We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit special”
Review of Perry Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Perry Street Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Certificate of Excellence
Kendall, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit special”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Treat yourself and stay at Perry street hotel (formerly Di Rossi suites). A very interesting conversion of the Mechanics Institute. Lovely modern decor' and little treats in your room make a refreshing change fr the norm. A very warm, genuine greeting on arrival also!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crazymonkey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you crazymonkey50 for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you enjoyed what we provide for our guests - especially the little treats and what we have done with the beautiful building, we are very proud of it.
We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    46
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
184
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Really could not fault this accommodation/location was perfect, easy & safe walking into the town centre/restaurants etc. Very comfortable, clean and lovely feel to the Hotel. I have read some comments re noise but to be honest it was so quite, staff were very helpful if you needed anything, the breakfast was simple but lovely and nice touch of the chips etc although really did not need to use them. They have recently changed 'names' but have stayed at the old label in Orange and this is what we would have expected so not disappointed at all. If we had to complain about anything it would be the driveway - entry it with some care if you do not have a RV but once you realise this it is easy to work out your approach and exit! Would stay again on our next visit to Mudgee for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellercanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you travellercanberra for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you loved our property, the complimentary breakfast, complimentary minibar snacks and our service - this is what we strive to exceed for all our guests, we are very proud of our property and what we provide our guests.
Your comment is appreciated regarding the driveway, we will investigate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon and thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is actually a former education institution that has been renovated very nicely and turned into a boutique establishment. Rooms are large. I had the room for "disabled" people and I understand that it is the only room with a straight shower, instead of a shower over the bath.
A nice touch lay in the complimentary snacks in the mini bar. The mini bar was oriented towards a particular local vineyard and came with a recommendation that we visit same. Not such a good recommendation, I'm afraid!
Breakfast (provided in a brown paper bag) was minimalist, though adequate. Greeting at reception was just OK - I didn't feel especially welcome.
It's a good place to stay if you want old world atmosphere, but the lack of services, other than the basics, leads me to award it only a three star rating.... it's easy to be caught up in the "hype" of history. There is no restaurant, but several good restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you StayalotNewcastle for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you loved our property, the complimentary breakfast and complimentary minibar snacks. It is disappointing to read your comments regarding the service you experienced, our aim is to exceed our guests expectations in every way, this wasnt the case for you we will ensure this doesnt occur again. Regarding the minibar, we have no alliance to a specific vineyard, our view is to share the suppport within the minibar which we have done since our opening of the property, for winery recommendations we support all vineyards and base suggestions on the guests requests.
Our beautiful property is a luxury self-contained apartment hotel where we like to entice our guests to experience Mudgee, we are not caught up in the hype of history but are merely extremely proud of our property and love being able to provide a fabulous sleep and a few surprises that we aim will exceed our guests expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon where we hope to exceed your expectations as this is what we strive to achieve for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilgandra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Travelling for business means I see all kinds of accommodation...Perry Street Hotel is beautiful. Great service, decor and facilities. Excellent kitchenette including an Nespresso coffee machine and tea pot with T2 teas. Complimentary light breakfast and snacks. Best thing was it is actually clean which I don't often see! Oh forgot the fantastic bed...probably only negatives are no Restuarant, no 24hr reception, open air parking and towels could be softer if I want to be picky. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Jodie W for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you loved our beds, our facilities, the complimentary breakfast and snacks, and our service - this is what we strive to exceed for all our guests. We have a list of dining options in Mudgee that our team members can supply for you, our team members are also on call outside of the reception hours.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed the night a couple of weeks ago on a work trip (we booked out the entire place) Perfect in almost every way...except the most important thing of all, the bed. Please replace the mattress, the one I slept on was tired, complete with permanent impressions on each side where one or more too many people had slept. Urban Snorer's are what I would recommend (last place I stayed had these and they are even better than my own bed at home!).

Loved the room and all the awesome little touches and extras, the most important being the espresso machine in every room. It's a shame to not give this place a 5/5, but the bed after all is the most important thing!

Would definitely come back with the hubby if the mattresses are replaced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you MC783 for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you loved our property, and found what we provide to be almost perfect. Thank you for your comment regarding the bed, it is a disappointing comment but one we will definately investigate.
We are very proud of our property and want to ensure we exceed every guests stay with us, we almost achieved this for you and trust we can achieve this on your next stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel although was a little on the pricey side. The hotel is in a refurbished old building with high ceilings. It has been tastefully done with a contemporary luxurious feel whilst respecting the original architecture. The reception was helpful although they are not 24 hrs they are contactable by phone. We were in the front room on the first floor which was like a studio apartment. The bedroom area was spacious with a small tv; the living area was small with a couch and tv. The kitchenette was well equipped and even had an espresso machine. The bathroom was compact but new and clean with evo toiletries. The included breakfast consisted of bread and spreads and muesli. There was also a big bowl of complimentary snacks including red rock deli chips, Reese buttercups and other Lollies. On the bedside table there was another bowl of chocolates!
Was a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you ll1234567 for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, our suites, the complimentary breakfast and complimentary minibar snacks and our service - this is what we strive to exceed for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have worked in hospitality before and stayed at lots of hotels and I was very impressed with all aspects of the hotel and it's staff. My sister was getting married so I booked her for two nights including her wedding night there as it looked lovely online. She was very impressed with the decor and the rooms generally as they are gorgeous but also well laid out and roomy. Every detail you can tell has been thought out. Even the snacks they have in the mini bar are much better than other hotels. The location is right in town and a walk to everything. It's not loud even though the rooms over look the street and some have lovely balconies overlooking picturesque mudgee. The best bit though is that they did everything possible to help us out was we were getting ready for the wedding. The manager went and picked up lunch for us from the local cafe a few streets away and made sure we had all we needed which was a great relief. Also the manager and staff decorated the room for her wedding night with the flowers, candles and chocolate I provided them and it looked amazing! Thanks so much to all the staff there you made my sisters wedding special.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulStarSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryStreetMU, Owner at Perry Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you SoulStarSydney for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the newly revamped and launched Perry Street Hotel. We are very excited with the plans we have for the property, these plans will further enhance the experience for you our guests - please watch our facebook page( foxandcohotels ) as we roll these out.
We are pleased you enjoyed our property, what we provide our guests for their stay with us. Our team members are an integral part of our business and you experienced the dedication and commitment they have for our business and most importantly our guests - this is what we strive to exceed for all our guests.
We are all so glad your sisters wedding went well and that we were able to make it an even more memorable celebration.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perry Street Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
0.3 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soldiers Motel
Soldiers Motel
#4 of 10 in Mudgee
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parklands Resort & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perry Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perry Street Hotel

Property: Perry Street Hotel
Address: Cnr Perry & Gladstone Streets, Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Perry Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block from Mudgee CBD. Perry Street Hotel offers 13 suites, incorporating standard,studio, 1 bedroom Junior & Junior Spa, 2 bedroom interconnecting family suites and the Perry Suite (penthouse suite). Built within the historic 1865 "Mechanics Institute:, the property is a self contained, totally non-smoking apartment suite hotel decorated in a modern style with a German/Berlin influence. The suites all have luxurious king bed, flat screen TV, Austar, complimentary minibar snacks, kitchen, some suites have a balcony, bath or spa, shower, luxury amenities. A complimentary continental breakfast is included to start your day.**The property is totally non-smoking** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Perry Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing