We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winning Post Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice and easy!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just stayed here over Easter and was able to book a single night (Saturday) during this very busy time! What a bonus as most places wanted a 2 or 3 night booking. Clean, nicely appointed motel room with very friendly staff and location was central to the town yet surprisingly quiet. Don't go for the overpriced breakfast however if it's not included in your room rate as it's not a highlight. Lots of great cafes in downtown Mudgee that were open - even on Easter Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Winning Post Motor Inn. We are glad to here you enjoyed your weekend away. We do pride ourselves on friendliness and service and it is great to see we got a tick in both boxes. Sorry to see you were not impressed with our buffet breakfast. It is usually well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
48
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thank you to Management & Staff at Winning Post Motor Inn....accommodation excellent, food excellent, location can't ask for more.. very affordable for the budget minded..our group of ladies would recommend the "Winning Post Motor Inn" for affordable accommodation, location and food. Three of us share a room...which had plenty of space and event more room if required.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
I am glad the group of ladies enjoyed their weekend away in Mudgee. We are always trying to meet the needs of each guests that stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

ok were do i start my stay was horriable i feel sorry for some of the staff . that work getting yelled out by the managers i would never never stay there again my god the girls that work there i have heard everything and yes there are some dirty fithy rooms there and they are well to expensive for what they have there ....................i must add the other night i stayed in mudgee i stayed at de russies suties and they are very very nice and good for what you pay for around mudgee i would give the winning post rating as a very very poor motel not good for business guys ............................... wake the hell up ...............

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winpost, Manager at Winning Post Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review for our motel. We are dissapointed to hear in your dissatisfaction with your stay. We do pride ourselves in looking after our guests. I am concerned that that you mentioned a manger yelled at a staff member. I have spoken to our staff and they are surprised to hear this. Perhaps if any concerns in regards to your stay had been brought to our attention at the time we may have been able to attend to your needs quicker. All the mentioned issues have been addressed and are currently undergoing changes to improve quality of guests comfort, including extensive renovations of our existing rooms. Hopefully some time in the future you consider giving The Winning Post Motor Inn another try and see the changes first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Luxury room....expensive........what a joke..........Filthy carpet, old linen no luxury.....only a Queen bed ( which is usually standard) and a bath (Not a spa bath)... very disappointing

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon without a booking and were promptly checked in. We took the bed and breakfast option as it was only a few dollars more than bed alone.

Our room was large and very clean. We enjoyed a very good nights sleep and the next day had a very substantial breakfast to see us on our way.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have stayed a couple of times for work. The rooms are in need of an overhaul and the carpets are stained. The rooms are fairly quite and the beds are good. The resturant menu has just been changed and is overpriced. Breakfast is good and is open at 5:00am which suited me. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I was very disappointed with the standard of accomodation and location on the main road of the town. If you are into retro living this has the feel of 1970s/80s.

The carpet was in need of a deep clean and the built in cupboards especially supporting the fridge were water damaged. This place is in desperate need of renovation it just doesn't feel clean.

People were friendly enough in reception and breakfast was very nice but the check out was very slow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star_Trekers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.2 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
0.2 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#3 of 10 in Mudgee
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winning Post Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winning Post Motor Inn

Property: Winning Post Motor Inn
Address: 101 Church St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winning Post Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To experience warm country hospitality, a wide range of quality accommodation, bed and breakfast options, and all the facilities required by discerning guests; let the Winning Post Motor Inn be your host for your stay in Mudgee. Ideally located in Mudgee, you're just a short drive from Mudgee's many wineries, or a leisurely stroll to its cafes, shops & restaurants. Relax by the pool or enjoy true country hospitality in our fully licensed restaurant. Whether you're having a romantic weekend away or conducting business in the area, the Winning Post Motor Inn will take care of everything so you can enjoy all the region has to offer. From single businessmen and reps, to couples and families; short stays or long term accommodation; let us share the friendliness and service that is the Winning Post Motor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Winning Post Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winning Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing