We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosby Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosby Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 28 Mudgee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at 9.00pm the wives all walked in as the men got the luggage. The suppuratives started look at the interior design look at the kitchen what about the open fire,Oh the bedrooms,barthroom what a great design. My mates turned to me and said hay Mike we are on a winner hear. We awoke to a frosty wonderland with fantastic views as far as we could see.
We were injoying this that much we neally did not go to the winery. The breakfast pantry was full with Bread, jam,cereal,bacon fresh eggs amoungest other things. We had a fantastic time and we will be back. I just want to buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael_GH1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Michael,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear the wives were happy as often those little details get missed by the men! It was a pleasure to have you and your guests to stay and we look forward to seeing you again at Rosby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rosby is gorgeous - the location is stunning, the guesthouse is beautiful and the breakfast supplies delicious! We stayed in the studio which is separate to the main guesthouse but still really cosy. Everything was perfect - beautiful furnishings, all the mod-cons and great views!
It was the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks Kathryn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Studio and we hope to see you both back to Rosby one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord Howe Island, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The accommodation at the Rosby Guesthouse exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend it. The property is well maintained and well managed. Located a short drive out of town. The rooms are beautifully appointed, tastefully decorated, clean, cosy for a winter visit with every comfort provided. The rural setting is quit and peaceful. We enjoyed sipping a delicious drink from our comfortable chairs on lawn with the wonderful view of the Mudgee countryside. Breakfast was tasty, local and plentiful. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for such kind words. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves during their stay at Rosby. We love the region at this time of year especially the crisp clear mornings watching the mist linger across the valley.
Regards,
Amber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Thankyou to Amber and the Rosby team for making our stay absolutely amazing! Our group was so impressed with the detail and effort you have gone to. Every room was amazing, roaring fire was relaxing and view spectacular!!! We couldn't have asked for anything more cause everything had been thought of! We will be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexHawkins_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We try to think of everything so our guests can get the most out of their stay at Rosby. We hope to see you back at the Rosby Guesthouse and Mudgee region someday soon.
Regards,
Amber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had never been to Mudgee, so everything from the accommodation to the wine tasting was a new experience. We usually head up to the Hunter Valley (from Sydney) for a few days respite from the hustle and bustle, but decided to do something different. And I'm so glad we did!

We stayed in the detached studio of Rosby Guesthouse and it was perfect. Everything was new and spotlessly clean. So clean, in fact, that every time I walked around in my bare feet that (out of habit) I would brush my feet before putting on my shoes, but there was never anything there! The food stuffs supplied for breakfast were of a high quality, with two packs of bacon, organic eggs (maybe from their own chickens?), fresh milk (skim and full cream) and juice, two types of Jalna yogurt, granola, muesli, wholemeal toast and even a sourdough loaf and oil and balsamic. They also left a note inviting us to pick from their veggie garden if we chose to cook anything. And the complimentary bottle of Shiraz we received was delicious.

The bed was firm but comfortable and the bathroom was new and modern with most amenities supplied (including a hot water bottle and a light cotton dressing gown). There was plenty of natural light and even a small verandah looking onto nearby fields if you wanted to sit outside. The reverse cycle air-conditioner really came in handy (it was -1C on our last night!) and there were no issues with it being able to heat all the rooms. Unfortunately, we never really spent time in the main guesthouse, but the studio was so wonderful I can only imagine the main house is spectacular too.

We found the location of the house to be just enough off the beaten track to provide a quiet, relaxing hideaway, but close enough that we felt we could get to all the wineries very easily. It's also only 10 minutes from town, so really quite central. The road to the house is unpaved, so I would definitely suggest a 4WD if you have it - especially during wet weather (which we had). But it definitely wouldn't be unmanageable in a standard 2WD sedan or SUV.

I would have to say one of our favorite things about the house though, was that the land surrounding the driveway to the house is obviously home to a troop of kangaroos. So, every day and night we would manage to see them grazing or hopping around nearby. It was really fun, especially being the animal lovers that we are.

When (not if!) we return to Mudgee, we will really struggle to find somewhere that we liked more than Rosby. It puts many of the B&Bs we've stayed in in the Hunter Valley to shame, and they were more expensive! More than likely we will keep returning to Rosby as long as they'll have us.

Room Tip: It's worth staying in the studio if you're hoping for a little bit of extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeadshakeGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for such detailed feedback on the Rosby Studio. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed every little moment of your stay at Rosby and we would love to have you back to stay. We also love the photos - thank for posting them.
Regards,
Amber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the moment the 8 of us walked in the attention to detail was amazing, the lamps were all on for ambience, the fresh produce that was waiting for us in the kitchen Fresh eggs in the basket as well as fresh bread from in town, as well as the fine selection of teas & coffees on hand as well. The fridge was also stocked with so much bacon , fresh yoghurts , juice milk butter, preserves & so on.....

The layout of Rosby Guesthouse is fabulous for 4 couples with the 4 king size bedrooms located at each corner of the house as well as each room having its own ensuite , so privacy is wonderful. The main living area is located in the middle of the house as well as the open fire which was used to its full potential as over the weekend it was a tad brisk.

We also went into the fresh vege garden & fed the chooks

Seriously we have all travelled overseas & the attention to detail that is given to the guests at Rosby Guesthouse is amazing, we didn't want to leave.

The Forster Crew will definitely be back for another annual weekend escape

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amber N, Manager at Rosby Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We would love to have the Foster Crew come back and stay at the Guesthouse. Hopefully sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A truly fabulous place to stay - 12 of us enjoyed the weekend, Collect your own eggs for breakfast from the onsite chooks. Vegie garden tomato’s to go with the eggs and every little thing one could ask for to feel as if one is living in luxury. Thanks to Gerald and Kay for providing such a fabulous space and for the wood for fire! Wonderful

Room Tip: All the rooms have thier own bathrooms and veranda space but without doubt the ones overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mudgee hotels
3.6 mi away
Perry Street Hotel
Perry Street Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mudgee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cobb & Co Court Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Mudgee Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Horatio - Suites & Motel
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Aden Hotel Mudgee
3.8 mi away
Ilkley Cottages
Ilkley Cottages
#6 of 21 in Mudgee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosby Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosby Guesthouse

Property: Rosby Guesthouse
Address: 135 Strikes Lanes | Eurunderee, Mudgee, New South Wales 2850, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mudgee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Mudgee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosby Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxury accommodation at it's very best. Rosby Guesthouse is nestled within a 400 acre, working property in Mudgee's thriving wine region. Rosby Guesthouse is a luxurious homestead retreat with commanding views over the Mudgee region, 10 minutes from town. Four king-size rooms catering for up to 8 people, all with private ensuites and verandahs lead into huge shared living spaces under cathedral hardwood ceilings, including all the pampering details that discerning travellers should expect in boutique accommodation: luxury bathroom products, high-quality cotton linen, an open fireplace, premium hand-sourced interiors, artwork and fluffy bathrobes. Rosby Studio is a private, self contained, 1 bedroom apartment situated adjacent to the main guesthouse building.Nestled into the homestead garden and overlooking the same picturesque Mudgee Valley as the guesthouse, the studio offers a private retreat for guests wanting to share all the views of the guesthouse before escaping to their fully detached space. Complete with its own spacious, stone-lined bathroom, modern kitchenette, artwork, flawlessly decorated sitting room and luxurious queen bed, the studio affords larger groups or wedding parties even more flexibility in creating their own utterly memorable stay at Rosby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosby Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing