We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas in July”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Horizon Mudgee

50 private riverside acres for private parties
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
50 private riverside acres for private parties
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
50 private riverside acres for private parties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mudgee, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lyndallho...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Christmas in July”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A group of 8 adults and we took the Christmas In July package. We were absolutely delighted by what we saw on approach and the house itself was amazing. With four couples there was plenty of room for everyone. A few of us had never been to Mudgee and we were pleasantly pleased and surprised to see how much there was to see - particularly the wineries! We self catered for our Christmas dinner on the Saturday night and there was nothing we could fault in using the kitchen for a three course meal. The table decoration was really tastefully done and having the fireplace made it so much like Christmas. Would definitely go again and would have no hesitation in recommending to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceeded expectation with nothing to fault.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thanks Lyndall - it is a bit of fun isn't it Christmas in July. Come again in Summer and use the pool. Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XSML
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue for gathering of friends”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My partner and I rented this property and the neighbouring Harrowfield Homestead for a 3 day get-together of old friends in June 2016. The company made the occasion special. But the architecture made a big difference - the house is serene and uplifting. The windows bring in the landscape and the flow of the public spaces and their generous proportions promote easy conviviality.

Horizons is a very stylish, modern venue. It is perfect for this type of gathering. With two fireplaces, majestic views over the Cudgegong Valley, winter mists interspersed with radiant sunshine, rural peace, fine wine and food, and laughter, there is little more one could want.

The scrutiny process for booking Horizons was rather rigorous. But the owner and manager are justified in taking these precautions. The property and the grounds are very well maintained. Gail, the manager, was extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcome.

I recommend the property without hesitation.

Some small tips for any intending visitors: The sound system is quite adequate for the space and such an occasion (an iPad or iPhone can be plugged in). Although there is reasonable glassware in the house, people who enjoy their wine from finer glassware should bring their own. And there is a Nespresso machine. (For true caffeine addicts, a 10 min drive takes you to Alby and Esther's in downtown Mudgee). The joint booking with Harrowfield works well, as this property is a short walk away, at the foot of the hill (a private road connects the two).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
You are too kind. Thank you we really appreciate it that you have taken the time to do this. I will make sure Gail is informed and I do apologise about our systems but we only welcome the best guests! Have a great weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipmcc
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed 3 nights in this beautiful location. The house is modern and stunning and set to look over the surrounding hills which gives you a feeling of space while still being very private. The house itself has great facilities, indoor/outdoor dining, fireplaces, excellent kitchen, lovely bedrooms, linen and bathrooms. The weather was stormy but we were cosy inside with the fire going while we looked over the landscape and beautiful horizon pool which would no doubt be brilliant in the warm weather. Great place to relax and enjoy great local food and wine. Would definitely stay again but this time for a bit longer ! Thank you, Gail and Helen.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Thanks Pip - please come in the summer when it stops raining! It has been so wet in Mudgee. We are glad you got some relaxing in and some fireside chilling out! Cheers Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G
Mudgee, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The view!! The pool!! The house!! All of it is spectacular! You will not regret it!! Plenty of rooms/ bathrooms/ space to share... everything you need to be self sufficient and hide away from the world... you won't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Thanks Johanne - it is ok. Come hideaway with us anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasha M
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than the brochure”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As we took the Castlereagh Highway out of Lithgow, the talk turned to previous holiday rentals and how there is usually a little something left out of the brochure: the fourth bedroom which turns out to be a garage, or the bikie headquarters airbrushed out of the picture.

Not at Horizon. The house is even better than the brochure suggests. The architect has done a fantastic job of capturing the view, the sun and the breezes. On the last day we realised the house provided complete shelter from the strong southerly, and were able to enjoy the open fireplace in the screened indoor/outdoor room.

The house has everything you need - a gourmet kitchen, BBQ, library/media room, kids toys, laundry and a few things you didn't even know you needed - telescope, candles, boules to play on the lawn, Vintec wine fridge.....

The fenced pool has a stunning view over the Mudgee valley.

All 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms are lovely, and of similar standard (so no fighting over the "nice room"). Plus there is a good separation from the main living area, so everyone got a good sleep.

Finally - although it's a rural property and you have a fantastic view of the vines, cattle and sheep, the house is set well away from neighbouring properties so there are no roosters to wake you up. Bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
No rural roosters just luxury vistas. We are so pleased you appreciated it all including the kids toys! Please come again. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny2304
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Corporate Retreat ever!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My colleagues and I are always looking at the best value, best location and best accommodation for our yearly corporate retreats. We were struggling to find a suitable venue when I came across Horizon Mudgee. I made an enquiry and early the next day I had a response and after settling on a date, the excitement set in.

When we arrived at the house it was then that we all knew we were in for a treat! What an amazing location - peaceful, private but so close (10 minute drive) into Mudgee town centre. The infinity pool was amazing and had good use with the warmer weather. The facilities inside were outstanding - bedrooms were a great size, the living areas were well laid out and the kitchen area was a standout with all the facilities you need to cook up a storm!

We can't wait to go back again and might even let our wives enjoy some of this luxury next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private location
Liked least: That we didnt stay longer!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Hi Danny, we are a little late in responding but yes Horizon Mudgee is a perfect place to mix business and pleasure. We do look forward to welcoming your party again soon with your wives!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie Q
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property was absolutely amazing! We travelled from Dubbo with 3 other couples
(8 people in total), we spent 2 nights in total. This property is everything you could ever ask for, we were all so excited when we first arrived, checking out the entire house, each bedroom was styled and decorated beautifully, all bedrooms had views and the remainder of the house was just perfect. The first night we lit the fire, stayed in and cooked up a storm, we sat at one of the beautiful dining tables and shared a three course meal together, the kitchen was very well equipped. We took in the breathtaking views the following morning, we had already organised to go out in town on Saturday night but looking back we could have easily stayed in at Horizon again just to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and sunset. We truly did not want to leave this place, my husband and I have stayed at many different places on our travels and this is one of the best!!!! Perfect place to catch up with friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2014
Thank-you we loved having some "nearly locals" stay with us. Horizon works so well for groups. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing