We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing farm stay complete with spa under the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blue Shed Retreat

Blue Shed Retreat offers luxury accommodation on a working olive grove,  skip town and relax.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Shed Retreat offers luxury accommodation on a working olive grove,  skip town and relax.
The living space is a large open plan area with bed, lounge and dining and separate bathroom/toilet Queen size bed with quality linen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Blue Shed Retreat offers luxury accommodation on a working olive grove,  skip town and relax.
The living space is a large open plan area with bed, lounge and dining and separate bathroom/toilet
Queen size bed with quality linen
Lounge and fireplace
Dining & kitchen
Wake to the view
Dining lounge and sleeping at your fingertips
Breakfast hamper
Free range eggs in your breakfast hamper
A spa under the stars
Starry starry night
Our friendly livestock
Alfresco dining
Enjoy your morning coffee or cup of tea outdoors
Early morning mist
Relax and enjoy the view
Outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mudgee, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeccyC44
1 review
“Relaxing farm stay complete with spa under the stars”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The Blue Shed Retreat just outside of Mudgee is a haven for rest and relaxation. The hosts Judy and David go above and beyond to ensure their guests are comfortable and happy. Special touches like fresh cut flowers, a bottle of local wine, a breakfast hamper of home-grown goodies and masses of fluffy towels and pillows saw us want for nothing. Even though it was winter we enjoyed the outdoor spa under the stars a few times over the weekend and curled up afterwards in front of a crackling wood fire. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks for a wonderful escape.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2018
Hi Beccy, thanks for your very kind review. We enjoyed having you and Claudio stay. Thanks for leaving everything so tidy, we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris c
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time away”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Really nice place to stay
Judy and David are great hosts and have really nice touches and a great bed to sleep in.
I would highly recommend if you would like a rural peaceful stay this is the place to come

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Hi Chris and Vicki, it was a pleasure to have you stay, thank you for your generous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexy M
1 review
“Photos don't do it justice!”
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The spa under the stars was the main selling point for us booking the Blue Shed Retreat, but after spending the weekend there we realised it's just one part of what makes this place so wonderful. The hosts, David & Judy, are the kindest people you'll ever meet, the breakfast was delicious (lots of local produce) and the place itself is an olive farm - they even put out a delicious tasting platter for us!
We were there for the weekend, leaving Sydney on Friday after work and arriving quite late (it's about a 4hr drive give or take from the CBD) but we were able to unwind immediately because this place is just so comfortable & peaceful.
Definitely try Alby & Esther's for lunch, and Pipeclay Pumphouse for dinner. The food in Mudgee is something from another world - pretty sure we just discovered where all the best chefs are hiding out!
Will be back for sure! 5 stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review Beck. It was great to meet you and look forward to seeing you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg F
1 review
“A Country Retreat in the country”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A short drive out of Mudgee amongst the farms, vineyards and olive groves. The Blue Shed is a beautiful place to wake up in the morning surrounded by olives and wild life. Very comfortable. The food is wonderful. Judy and David are very friendly, always available for a chat and a coffee. Went walking to Castle Rock - a great vista awaits and yet it was not well publicised. You will enjoy your stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B
1 review
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

From the get go Judy and David were amazing hosts. The place was spotless and the kitchen was on point. Fresh eggs, bacon, milk, bread, and the list goes on. To top it off a Jacuzzi under the stars was just the icing on the cake! All needs were met and nothing was too much to ask for. Thanks for a amazing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L
1 review
“My wife wants to go back.”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Quiet, spotless accommodation & surrounds, comfortable, well appointed, fresh local produce, eggs from the chooks outside ,breakfast looking at the cattle, views across the paddock to the olive grove, birds singing, hot tub under the stars, mist rising off the dams in the morning,bbq under the pergola, coffee shop next door.
A short beautiful country drive into Mudgee, coming back stopping in at the wineries for a tasting or a meal.
Judy & David are excellent hosts who will only enhance your stay.
No wonder my wife is asking "when are we going back".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Thanks Tony It was a pleasure to have you and Stacey stay with us. It is always good to get positive feedback and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GtmEllis
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Blue Shed Retreat”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We took my husbands parents to Mudgee to visit the grand and great grand children,. The parents are 90 and 87 and the stay they had at the Blue Shed was fantastic, they are still raving about it, Beautiful rooms, bed, lounges, food - everything and Judy and David were to perfect hosts.

We also had coffees in the cafe and purchased some of their wonderful olive oil products.

We highly recommend a stay at the Blue Shed Retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and sorry it has taken a while to reply. It was an absolute pleasure to have your parents-in-law stay with us. They are a very interesting couple and lovely people. Glad you liked the coffee and oil. People are a bit surprised that they can get good quality coffee of the beaten track. Thanks again Judy and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing