We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really felt we were staying somewhere special as the decor, artworks and staff were all wonderful. The room was comfortable and the lounge areas every where around the hotel were excellent with sumptuous seating.

The food in both the bar and cafe were very good but be warned if you are a vegetarian you will have very little to choose so it would pay to know your Spanish and ask for something to be made for you.

Cuenca is a delight to walk around and there are set routes you can follow but make sure you pick the right one as there is quite a climb to some. The Cathedral is spectacular and a recommended place to visit and to get the full experience get an audio guide.

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and this seemed about the right length of time to see everything in Cuenca and have a trip a bit further out to the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here in July for only one night, which wasn't nearly enough. The building is spectacular, hugging the edge of a cliff, across a pedestrian suspension bridge which is only a two minute walk from the centre of town. The buildings interiors are sumptuous, the furnishings very grand and the vibe chic and quite upmarket. We had two rooms, not interconnected, but both with lovely views in to the quadrant. The rooms were quiet, clean and stylishly furnished The pool was a very short walk from reception. It was unusually large, had a large number of sun loungers and an attendant on duty all day. We had the pool to ourselves and didn't have to share it with anyone else. The town of Cuenca is amazing. There were plenty of excellent restaurants to chose from for dinner, some with unbelievable views, and ample opportunities to walk around the Old Town at night. Don't be put off when first driving in to Cuenca. The new town looks like many other new towns in Europe, but follow signs to the Old Town and you will almost certainly love what you find. We are really looking forward to going back to Cuenca one day and will definitely stay at the Parador again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank marinapsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This converted convent is situated across the gorge from Cuenca old town, with easy access to it across a metal bridge spanning the gorge. As to be expected from a convent, the rooms were small with small windows and felt quite spartan, but I guess fitted in with the history of the building. We had a lovely view across to Cuenca. The dining hall was quite grand. Parking was difficult, especially since we accidentally arrived during the fiesta San Mateo, as there was limited parking at the parador.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel which is in a beautiful location over-looking the 'casas colgadas' of Cuenca. Just a short walk across the metal bridge to the old town with plenty of bars and restaurants and interesting streets to wander. The rooms with a view are very nice and spacious but do get noisy as well as very warm. At 18 Euros, the breakfast was over priced and you could probably get better value by walking into Cuenca instead. Service was okay, but the main reason for staying here was the setting which was truly fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Parador at Cuenca is ideally situated to walk across to the old town of Cuenca. It is a beautiful old convent with loads of ambience. I do not agree with the previous comments that the service was bad and the food was of the region which my wife and I found really good although I can understand because of its nature would not have suited everyone . The cost could have been expensive except we got a 2 day deal covering half board which made it very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try and find a room overlooking Cuenca I.e South facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The unfriendliest staff I have ever come across
Guests were a nuisance to them, especially at reception, with no exception
We waited one hour to get a drink and then another 45 minutes to get our bad dinner
Guests were walking around with empty tea pots at breakfast to try and get some tea
I thought we were on candid camera as a joke

Room Tip: Facing outwards towards the garden and not above the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieFinnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms just about cool enough

Dinner mixed on musical evening

Good sized room and bathroom

Peaceful spot

Lovely pool

Chaotic parking if not garaged

Staff mixed not even thanked for pointing out bill mistake benefiting them borderline rude on arrival.

Excellent breakfast

Helped with bags on way out

MOST OF ALL Dramatic location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $98 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing