We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way”
Review of Pipeclay Pumphouse

Pipeclay Pumphouse
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited this beautiful place without making a booking. Upon arrival we were told that the only available table was on the deck. We were ok with that, but being winter it's a little chilly.
We headed out to look at the motorcycle museum and then to the cellar door for a wine tasting while we waited for our table to be set. Upon return we were presented with a lovely table, indoors, overlooking the countryside.
Our waitress was lovely and helpful, our food, the prawn linguine, local olives and the Canadian scallops was divine and the dessert, a dark chocolate and hazelnut treat was scrumptious. I would love to visit this place again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Boomboompeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    71
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and go!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Missed out on Saturday lunch here as they were booked out, but had breakfast on Sunday. It was one of those days that anyone in hospitality dreads. Staff shortage, coffee machine on the blink and a poor waiter that spent his whole time apologising. But heck it was Sunday and we weren't in a rush. When the food and extra staff arrived it was well worth the wait. The gnocchi was a highlight. Delish. Coffee machine was restored and complimentary ones offered but I was too full of the tea I had had instead. Returned around 2 to taste the wines at cellar door and took a punt on a table. We were in luck and so glad we could tuck in to some more great food. Rabbit tortellini and pork loin. Yum. Dessert was so hard to pick from even though there was only 4 choices. Would have loved a tasting plate but the 2 we chose, chocolate delice and strawberry tarte tatin hit the sweet tooth spot. Great food and service a credit to Mudgee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Amazing food. We had a three course meal, but would go back for the digustation as each dish was excellent. The service was also great, our waiter was very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JessGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best foodie option for Mudgee”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Only had breakfast here which was very good but have heard great reviews from friends who stopped for lunch and dinner also. Out of the 3 dishes - the scrambled eggs and wild mushrooms was the winner. Coffee was good - could be a little stronger for my taste but am sure they could accommodate. Staff were very friendly. Nice outlook over the dam and sculptures. Great fireplace makes it cosier and warmer for winter. Tried to book dinner but it was just too popular, so recommend booking in advance. Despite Mudgee being a foodie destination there are very few really good dining options - lets hope this is the start of a new trend....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Luckily we booked here for lunch- there was a party of over 20 people and we saw some unfortunate souls turned away as they didn't have a booking. The lunch menu is tapas style share plates. The food was beautifully presented and delicious and the device was lovely and attentive.
Some of the food like the ceviche seemed a little small for sharing. However between the six of us, we ordered about 7 dishes, a glass of wine each and desserts (we ordered all four desserts and shared them) we spent about $40 each and were all full.
The food was flavourful but you definitely pay for it. Approximately $18 a dish, the scallops came in threes working out to be $6 a scallop. I definitely recommend the beef fillet. As a group of girls we found most of the portion sizes adequate, though it might be different a story for guys. Would definitely come back to enjoy another meal here due to the high quality of the food. I think the dinner menu looks like it's better value - would love to come back and try it! This place is worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Syd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipeclay Pumphouse also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Pipeclay Pumphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing