We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This converted convent is situated across the gorge from Cuenca old town, with easy access to it across a metal bridge spanning the gorge. As to be expected from a convent, the rooms were small with small windows and felt quite spartan, but I guess fitted in with the history of the building. We had a lovely view across to Cuenca. The dining hall was quite grand. Parking was difficult, especially since we accidentally arrived during the fiesta San Mateo, as there was limited parking at the parador.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumicoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    385
    109
    33
    7
See reviews for
201
631
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel which is in a beautiful location over-looking the 'casas colgadas' of Cuenca. Just a short walk across the metal bridge to the old town with plenty of bars and restaurants and interesting streets to wander. The rooms with a view are very nice and spacious but do get noisy as well as very warm. At 18 Euros, the breakfast was over priced and you could probably get better value by walking into Cuenca instead. Service was okay, but the main reason for staying here was the setting which was truly fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Parador at Cuenca is ideally situated to walk across to the old town of Cuenca. It is a beautiful old convent with loads of ambience. I do not agree with the previous comments that the service was bad and the food was of the region which my wife and I found really good although I can understand because of its nature would not have suited everyone . The cost could have been expensive except we got a 2 day deal covering half board which made it very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try and find a room overlooking Cuenca I.e South facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The unfriendliest staff I have ever come across
Guests were a nuisance to them, especially at reception, with no exception
We waited one hour to get a drink and then another 45 minutes to get our bad dinner
Guests were walking around with empty tea pots at breakfast to try and get some tea
I thought we were on candid camera as a joke

Room Tip: Facing outwards towards the garden and not above the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieFinnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
227 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms just about cool enough

Dinner mixed on musical evening

Good sized room and bathroom

Peaceful spot

Lovely pool

Chaotic parking if not garaged

Staff mixed not even thanked for pointing out bill mistake benefiting them borderline rude on arrival.

Excellent breakfast

Helped with bags on way out

MOST OF ALL Dramatic location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Historic facility with minimalist decorations and the traditional Parador good service and cuisine.
But if you need to check on email or the enterprise server be prepared to use your roaming data plan. And add an extra non-planned expense to the bill.
If you have requested something like double bed, be sure to call, after leaving you booking application, to confirm the request will be fulfilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vict0r_Bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the end of our two week road trip in northern Spain, primarily because it was reasonably close to the Madrid airport for an early afternoon flight out. I love every parador I have ever stayed in, and this one was exceptional. The only reason i didn't give it straight 5s was because the hair dryer was worthless, which seems like a petty complaint given the magnificent setting, but is a real pain when your husband is pacing the room, waiting for you to get ready.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, there were too many choices in town, but we did end our trip drinking a snifter of 43 on the front patio overlooking the iron bridge and town across the gorge on the evening before we left. The memory helps a lot on a stressful day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
3.6 mi away
Hotel LB Villa De Cuenca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing