We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but I expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very nice setting for this motel a little away from the centre of town. Gardens all well kept and there is quite a bit of space to walk around. The rooms are well appointed as have all been recently renovated. Rooms have no issues with cleanliness. Meals served to rooms were of reasonable quality but i would personally forego this for a meal in any of the good dining spots in town. This is the ONLY room service where I have asked for 2 beers with my room and had them delivered already poured into the glasses and covered with glad wrap. when I questioned the girl delivering as to why they weren't just left in the bottle, as would be sensible, I had a reply of 'don't ask me, ask the restaurant'.
Also, I was phones at 9.30 pm to see what time I would arrive when I had checked in 5 hours earlier. Next morning I had the cleaning staff try and get in whilst I was showering. Communication is not big on the agenda.
Comfortable rooms but staff need a bit of training.

Room Tip: Try to get one not next to a miner....they leave really early in a very noisy fashion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlloverNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, General Manager at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to send your constructive comments on your stay at the Resort.

You clearly identified a problem in communication which has been rectified however this was only possible because of the feedback or comments you provided us, which were sent onto the relevant areas.
Once again because of your comments a new menu has been designed and implemented in both room service and our dining room which is making remarkable comments.

We sincerely hope you will try Parklands again when you choose Mudgee as a destination and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a road trip to Dubbo. The resort itself has lovely grounds and the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I thought it was a little overpriced at almost $190 for 3 people.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. When checking in we were told it was from 6.30am to 9.30am, but when we arrived at 8.55am we were told the buffet was closing in 5 minutes. Which meant we got to have toast and had to ask for just about everything, including spreads to go with the toast! There was only a tiny amount of one juice left, no croissants or anything more appetising. I know our rate included only "continental breakfast", but I expected more than we got.

Don't book a rate that includes breakfast if you are not early risers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedheadMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, General Manager at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi

Thank you for taking time to send your constructive comments and I am sorry to see the comments you raised.

We completely overhauled our breakfast buffet approx 4 weeks ago and we have had continous praise on the changes and quality of the breakfast buffet, I am unsure why different times were communicated to you because the times are also on the room guest compendiums however I am sorry this caused you some inconvenience, we have showed your comments to our front desk staff to re-iterate the times for them.

I do hope you can choose Parklands Resort when you next holiday in Mudgee and we will certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms - a double for our 5 and 12 year olds and an adjoining suite for 2 adults and our baby. In retrospect we would have been quite comfortable in the suite, which was huge and had a full bathroom plus an ensuite, 2 tvs and 2 fold out couches.

This place is clearly in the process of upgrading. The beds, carpet, Tvs and some furniture was new (or newish). The bathroom in the twin room was new and what you would expect in a 3 or 4 star hotel. The bathrooms in the suite were not renovated yet and were showing their age ( as other reviewers have noted) but still clean and useable. The porta cot they supplied was new and clean and they were happy to put it together for us and make up the bedding in the cot, which they supplied.

The restaurant/buffet breakfast was adequate. Mudgee is benefitting from the mining boom - which is great for shopping, eating and general vibe of the town, but it means you pay Sydney prices, including in the hotel restaurant - even if the overall finish of the food is not always up to Sydney standards.

Overall, the service was very good. One night our baby was sick and housekeeping was very quick to come to our rescue with a fresh set of sheets for the porta cot. They even washed our cot blanket and returned it dry and folded the next morning. The rooms were cleaned well each day and they were thoughtful enought to provide extra fresh milk for us each day.

The location is good if you are likely to drive around a lot. It's only about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town, plus there's a good walking/bike path that runs all the way into town past a park good for picnics/kids play. The grounds a big enough for kids to run around in and there's a tennis court and a pool. Next door is the cheese factory which has a fantastic cafe and sells pretty good wine and cheese.

The bottom line - if you can get a room at a decent rate ( we got a decent discount through agoda) then this is a good value hotel.

Room Tip: East wing is being renovated first. Better chance of a new bathroom. Also there are no lifts, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AskDrLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, General Manager at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to send your constructive comments on your stay.

We have been upgrading the resort for sometime now and as I am sure you are aware this takes time and is continual.

You have written such positive comments and we sincerely thank you and we have passed on all your comments to the staff in each department who were very happy to receive such comments.

It is only through constructive comments we can access our performance against our guest needs.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Parklands.

Kind Regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have recently stayed at Parklands Mudgee for a couple of nights. Having stayed there previously we were happy to find that the bathrooms have been redone. It was very clean and the staff were all very friendly. It was very comfortable stay. The restaurant was lovely too.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms. They have the upgraded bathrooms & newer air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCCOS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, General Manager at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi

Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay and we are delighted to hear you have noticed and enjoyed the refurbishing we have done and continue to do at the property.

Im am also delighted you decided to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to Parklands Resort when you are in Mudgee again.

Kind regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Not too much bad or good to say about this place, which realistically resembles more of a motel than a 'resort'. It was tidy but dated --- something out of the 60s i dare say in terms of decor. The rooms were large but uninspiring and drab. The bathroom was modern with good fixtures and a great shower -- however the rest of the place could do with an update.

Breakfast was quite a disappointment - buffet was included with our stay as we were there on a long weekend. Just general run-of-the-mill bacon and eggs etc without any originality or flair. Maybe this is what some people want but if you are going to pay $250/night you expect something a bit more imaginative.

The staff were polite and friendly - cannot complain there. Within walking distance of the town.

But generally it was unimpressive and methinks a bit expensive for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezzaAndJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I arrived on Saturday morning to attend a 2 day seminar arranged to take place in the conference room.
The power point display apparatus was not working.
The bedroom was adequate although the TV mounted on the wall bracket sagged at about 30 degrees.
Part of the skirting board had broken off and was left lying on the carpet.
The shower soap holder was chipped and dirty.
The conference dinner included a cheesecake desert which was frozen hard and impossible to cut

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brelligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed at the Parklands Resort in Mudgee it's 2km out of Mudgee city central. Was there on a working trip. A well set out resort of the main road with excellent surroundings with an onsite winery. rooms a of a reasonable size with outlooks onto the grounds. Walked into town and ate at very good Restaraunt the " The Mudgee brewery" sells an excellent range of brews 1 being A wheat product. Mudgee worth the drive.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Graham9CAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
1.3 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
3.5 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#4 of 10 in Mudgee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 121 Ulan Rd, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range: $86 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Resort & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parklands Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing