We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a good experience ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Made a booking for two rooms to arrive in two days after the booking was made. Arrived to find theywere fully booked and had no rooms set aside for us. Not good after travelling 4 hours from home. They had no record of our booking but we did.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Johncallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
93
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at the Horatio for two nights, whilst attending a family wedding in Mudgee. The hotel is very easy to find, located on the left on the main road into Mudgee. We booked a king size bed, so were in one of the newer suites that faced the main road. We did find it a little noisy with the balcony door open, but with the door closed it was quite well soundproofed. The rooms are very large, with a kitchenette fitted with a microwave oven, sink and fridge. There was a breakfast table, plus a comfy leather lounge. The bathroom was huge, and beautifully appointed. The only adverse comment I would have is that the lack of a fan in the bathroom meant that the mirror fogged up totally when showering. We didn't have a key to the bathroom window, so couldn't open it. We didn't eat breakfast in the dining room as we self catered, but the menu looked to be very good. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the rear of the property so you don't get truck noise early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked a Queen room with a 2 night minimum- Good Friday and Easter Saturday. Room was clean and the owners very helpful. Gave a good dinner recommendation. AT LAST- free WiFi! I think this might be the first motel I have ever stayed in in Australia with free WiFi. Hats off to them for that. Bed was a bit bouncy. Has a couple of Foxtel Channels for free. Well located- a 15 minute walk to town centre

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Horatio Motel has recently opened its new rooms and it was made clear at reception that I was privileged to be among the first to occupy mine.

OK, the room was fine - large, with contemporary décor, as one would expect from a new building. But there was really nothing outstanding that would command $200 per night, except for the fact that it was Mudgee on a Saturday night - overpriced and underserviced.

Sleep was difficult, because the street lights shone in through the bathroom window and the glass door between the bathroom and the bedroom.

Even the continental breakfast (the only breakfast available) ought to have been included in the tariff (it was $10). I suspect a level of complacency here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

You get what you pay for. The room was clean and well presented, except we were a little confused by a huge painting of colourful cars that looked like it would be better placed in a daycare.
Front desk service was cheerful, helpful and polite. Close to town. A decent stay overall.
Only negative is the pillows were fairly flat and not very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toongabbie, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Booked 3 different room types for family to stay. Cottage, Family and Queen room. We were traveling to Mudgee for A Day on the Green concert. Very helpful when booking to try and accommodate our needs. Found prices quite reasonable. Not to far to get to main part of town. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were quoted $160 for 1 night a few months in advance (I had to inform the manager that The Day on The Green was happening - he didn't even know). I was aware with such an event it would normally be a 2 night minimum, however since I became the advisor I was told that I could book for 1 night - no problem and I was very happy.

However when booking in was told the price was $175pn (query) - dropped to $170 - gave up and paid (when it should have been $10 less as we were quoted $160). Our room was very ordinary - many broken little bits (air conditioning, old soap dispensers which have obviously been dispensed with, NO HAIR DRYER (a very basic bit of equipment). The screen on our window (which backed on to an industrial area) was broken and very dirty. We had to lock all valuables in our car - there was not even a safe in the room.
VERY ORDINARY - APART FROM BEING OVERCHARGED JUST SO DISAPPOINTING. The owners and managers had a great big article in the Mudgee paper congratulating them on their new rooms - they should have been spending money on their existing rooms.
Cleanliness - What ! Tooths pick in bed side table draw - who checks these rooms.
Does not deserve 3.5 star rating

Room Tip: There are better options available in Mudgee and we will not be rushing back to Horatio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol5617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.7 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#4 of 10 in Mudgee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horatio - Suites & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horatio - Suites & Motel

Property: The Horatio - Suites & Motel
Address: 15 Horatio St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia (Formerly Horatio Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horatio - Suites & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1996 and redeveloped in 2013, The Horatio is proud to uphold Mudgee's reputation of natural, unpretentious style. The Horatio offers generosity and true hospitality for every traveller whether you're visiting Mudgee for business, leisure or romance. Our flagship offering, the King Spa is the perfect retreat for the wedding couple or those who are looking for a little bit of romance as they explore the Mudgee region. All of our king suites have the highest quality furnishings, linen and acoustic insulation to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Whether you're after a king suite, a queen room or a twin rooms, we pride ourselves on having the most generous rooms with full kitchenette, Austar facilities, a sparkling bathroom and cosy fresh linen. All guests are welcome to relax with friends at our stunning lounge and bar, on our reception terrace or by our pool. Explore beautiful Mudgee from it's finest suites and motel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Horatio - Suites & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horatio Hotel Mudgee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing