We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back will be a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Going back will be a pleasure”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We only planned to stay at the hotel for one night but within hours I was back at reception asking if the room was available to allow us to extend our stay. Sadly it was not possible due to a wedding. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and a credit to the stay who prepare and maintain them. The hotel has a quiet controlled atmosphere and this was despite the staff getting ready for a wedding with 122 attendees. The room was beautiful with a four poster bed and a spare bed for our daughter. Clean, tidy and with excellent room service, it made for a beautiful place to stay. We all slept so well. The breakfast rooms were clean, tidy, light and airy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENBOW452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am so glad to read that you are intending to make a return visit to Roxburghe Hotel when hopefully you will be able to stay for more than one night.

I am pleased to know that our staff looked after your family well and would like to thank you for writing this review. If there is anything I can help with for any future visits to the Scottish Borders, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    89
    37
    21
    10
See reviews for
65
220
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel and its staff obviously have worked hard at the art of providing the traveller with the experience of being pampered. The desserts are to die for even though the waistline wouldn;t thank you. The manager exudes a style that has vanished from most establishments and it's a pleasure to see old style standards being maintained. The whole experience was a pleasure and we hope to repeat it soon

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
thank you very much for writing such a positive review.

I am so glad to know that you enjoyed your dining experience and the ambience of The Roxburghe. I do hope you will return soon and look forward to personally welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The location is excellent.
All went well until dinner when we were surprised to see waitresses with grubby aprons and not impressed by the poor menu.
Breakfast was luke-warm and bacon tough. I suggested turning up the heat on the serving dishes to be told they could not.
Yet again the waitresses aprons were grubby - I don't think the Duke would have been impressed at all.
I have stayed in many hotels and this was exceptionally poor [I am being polite]

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan E, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I am so sorry to find that you had such a poor experience whilst staying with us here at The Roxburghe.

Simple standards of hygiene and cleanliness should be a given and these examples are not indicative of the standards which we strive towards. The examples you detail are not representative of our usual care and attention from the dedicated team here and I apologise most sincerely for the service and standards you encountered.

Should you wish to revisit in the future please contact me directly so that I may have the opportunity of restoring your faith in The Roxburghe. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind Regards

Duncan Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed atthis hotel for 2 nights in June, beautiful setting, very well looked after grounds, & food was ok, they ran out of several things at breakfast...we were there for a wedding & found the selection on the Sunday morning to be lacklustre at best. Staff were miserable, especially one young lady in the Club House...Way over priced for the service we received, reception was nothing short of rude. Found just 2 members of staff the whole stay who were charming, attentive & clearly enjoyed their jobs, all others were dreadful. Shame really, as wonderful as the hotel/grounds/food were the staff let the whole thing down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizcassidy, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review on the Hotel. I very much appreciate your feedback. I was obviously very concerned to read about the level of guest care you experienced during your visit at the Roxburghe and would like to offer my apologies. We are in the process of re-assessing all our hotel standards, and staff presentation and training is one of the areas we have already addressed and rectified . It is by listening to our customers that very direct action can be taken to ensure that we constantly improve our guest services. Can I cordially invite you to visit us again in order to experience our much improved level of service.
Yours faithfully
Liz Cassidy - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife and I visited this hotel for lunch while touring in the Borders . The food, service and ambience were excellent.The chef willingly gave us advice so that we can copy his fantastic meal.If you're in the area give yourself a real value for money treat!
We intend to return soon to spend a few days in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband, sister, her husband and myself have just returned from staying in this perfect hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time for us to leave we had first class service. The bedrooms we stayed in were of the highest quality and nothing was too much trouble. The dinner menu was first class as also was the breakfast. So much choice could not decide what to have. They attended to our every needs and was very reluctant to leave.We also used the Health and Beauty Spa and it was also first class. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed for two nights and took advantage of the Spring Break offer that included Dinner on the first night. The Hotel is fabulous with fantastic grounds for walking and real peace and quiet.
We had our meal on the first evening and were some impressed we booked again for the following night - which again was a delight.
The service was very attentive with still lots of privacy - I would highly recommend the hotel.

We visited Kelso several times - the car journey is about five minutes however walking to town would be a challenge.

Onsite Golf looks great - and clay pigeon shooting a possibility for next visit ( we will be back)

Overall a great relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
3.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#3 of 4 in Kelso
357 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
141 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
20.2 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing