We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We visited the Cuenca Parador. We had only planned to enjoy the beauty of the sights in the city and on the crst of the hil, but after realizing that there was a restaurant, we decided to wait an hour until it opened. We had one of the best meals that we had on our 40 day trip through Spain. The service was excellent also. Unfortunately we were staying in Guadalajara and needed to leave for Madrid the next day or we would have gotten a room at the Parador. Next time we will, and we will tell our friends. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Public Relations Manager at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We had inform our Kitchen-Chef about your opinion.
We wait for you for a longer visit, next time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    439
    118
    33
    9
See reviews for
237
731
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very well adapted monastery. Very quiet, good for a weekend break. Rooms are very confortable but not luxury. Amazing view to the city ( if you choose those rooms). Very good breakfast, the restaurante is confortable, nice dinning room, meals are regular.
The wi-fi is bad.

Room Tip: You have to choose a room with views, and you have to pay for it, otherwise you can have a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakieJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Public Relations Manager at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
470 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The tasting menu with all you can drink wine was €48 and well worth it. The dishes were perfect as was the service. Get a room with a view if you can, we stayed in 305 and wow! Huge room. 301 to 304 faced the same awesome direction looking at the Museum of Abstract art, the most notable hanging house. Breakfast was substantial. The front desk most accommodating. One of Spain's best paradors.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Public Relations Manager at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion.
Customers like you, it's a pleasure to attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I should explain that we got a special offer as Amigos which meant we paid about 220 euros for 2 midweek nights bed and breakfast in early June. At this price we thought it was excellent value and a wonderful overall experience. The location and the interior of the building are stunning and so convenient for visiting the main sights (as long as you don't suffer too badly from vertigo on the slightly wobbly footbridge across the gorge!), and also for walking in the surrounding countryside. It's really easy to find (signposted all the way through Cuenca) and there is free parking.
Our standard double room was spacious with a large bathroom including double wash basins, bath with shower over, and a separate toilet. The view from the loo was amazing - our room was located at the back of the parador overlooking the gorge. Stunning. The room had a comfortable king size bed, safe, minibar and TV: everything we needed.
Others have commented on poor service but we had quite the opposite. From reception to the bar and dining room, all the staff were friendly and helpful. If anything it was some of the customers who were less than polite and friendly!
We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but certainly at breakfast there was plenty of choice and all very fresh each day.
My only very slight disappointment was that the swimming pool is only available in high season (ie July and August) and after a very hot day of sightseeing I would have loved to cool off in the pool.
Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much, for your kind words.
Please visit us again.
Only a small remark: All the swimming-pools in Cuenca opens June 15th and close September 15th.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This Parador is well situated and is a great example of the best of Spain. The rooms are cozy and very nice. The staff is excellent. The food is first rate, exactly what you can expect from the Paradors. And the views are incredible. Come and see the heart of Spain.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your king words.
Please, come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The exterior of the hotel is impressive and very inviting. The check-in process was painless, but without the friendliness of most of the hotels we have experienced in Spain. When I complained that there was no WiFi in the room, they said there were some areas of the hotel where the signal was weak. I said it wasn't a matter of weak, but no signal at all. I asked if we could be moved to the front of the hotel where there was a signal and was told no, that those were the more expensive rooms with better views. No offer to upgrade - even at an additional cost.

Our room was in the rear of the hotel, clean, well-furnished and quiet. We did not eat dinner in the dining room, choosing a great location across the gorge. The breakfast had good quality food with lots of choices for many different breakfast tastes from around the world.

Over the years, my experience has been that the service level at Spain's paradors has slipped noticeably, with some exceptions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want WiFi and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, never a room with a good view, reasonable cleanliness but such humourless staff. Pedantic, grumpy, unhelpful and positively dour!

So different to all the other Paradors we have stayed in. We will not be returning! I would rather take a detour.

Such a shame but some smiling is required!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Manuel A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Parador de Cuenca, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Google Translation
Si desea contactar personalmente con nosotros, nos ayudaría. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#8 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing