saw none on the day we arrived, a few on day two (only because they took us somewhere that we weren't technically meant to go to), none on day three, and a black mother bear with two gorgeous cubs on the last morning. Yes it was disappointing especially as some people who left the day after we arrived had seen over 20 bears. We must have just been very unlucky.
My advice would be to stay for as long as you can to maximise your chances of seeing as much wildlife as you can.
The lodge is really comfortable and the rooms are new as the lodge burnt down in September last year. The staff are all friendly and pretty knowledgeable. We enjoyed Paul's company when we did the marine tour and enjoyed the company of a large pod of white sided dolphins on the way to watching the Orcas and the Humpback whales.
I can't forget to mention the seaplane journey to get to the lodge which was an incredible experience on its own.
If you can, try to get to the lodge after the 25th August when you get to use the viewing platform and you should see plenty of bears catching salmon - which is what we really wanted to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The flight to Glendale cove from Campbell river despite being choppy was beautiful and very cool! We didn't like the fact we had to stay a knight in Herons Landing before flying up to the cove otherwise we would have spent 4 nights there. We didn't as many bears as we expected only 3 black bears and 3/4 Grizzlys compared to people who stayed 2 night and saw around 23 bears. The staff are excellent, lovely to talk to and always trying to please by doing a little bit more. The accommodation was a bit crowded for 4 of us in a single room but we got by. The food was excellent and suited our dietary requests. Unfortunately we didn't get to see the bears catching a salmon but there were a lot in the river. They even let us do some fishing of the dock which I caught 2 Hake and a flounder as a first time fisher - Robin the head chef was very kind to show me and lend me a rod. A little tip is to update some of the technology for bear viewing in having a few live cameras a the tree stand so they can see if anyone down there as we did waste 7 hours sitting there not seeing a bear. Considering that it had burnt down last year the lodge was incredible with lots of little touches to help. Thank you to everyone working there who made it a great experience for us including Jess, Madison, moyra, Paul, Brian, robin and everyone else.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at Knight Inlet but could have stayed forever. During our stay we saw a wolf, bald eagles, black bears and on our second day, 15 grizzlie bears, including a mum and 4 cubs. This is a stunning place, with friendly knowledgeable staff, wonderful food, the most beautiful setting PLUS bears!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a fantastic place to visit. Unfortunately we only had 1 night but will try and go again for a longer time. We saw lots of grizzly bears and a black bear. The scenery is breathtaking and you feel like you are the only ones on this earth. The staff are fantastic with lots of knowledge and expertise. The equipment is all new and you are provided with protective clothing to suit all activities. A must for any one touring to Canada.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Arrived over 3 hours late due to low hanging fog making it difficult for the sea plane to land however Brian, the Ops Manager, kindly agreed to add an extra evening excursion for us given we were only staying overnight. On the day of arrival we saw no Grizzlies on either of the two boat estuary trips. However, the scenery, tranquility and serenity made up for the lack of bears on the hope of 'third time lucky'. The following morning didn't bode well, with more low hanging motionless cloud, however as we approached the estuary a mother bear with two 6-month old cubs strolled out of the woods directly in front of us and proceeded to enter the water and swim right across the channel in front of our boat. Once on land this group of three bears came across another 3, a mother and two 18-month cubs; six beautiful, shaggy, playful bears in total. We'd prayed to the bear god the night before and were blessed with an hours viewing of these magnificent animals an hour before boarding the sea plane back to Campbell River. It doesn't sound much but the experience repaid every penny the trip had cost us with dividends. The bear viewing, combined with the scenic tours, was an experience of a lifetime with my thought being at the time 'this is God's country' if ever there is one - absolutely stunning. In regard to the lodge, facilities and staff. Dean is an absolute trojan, 100% committed to giving his guests a great experience. On the first estuary tour he dragged our boat with 5 people over a low-tide gravel bed to try and get us up stream to the viewing platform area where he thought the bears might be found. Similarly, Kris and her husband Sha(y) - not sure of the spelling, sorry!, were happy to have their dinner/ evening cut short to take us on a sunset tour. Kris also acted as our guide the following morning. All three were friendly, engaging, knowledgeable and clearly 100% passionate and commited to delivering a great experience. Maddison and the boat pilot, I think it might have been Tony?, gave us a great tour of Glendale Cove, and Brian and Clare were really supportive in addressing our gripes and moans following our delayed arrival. The cabins are modern, homely, well kitted out and the bed was unbelievably comfortable with the biggest matress we've ever slept on. The food and facilities were top-class with the lobster filled shrimp tails of the quality I would find in a top London restaurant. We were provided with very good quality wet weather gear and plenty of refreshments and pastries throughout the day to keep us replenished. My wife was apprehensive of the sea plane flight but thoroughly enjoyed it commenting that she didn't know we'd even landed on arrival it was so smooth. Harold at the sea plane terminal did a great job of trying to keep morale up when it appeared we might not even get to fly out due to the fog! I have one niggle and one gripe. Knowing that we were the only people staying overnight we were the last party to depart the terminal and arrive at Knight's Inlet, which could have been better considered. And, the biggest issue and nothing to do with Knight's Inlet but with our tour company (Canada2 using local agent Jonview Canada Inc.), an overnight stay is simply not long enough. If you plan to go to Knight's Inlet make sure it is for no less than 2 nights - I want to return for 4! This experience is 5-star from start to finish and made our holiday to Canada an ultimate experience but one night simply does not do it justice. Thanks to all at Knight's Inlet for an experience that will stay with us for some time to come!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank DCMIT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews