We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Cuenca”
Review of La Ponderosa

La Ponderosa
Ranked #21 of 244 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Before travelling to Cuenca we had done some research and knew of La Ponderosa's reputation but there is no substitute for the real thing and one's own experience of it. So good was it that we went everyday. A bar like this is what life is all about. There were very few things on the menu that we didn't want and though perhaps initially the portions seemed a little small for the price, once tasted the value for money was beyond doubt. Everything here is of the very highest quality served unfussily and quickly in a lively atmosphere, everyone standing, the place alive with chatter and laughter. Whatever you order you literally can not go wrong, whether it be the to-die-for ribs, the impossibly heavenly tomatoes or the impeccable wild asparagus that we had or the countless other dishes that call to you from the simple but ample menu. The under-the-radar wines of La Mancha are also great value. La Ponderosa was hard to leave. Every town should have one.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenjaminNickless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 422 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2017

On our first visit to Spain, this last November, we took a pleasant side trip to Cuenca. This turned out to be one of our most favored parts of the entire trip. On entering Cuenca, we stopped at a petrol station to ask for a local dining place for lunch. We were directed to LaPonderosa. Quaint, and authentic, we appeared to be the only non-locals. Our poor level of Spanish was compensated by very gracious service. The jamon was wonderful, as was the cheese, omelet, and all the other foods placed before us. One note about jamon, there are like four grades, Black Label is the finest, and this is what they serve - this is a very select grade, with a much higher price, but read about it, then you won't be surprised. Everything, food, service, and drinks, were done beyond satisfaction.

Our next visit to Spain will feature more time in this beautiful and ancient city, and more dining at La Ponderosa. If you are visiting Spain, take in Cuenca, and be sure to pay a visit to LaPonderosa. You will be pleased!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

While the the quality was great, the place beautiful and great service, in almost three months of traveling through Spain, I never felt more ripped off when the bill arrived... the "meal" I had consisted of three tiny sized tapas (I mean meager portions that would not satisfy a mouse, they were so small). While the quality was great, honestly, I was charged as though I had ordered three full meals. It was grotesque, and I would never go back there and would not recommend. Too expensive.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WineLover12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

A little tapas bar where you have to be standing up but this is worth it because the quality of the food is amazing!
We had "lomo de orza" which is made in house, little red mullets, pork ear and "mollejas". No buts to add, everything was good. The place is a bit pricey but it is worth the quality!

Thank TECFML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the place to go "de tapeo" in Cuenca : try the zarajos, taste the wonderful tomatoes and have a nice local wine (as the draught beer is Heineken, bof!)

Date of visit: October 2013
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ponderosa also viewed

Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 

Been to La Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing