We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easy and Convenient”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Wanderlight it was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the motel was situated an easy walk into Mudgee where there are lots of options for lunch or dinner. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
18
36
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our two night stay was most enjoyable and comfortable. Friendly staff responded promptly and courteously to our requests and enquiries. Our room was clean and equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The restaurant meals were generous serves of home style cooking which were very satisfying and tasty. Well located near the CBD this motel was a good base for our exploration of Mudgee and the surrounding district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the hotel that Best Western forgot about. I am sure in 1982 when it was built it was superstyling. in the 30 years since it has seen alot of wear and tear. The room was dark, stinky and so horrifically outdated. Where to begin? The bed was on flimsy legs that resulted in the bed shaking every time you moved. The bedding was horrific. The carpet was 30 year old stinky smelly shag. The furniture was plastic chairs. There was a couch that was more sketchy then the carpet. The bathroom did not even have a door. That's right no door. There was a closet door that slid to cover the opening, but it left gaps and there was no sound barier. The pink towels in the bathroom really brought out the blue walls, green formica countertop and rust floor. This place is worth 50 dollars a night not the 150 I paid. Staff were fine, what can they do about working in a dump? The breakfast lady Ruth is the only redeeming feature of this hotel. She is really lovely. Anyways if you can stay anywhere else, like a park bench do so. This place is a dump.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, my tip is to stay in a place that has been updated in the last 30 years
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingCanadian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mudgee hotels

Lithgow
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights. We have two children and the rooms were quite spacious. They have a queen bed and single bed and the sofa changed into a bed. There was a long bench with four chairs along it to eat at. Air conditioning worked well as it was freezing all weekend. Room was very clean, toaster, kettle, etc. Our friends had an identical room next door just as nice. Overall very nice stay. Very close to town, just a stroll and Mudgee Club just around the corner for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just a basic country motel - clean and close to town (2 blocks) but nothing to write home about.

Positives:
- Well located close to town
- Instant hot water in the shower
- Bed comfy enough (though I travelled solo, and I think it may have been sagging a bit in the middle)
- Room reasonably spacious

Downsides:
- Thin walls - you can easily hear your neighbours
- Bathroom is very basic with louvered glass windows that aredraughty (not great when it's negative temps outside)
- Pillows are a bit too firm (some would call them hard)

Would probably choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed at Wanderlight for a few days this month and have stayed here previously. I find the short walk to the shops a great feature and the meals at the upstairs Skylight restaurant are really first class. Friendly owners and staff. Has always for me been a very comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WRe_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This motel is great every time i go there, and i go there alot with work and visiting rels. Large rooms with everything you need.
Easy walking distance to the town shops.
The only let down being the other people staying there, banging, crashing and yelling at children who wernt listening.
There was a jack for dial up internet but im not sure about wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.4 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
0.3 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#3 of 10 in Mudgee
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn
Address: 107 Market St, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wanderlight Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mudgee
Mudgee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing