We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here a few years ago and loved it, so on our way home after a well earned holiday we decided to stay again.
This is a large motel and conference centre. The grounds are stunning, but our room was a huge disappointment.
On booking we asked for a queen bed on the ground floor "as I have a back problem" This was made very clear to reception. Ground floor room was provided, but, the shower was a shower head "over the bath" this meant stepping into the bath and as the taps were the old style of 2 taps just above the bath with a knob you pull up to turn the shower on this was for me very difficult especially as the water kept changing temperature and I have difficulty bending over. I would have thought reception would have explained this to us and we would have found a different motel. the shower head also kept falling down .
The bed was a "firm" mattress on a timber frame with wooden slats, not what we would expect in a 4 star motel. Tiles in the bathroom were tired. There was a brass style cover over the light switch in the bathroom that had someone's initials and a number scratched into them. Below was another brass cover that did not quite cover the hole and was also very scratched. There were 2 screws sticking out of the tile wall in the bathroom maybe they use to hold a towel rail ??
The two seater lounge also looked tired. The carpet had a join across it that was starting to fray. The wall as you entered the room had chips in the paintwork and scuff marks on the wall. There were even cobwebs on the cornice and to top things off we got into a "hot" bed ! The electric blanket had been left on, surely the staff making up the room would/should have noticed this and turned it off.
The view from our room was lovely, over looking a small lake and water feature but the underside of the veranda roof needs a good coat of paint, there was a timber setting - two seats and a table style for us to use but again in need of a re coat of stain and worse of all there was a distinct smell of a male cat.
On the up side staff were pleasant and the breakfast and dining room excellent.
From other reviews it seems there are different standards of rooms, so ours must have been at the bottom end, as we were given an RACV discount. We have stayed in far better motels for a lot less, so all in all compared to the other motels we stayed at during this trip, both 3 and 4 star this was a major disappointment and we doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before booking in and check you are happy with the bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, Owner at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am aware of the bathroom to which you refer - it was actually one that was renovated immediately after your stay. We have also renovated half our rooms to larger showers rather than shower/baths so that guests will have a choice of facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    79
    29
    18
See reviews for
69
96
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Came for wine tasting but was very impressed with this hotel. Great location and very large rooms. Staff were helpful. Great location for exploring the area and would certainly return. Stayed during the week and it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick_catephores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We recently stayed at your resort 4 the Suzie concert. We had a lovely time and your staff are to be applauded, they were very friendly and ever so helpful . The rooms were nice and spacious ( bathroom however could do with and upgrade) the setting and views are lovely. Had dinner at the restaurant , food was much better than we thought it would be ,
it was yummy !! .We would be very happy to recommend and would certainly stay again....See you again soon!

Room Tip: Top floor 201 to 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Parklands Resort for three days on our recent trip to Australia and cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the location. The staff helped us organise our tour of the local wineries and were always helpful and friendly. The rooms were big & tasteful and the views from the deck were wonderful. If we ever come back to this area we would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Chose this hotel for a recent visit to Mudgee. We looked online and were impressed by the pics. We booked a suite and thought what was advertised was what we would get. How wrong we were. The suite was spacious I give it that, but the furniture inside was dated and so were the bathroom facilities. It looked NOTHING like the pics. On the site. We decided not to let that cloud our judgement as we were made aware of the fact that it was under new management and that the rooms were being renovated. However, I would have appreciated if I had been told this when I booked. I certainly would not have paid what I did had I known and would have thanked them for their honesty and gone else where. Morning soon arrived and we all went to have showers etc. In one bathroom the shower head was broken and sprayed more water into your face,( as in directly into your eyes as it was shooting out sideways), than onto your body.
The second shower the shower head would not even stay in it's proper position and kept flopping back down so you had to end up holding it up while you washed yourself. Further more when it came time to brush our teeth we had the unfortunate instance of dealing with the basin tap from hell. You see it had a peculiar gift of dowsing you with water because there was no gentle stream. It was either off or a torrent of water came at you resulting in a drenching. The food we had for the breakfast was not the worst I've had but nothing to write home about.
The only thing that we really appreciated were the staff as we were very well received and they were always courteous and helpful.
Although we were far from impressed we later laughed about it and decided that it must have been a one off thing and that there must have been some sort of mix up for them to rent out a room in such a state for such a high rate and left it at that.
Well....
We found ourselves in Mudgee yet again over this long weekend and thought we'd give them the benefit of the doubt and booked a room. The room was clean and the fit out acceptable.
We slept very well until I woke up in the morning to strange sounds coming from the pipes. So I decided to get up and take a shower.
I walked into the bathroom bleary eyed and turned on the hot water tap and waited for the hot water. Unfortunately that's exactly what I kept doing for the almost 10 minutes until I came to sickening realization that there was not hot water and not likely to be any for quite some time as in not that all. At this point I woke up my partner to come check, just incase I had some how taken leave of my senses and had overlooked anything. He also tried first the cold water...fine. Then the hot water...hmmm...still ice cold, funny that. He let it run with this expectant look of hope on his face, which eventually turned into a look of disbelief when he realized that there was in fact no hot water.
When I rang reception, I let her know what room number we were in then she preceded to let us know that there would be someone there to fix it. What irked me is that she could have looked up on the pc and realize that we were going to be checking out that morning. So having someone come to correct the problem later that day was really of no help to us. To add insult to injury we were still charged the full rate.
In short I gave them two chances and they failed miserably both times. Great staff but they are undeserving of their 4 star accreditation in my opinion.

Room Tip: Don't necessarily trust photos published on the net. Verbally check with staff if you are gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandalaHotels, Owner at Parklands Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
We did have a problem with a boiler failing on the long weekend for which we obviously apologise. We repaired the problem as quickly as possible (we had to call in staff from home to fix this particular problem) and allowed the guest to extend their checkout so that they could shower. The bathrooms in question are scheduled for renovation in the next few weeks. We would say that all the room furniture has been replaced in the last two years and that the photos on the site are accurate. We are sorry for the inconvenience and are working hard with our upgrades to eliminate any such issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mudgee hotels

1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had our ceremony & reception here and it was perfect.

Our compliments go to Parklands Resort Chef Simon Quick for the sumptuous food and & to his staff for the flawless service provided to our guests on the day.

Many of guests stayed overnight and had no complaints. They enjoyed a generous breakfast in the newly refurbished & tastefully decorated dining room.
 
Our sincere thanks goes to Leianne Murphy, Functions Manager at Parklands for her tireless attention to detail, accomodating all our requests and for making the process seamless from the start of our wedding planning right through to the end.

If you are planning to hold any kind of function we wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend Leianne & Parklands Resort. 
 
Stephen & Caterina Witherow

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordyspritza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed the long weekend with the family. Rooms are huge and the grounds were well kept and inviting. Staff were welcoming and dinner was very good. As some have said air con was noisy. There was a concert on the Saturday but it did not cause any disturbance. It is a good location to explore Mudgee but being out of town much more relaxing and plenty of room for the kids to run. We stayed here a couple of years back and a lot of work has been done since. Quite expensive but it was LW. Would come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bignose220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
1.3 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
1.3 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#3 of 10 in Mudgee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 121 Ulan Rd, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Resort & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parklands Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing