We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bears and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bears and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our second trip to Knight Inlet and it was even better. The viewing stands had just opened and we were lucky enough to see many grizzly both times we went to them, including a close up of a large subadult male.
But lots of other stuff - black bear from the lodge, river otter, dolphin, porpoise, seal, birds and shrimp.
But as well as the wildlife and amazing scenery are a fantastic staff and excellent food. Take the rainforest hike to work of some of the Glendale spread. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
94
205
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

After flying in on float plane, I thought, 'wow'. The lodge itself is spectacular, a floating complex! The rooms are not brilliant, just a bit stuffy, and you may start feeling a little sea sick as your are trying to get to sleep! You go on tours, 3 a day. Note: DO NOT COME EXPECTING TO SEE LOTS OF BEARS: we only saw one. When you go, MAKE SURE TO ASK TO GO ON THE BRIDGE TOUR. The Bridge Tour is the best chance you have of seeing bears. Also, try to go for a swim in the cove, it's really quite...refreshing!

I think that it was quite poorly set out, I did some research on grizzlys, and the peak time for viewing them is when they come out in the morning, at the crack of dawn. The lodge staff should give you the option to go on an early morning tour. The food was brilliant, but the reason we came to this hotel was to see bears, and on that level it disappointed. I recommend a stay of 4 nights or more if you want to get some decent bear-viewing in.

If you really want to see bears, I think that staying in Banff and driving along the 'Wildlife Road' to the spectacular Lake Louise is your best chance. I hope you have a nice stay and happy bear-viewing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebagman, Operations manager at Knight Inlet Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Knight Inlet Lodge. We are sorry that you did not see more grizzlies but that is far from our normal result. For a short stretch of time in August an unusual combination of hot weather, higher than normal water levels in the river plus an early start to our salmon run meant we saw fewer grizzlies than expected. The reality of wildlife viewing is that humans do not control the results, the animals do. The viewing either side of this time frame was very good.

Our tours are carefully organized to maximize the opportunities for our guests to see bears and include both early morning and evening tours when necessary. We are proud of our team and how they go the extra mile to help guests get the experience they are looking for. Having traveled through Banff on many occasions I must respectively disagree with your comment about seeing more grizzlies in that area. There is simply no comparison in the amount of bears we typically see at Knight Inlet and what you might see in the Banff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This lodge is in a spectacular setting which alone is worth the visit. But it's an expensive trip and for many tourists it's about seeing bears. There's no guarantees with Mother Nature, but most visitors who rave about this destination do so because of the bears. We only saw a couple and from a long way off. Plan for this and make sure you have a long lens and powerful set of binoculars - they provide binoculars but very poor quality ones. The staff certainly go out of there way to find bears - they actually ran an extra trip in the evening in an effort to find us some bears (and that was the only sighting we had). Food is good, while not spectacular, the rooms are good, staff fantastic ... but for us it was about bears and they weren't about, despite it being the season. We saw far more bears just driving and touring around the Banff area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waynos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at Knight Inlet Lodge (16-21 August 2012) and had the most wonderful experience. We saw lots of grizzly bears (and cubs) each day we were there as well as seals, otters, salmon, blue heron, hummingbirds, bald eagles and black bears.

We cannot fault anything about our five night stay at the lodge, it runs like a well oiled machine, due to terrific planning and the fabulous 'can do' attitude of the staff. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable - the days are long and action packed so you don't spend a lot of time in your room. The food is nothing short of exceptional, you will not be hungry. Excellent quality meals and snacks.

As mentioned the days are action packed. Breakfast is at 6:30am and you head out on your first tour of the day at 7:30am. You have a choice of: boat outings to look for bears, nature walks and lots more. The scenery is breathtaking. The guides are informative and friendly. Each night after dinner there is also an evening talk/presentation given by staff members.

Wet weather gear and binoculars are provided by the lodge so no need to pack your own.

Right from the beginning when you book your tour to Knight Inlet Lodge you know that it will be a smooth journey...we booked our trip directly with the Lodge and the staff are super efficient, professional and friendly. The staff that are located at the float plane office are also friendly and extremely helpful. All of the staff at the lodge (guides, office, cleaning, kitchen etc etc) are fantastic - they work so hard and work very long hours.

All staff are outstanding and are what make your trip so memorable (the bears help too!).

Thank you to all of the staff of Knight Inlet Lodge for giving us a trip of a lifetime :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Experiencing Knight Inlet Lodge really is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Where else can the ordinary traveller encounter wild Grizzly Bears in such numbers? Beautiful, isolated and accessible only by seaplane, this floating lodge is staffed by enthusiastic and experienced guides who go out of their way to help you encounter a dazzling array of wildlife.

We watched a black bear and an otter close to the lodge itself, and spent a few spellbinding hours observing and photographing Grizzlies – big mature individuals, yearlings and mothers with cubs – sometimes from boats, from hides and, most thrillingly of all, from kayaks. There was plenty of other wildlife, including Harbour Seals, Herons, Canadian Geese, Bald Eagles, Turkey Vultures, Belted Kingfishers and, of course, lots of salmon.

One point worth knowing is that, if you spend three knights at the lodge, you have the option to participate in a whole-day whale-watching excursion. Climb aboard one of the lodge’s high-speed, twin outboard craft and head down the inlet towards the coast to check out the abundance of sea life British Columbia has to offer.

We were lucky: our first spot was a pod of transient Orcas heading down the inlet. These wandering killer whales feed on marine mammals, in contrast to the fish-eating resident Orcas we encountered later. We also got to see Harbour and Dall’s Porpoises and Pacific White Sided Dolphins as well as an amazing variety of sea birds. Perhaps the highlight of the day, along with the Orcas, was the time spent shadowing a Humpback Whale, which surfaced and blew less than five metres from the boat – much to the surprise of everybody on board!

Remember that this is an isolated, floating lodge, so expect to trade some creature comforts for the excitement of seeing bears in the wild - which, after all, is what this place is all about. The food is excellent and the staff and guests friendly. The bar closes quite early, but you'll need to be up early the next morning for the first excursion in a packed daily itinerary.

Visiting Knight Inlet is a genuinely unique experience and one that you must try if you are lucky enough to have the opportunity. It is absolutely the perfect way for armchair naturalists to get a real taste of the wild.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

From start to finish this was an excellent experience. We spent four weeks in Canada but our two nights and days at knight inlet were outstanding. Early in season but we still saw plenty of bears and other wildlife. Such a beautiful place and unspoilt by tourists. Staff excellent and they organised our days so we seemed to fit so much in. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margiehouston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited in early August with our two teenage sons for three nights (first night in Campbell River). We had the most wonderful time, seeing bears every day we went out, and really enjoying some of the other activities on offer such as hikes, kayaking and trips up the Inlet to look at the scenery. The location is fantastic, and the food copious and delicious - although it is expensive we felt it was very good value. It is definitely worth staying at the lodge for more than one night - three might be optimum. The only note of caution is that early August is not the best time to go for bear viewing - we were lucky to see them each day but sightings are apparently more frequent earlier and later in the season, especially when the salmon have really returned to the river.

Special mention should go to the guides who were friendly and incredibly knowledgable, and we enjoyed the evening talks on different aspects of wildlife and culture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
0.0 mi away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
0.0 mi away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive
Knight Inlet Lodge Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing