We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winning Post Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mudgee
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to town, the motel was clean and comfortable. We all slept well. The pool was cold but my son enjoyed playing in it. The surrounds, the spa and the half tennis court could do with a bit of maintenance. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the buffet breakfast was good but nothing special. Not the best value for money - but I'm not sure what others cost in Mudgee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thanks to Helen for reviewing the Winning Post Motor Inn. The pool would still be a little cold it is not heated and it has not been the hottest in Mudgee this spring. Again sleep quality is a positive for our motel as is it's location. It is through constructive comments such as Helen's that shows the decision to renovate has been a good one. We have started with the rooms and are also starting on the surrounds including garden beds and leisure facilities. We are sorry we let Helen down with the breakfast as it usually is spoken highly of. If Helen stays in the future, perhaps she may notice some of the surronding changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the renovated rooms for a Saturday night. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and a good size. The staff were all very helpful and friendly with lots of advice on what to do and where to go. It is a good location in Mudgee, a short walk (2 blocks) from the CBD with a good choice of restaurants and bars. We went to Arbuckle's restaurant for a lovely meal at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamlin153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thanks to hamlin 153 for taking the time to review the Winning Post motor Inn. We are glad to hear that he and his wife enjoyed their stay. Our renovated rooms are getting good reviews and it seems our friendly staff got another mention. We hope to see hamlin 153 and his wife another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed only one night here (Room 19) and considered it to be only average in most respects.

The room is quite large and the bed was comfortable enough and sleep quality was good with effective blackout curtains. There was no street noise.

The bathroom is straight out of the 80s. It is a place to get yourself clean and that's about it. Water pressure was a little weak.

The aircon was an old style in-the-wall model that was non-operational. It would only blow air and had no cooling capability (it needed re-gassing). The night was not too hot but this was a pretty big failing for the room.

The location of the motel is good and it is a 5 minute walk to the centre of town.

I didn't try the pool (looked pretty small) or the in-house restaurant (looked over-priced).

This place is worth considering if your options are limited. Otherwise, keep looking.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 19 if the aircon is still broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSydney80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We thank Peter for reviewing our motel. The room that Peter stayed in was one of our old rooms we have yet to renovate. I'm pleased to read Peter noted the size of the room and the comfort level of the bed. The bathrooms and interiors are a little dated, hence to complete overhaul in our renovations. These renovations do take a little time and some of our older rooms will exist for a while. The air conditioner is currently be looked at and will be replaced if found neccessary. Our pool is a 15 metre inground pool. It is suited more for a simple cooling off or family play. It is a shame Peter did not try the restaurant as it gets good reviews from it's regular patrons. We urge Peter to try us again this time requesting a renovated room and see if this is an improvement for him. As shown in other reviews, our renovated rooms are getting a very good response. It is constructive reviews like Peters that is helping us improve where our guests would like us to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

After reading the mangers response to my review I decided to try the Winning Post one more time and too my surprise the stay was much more comforting than in the past.

The new renovations were welcoming with the bathroom being the highlight. The inside rooms have been upgraded and are much more modern. The front rooms still have not too much privacy if the curtains are open though the top rooms appear to be more private.

Overall I was much happier with The Winning Post this stay around and will stay again should I find myself requiring accommodation. Side note: The breakfast is definatley worth adding on.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowSurfDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Firstly, we thank Snowmanbam for taking up our offer to try us again and enjoy our renovated room. We are pleased your response was positive. This means we are listening and getting it right. The rooms have ceiling to floor windows as this allows plenty of light through. Each window does have a lace curtain as well as a heavy curtain for privacy. Our breakfast is always well recieved and we are always open to suggestions to improve our facilities and service. We look forward to seeing Snowmanbam in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during the week for work. Staff were really friendly. My room was newly renovated. Spotlessly clean. Bed was super comfy. Lots of workers from the mines (I assume) but they were all friendly and chatty enough at the end of the day and most of them seemed to be up super early for work which meant they were in bed super early so it was really quiet after about 8pm.

Breakfast in the dining room was great. Although my only complaint would be the awful instant coffee. A freshly brewed pot would have been heaps nicer. Again, the staff were really friendly and welcoming in the mornings.

I'll be back in Mudgee early next year and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffreyallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for you review Geoffreyallan. we are glad to hear you found our renovated rooms comfortable and clean. We are very proud of staff in their approach to guests as our motto is friendliness and service. Our buffet breakfast gets good reviews and as the coffee is perhaps letting us down we are speaking to the owner to see if we can change that. There is espresso coffe upon request, if you would prefer. We look forward to seeing you early next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have stayed here almost a dozen times in the last 12 months and will no longer stay here due to below:

Dark, outdated rooms
Uncomfortable bed
Bathrooms Falling apart
Average in-room facilities (TV, Iron)

Don't expect a sleep in during the week either as trucks are commonly parked outside room windows and leave at 5am.

If this place spent some money on renovating then things might improve. I have discovered there are nicer places
to stay for less then what you pay to

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowSurfDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

As a regular visitor to our motel, the reviewer may know or not know of our current renovations. Due to similar feedback about our older rooms, we are extensively renovating them. They are very tidy and light (as seen in several of our recent reviews).The comment about the TV's being average is concerning. Even our older rooms include modern LCD tv's. We do place a flat iron in most rooms as unfortunately the steam ones tend to wander off occasionally. However, we do have a guest steam iron available on request. Monday to Friday we do have a lot of early starters, however most of our early starters are conscious of other guests needs and try to be as quite as possible. Truck parking is not allowed in front of the rooms, however some guests do have 4WD type vehicles. Perhaps this reviewer would like to try us again and try our newly renovated rooms. They may be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the winning post whilst on a hens night .... Location was fantastic aswell as the rooms ..... Beds were amazing and rooms set out well and very clean ... Only thing there was no conditioner after I shampooed :( . Buffet breakfast was excellent . It's a shame the young lady at reception on check out on Sunday didn't have much personality and not apologetic after our group and several other guests were waiting to check out were waiting up to 10 minutes before she came out ..... Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natnbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

we are glad to hear the girls enjoyed their stay in at the Winning Post and enjoyed what this great town of Mudgee has to offer. I'm sorry to hear about the conditioner, but we place a combined shampoo/conditioner in the rooms free of charge for the guests convenience. Again our big buffet breakfast get's a wrap! I do apologize on behalf of the receptionist in regards to the delay in checkout. After speaking to her, it was possible the check out was delayed by a large group wishing to split their room bills. We hope to see the girls again soon on another fun weekend away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.2 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mudgee
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Parkview Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
1.4 mi away
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winning Post Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winning Post Motor Inn

Address: 101 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range: $125 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winning Post Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To experience warm country hospitality, a wide range of quality accommodation, bed and breakfast options, and all the facilities required by discerning guests; let the Winning Post Motor Inn be your host for your stay in Mudgee. Ideally located in Mudgee, you're just a short drive from Mudgee's many wineries, or a leisurely stroll to its cafes, shops & restaurants. Relax by the pool or enjoy true country hospitality in our fully licensed restaurant. Whether you're having a romantic weekend away or conducting business in the area, the Winning Post Motor Inn will take care of everything so you can enjoy all the region has to offer. From single businessmen and reps, to couples and families; short stays or long term accommodation; let us share the friendliness and service that is the Winning Post Motor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Winning Post Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winning Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing