We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magnificent cathedral” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catedral de Cuenca

Catedral de Cuenca
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“magnificent cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's hard to believe this is the cathedral of such a small city as Cuenca. It is stuffed with wonderful works of art, side chapels of such opulence that one might be in Madrid itself, and the gothic structure of the building is very fine. One word of caution: we visited in February when the temperature in the building was close to freezing: there's no heating; so bring warm clothes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Musicalphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    427
    157
    46
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“lovely light filled cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Cuenca as a day trip from Madrid on the fast train. It is a charming town with an amazing situation. The cathedral was a highlight that we did not expect. The architecture itself is lovely, and because original windows have been lost the cathedral is unusually well lit. There is some very fine iron carved doors to the chapels and a lovely cloister.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Reminder of Centuries Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We found the cathedral twenty minutes before closing but the person taking the donations said we could stay until thirty minutes after it closed. We needed that extra thirty minutes! It is vast with small side chapels and paintings tucked away everywhere. Pay the €3 or so and enjoy an hour or longer simply viewing works of art 300, 400 or even 700 years old. I would gladly pay the admission price again just to support the renovation. One disappointment: the church asked local artists to design the replacement stained glass windows. Big mistake! While beautiful in their own right, their abstract approach takes away from the centuries-old Renaissance and Neoclassic architecture. Big mistake that will be fixed by another generation...I can only hope.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChiGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

What an absolutely incredible Cathedral. We have visited many Cathedrals around Europe including quite a lot in Spain, however, this one is outstanding. Its a bit like Dr Who's Tardis - it doesn't look very big from the outside, however, once you step inside wow, its just incredible. You are given an Audio phone and a map to help guide you round the various alters, shrines etc. Would definitely recommend a visit to the Cathedral but take your time and enjoy it but wrap up warm if visiting in the Winter!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vast and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Rather vast and built in varying style throughout the ages, it is slightly more interesting than a `typical` european gothic cathedral.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral de Cuenca also viewed

 

Been to Catedral de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing