We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect country escape!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mudgee, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Douglas M
1 review
“A perfect country escape!”
Reviewed July 10, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Opportunity for dad and daughter to get away for a long weekend, we were looking for solitude without losing all the creature comforts and we certainly found it at Canguri. Arriving at the gate we could see this was a great spot for getting away from it all. Location still allowing us an easy trip to local restaurants and wineries. The cabin had everything we could ask for - was comfortable and well stocked - Thank You! Many hours were simply spent sitting on the front verandah watching the sunrise or the weather change the colour of the hillsides or the kangaroos hopping in mass from paddock to paddock throughout the day. Stars at night were amazing! The area is so quiet but woken each day by the kookaburras laughing in nearby trees or the twittering of the many varieties of bird-life which flit around the property. Was so relaxing and a great place to spend a weekend! Thank you for sharing this property with us!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2018
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acash2016
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed July 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Some distance from main road but easy to follow directions supplied + GPS. Not too far to drive to Mudgee, Gulgong and wineries. Very comfortable for 4 adults, need to start the fire early otherwise quite cool away from the heater. (Keep the door closed and the blinds down once the sun has disappeared!). Very nice scenery at Canguri, as well as seeing kangaroos and other animals, and enjoying the night sky. Also enjoyed barbecuing our dinner under cover on the veranda. Recommended for relaxing and peacefulness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2018
Thank you for your lovely words. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here for a mid week getaway and loved it. Our toddler loved the big ladder bed!

We would only have a few little niggles which didn’t really affect our stay because of the short duration but the main one was the lack of a cooker/oven. The main advert says there is a cooker, and you are given all the cooking pans for an oven, but you don’t have an actual oven. So when it’s 1° outside, you need to use the outside BBQ. It’s probably a lot better in the summer!

For 3 nights, it was fine!

Would recommend for a city getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you made use of the gas stove and the wood fireplace, Mudgee does get a bit chilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingTr...
London
1 review
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had an amazing weekend, the place is situated in a great part of Mudgee, close to wineries but away from the noise of town. The place is really luxurious and well fitted out and having breakfast watching the sunrise was great, plus all the kangaroos and an amazing view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
Thank you for your lovely words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielS28...
Homebush, Australia
1 review
“Exactly what we were after”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely place. Very clean, and well looked after.
The kids loved the animals.
Fire pit was very enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2018
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing country retreat!”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for two nights in this new farm stay cottage. As a family of two adults and two kids we had the perfect amount of space to relax and enjoy the Mudgee area. Kangaroos and Cows grazing whilst we prepared the provided breakfast and enjoyed a coffee.

Beds were sumptuous and the thick towels were great with the hot rain water shower. Take a trip out to Hill End and swit up in the local history then come back and enjoy the bottle of local Mudgee wine.

Overall a great place to stay and soak up the local sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thank you Mike, it was a pleasure to have yourself and your family stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil country cottage get away”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage farmstay was perfect for our little family of four get away. The farm surrounds are amazing, with breathtaking views of the nearby hills and valley. The property allowed for us to easily walk around and explore the grounds, and the kids loved seeing the cattle, sheep and kangaroos roam. The cottage had everything we needed, we especially loved the gorgeous deck and outdoor entertainment area with fire-pit and BQQ that we used regularly. We also enjoyed the beautiful indoor fireplace, and curled up to watch the DVDs provided. The breakfast hamper was lovely, especially the beautiful coffee, bacon and eggs! The location also allowed us to easily explore the Mudgee region and was about 1 hr 20min drive Taronga Western Plains zoo in Dubbo which we visited with the kids. We would definitely come again, and recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful country get away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing