We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Cuenca”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This former convent makes the trip to Cuenca special. We only stayed one night and took the high speed train from Madrid (only 50 minutes) and it was perfect to get a taste of the city and take in the amazing views from the hotel. The extra charge for a room with a view is worth it! We did have an issue with the staff- there was one man working at the front desk both days we were there who was unhelpful and actually quite rude. Just one example was that we asked if he could order us a taxi for later in the afternoon to get to the train station and he answered in an annoyed tone that he "could but it was very busy I may not remember." Not an acceptable response in my opinion. Overall, a very cool hotel however with a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cort99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Possibly the best Parador in Spain! A grand, former convent with stunning views of the hanging houses on the far side of the ravine. A footbridge across the ravine takes you straight to the heart of the city. Staff were extremely helpful. Bedroom was spacious with a modern bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, but we were slightly disappointed with the evening meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bald-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in early October. If you have got the train to Cuenca then you can get a bus to the old town and walk across the bridge!! It is magical to approach the Parador this way!!
the receptionists are very friendly and the bar man is the best!! Full marks go to the bar man who was serving on the night of 3rd October!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebepigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place to stay. Beautiful sight and lovely village.
Have been there for a wedding so we could not taste how restaurant was.
Through old bridge you can walk into old city but for laziest with 5 euros you can get a a cab and be taken anyware in the city.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JVA16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really felt we were staying somewhere special as the decor, artworks and staff were all wonderful. The room was comfortable and the lounge areas every where around the hotel were excellent with sumptuous seating.

The food in both the bar and cafe were very good but be warned if you are a vegetarian you will have very little to choose so it would pay to know your Spanish and ask for something to be made for you.

Cuenca is a delight to walk around and there are set routes you can follow but make sure you pick the right one as there is quite a climb to some. The Cathedral is spectacular and a recommended place to visit and to get the full experience get an audio guide.

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and this seemed about the right length of time to see everything in Cuenca and have a trip a bit further out to the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here in July for only one night, which wasn't nearly enough. The building is spectacular, hugging the edge of a cliff, across a pedestrian suspension bridge which is only a two minute walk from the centre of town. The buildings interiors are sumptuous, the furnishings very grand and the vibe chic and quite upmarket. We had two rooms, not interconnected, but both with lovely views in to the quadrant. The rooms were quiet, clean and stylishly furnished The pool was a very short walk from reception. It was unusually large, had a large number of sun loungers and an attendant on duty all day. We had the pool to ourselves and didn't have to share it with anyone else. The town of Cuenca is amazing. There were plenty of excellent restaurants to chose from for dinner, some with unbelievable views, and ample opportunities to walk around the Old Town at night. Don't be put off when first driving in to Cuenca. The new town looks like many other new towns in Europe, but follow signs to the Old Town and you will almost certainly love what you find. We are really looking forward to going back to Cuenca one day and will definitely stay at the Parador again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank marinapsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This converted convent is situated across the gorge from Cuenca old town, with easy access to it across a metal bridge spanning the gorge. As to be expected from a convent, the rooms were small with small windows and felt quite spartan, but I guess fitted in with the history of the building. We had a lovely view across to Cuenca. The dining hall was quite grand. Parking was difficult, especially since we accidentally arrived during the fiesta San Mateo, as there was limited parking at the parador.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $99 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing