We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tantalising Thai cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galanga

Galanga
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tantalising Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Want to experience a genuinely warm 'I want you to be here' greeting? You know you are at the right place when the effusive mine host Su Sha greets you into his eclectic eatery. The colours of Thailand and associated knick knackery festoon the walls of this humble place.
We were there for lunch and were presented with a menu offering a nice and comprehensive selection of meals available in various combinations.
Soon after being seated mine host arrives with the ubiquitous complimentary prawn crackers and water.Within a short while of ordering, plates piled high with delicately constructed food arrived along with an accompanying barrage of fresh curry spices. Too soon the chatter around the table subsided as the hungry group launched into their respective delicacies...my green chicken curry was a taste sensation with a beautifully delicate and smooth curry sauce encapsulating exquisitely cooked chicken. The vegetables and rice a treat as well. Believe me...you just can't replicate this subtlety of flavour at home and after all is that not why we dine out?
Rarely do you have a lunch group where the overwhelming response is so positve. Extraordinary value, excellent prices, great friendly and smiling service...you are not wanting for anything at this class act. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Mudgee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am Thai and I live in Sydney.I go to the best Thai restaurant in Sydney every week.I came to Mudgee and had take away stirfried jungle curry paste with veggies.It was the best thai dish I have had for years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A welcome break for lunch on the long drive between Sydney and Dubbo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped for our lunch break here on our way from Sydney to Dubbo and weren't disappointed. It was a cold rainy day and the restaurant was warm and inviting. The owner (Jack I think) was welcoming and made a fuss over our young kids. The food is fairly authentic (my wife is thai), it comes quickly and is reasonably priced. The toilets are also clean. We'd go back of we were ever on Mudgee again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food & nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I really enjoyed their Green curry chicken and curry puffs. They also have a very good Jasmine Tea. It is a BYO restaurant and they are happy to accommodate you with your drinks. It is a very reasonably priced meal with good food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebor, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“almost authentic but delicious thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We got take away for 4 adults from this restaurant but have eaten in before. Love the decor and the friendly staff. The food is pretty good for a country town and the staff are Thai so flavour is very close to being authentic. Having eaten in several good Sydney Thai restaurants, the offerings from this restaurant were pretty good. Prices are reasonable too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galanga also viewed

Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
 
Mudgee, New South Wales
 

Been to Galanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing