We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, beautiful common areas. A calm, genteel aura surrounds you.”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
tucson
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, beautiful common areas. A calm, genteel aura surrounds you.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the end of our two week road trip in northern Spain, primarily because it was reasonably close to the Madrid airport for an early afternoon flight out. I love every parador I have ever stayed in, and this one was exceptional. The only reason i didn't give it straight 5s was because the hair dryer was worthless, which seems like a petty complaint given the magnificent setting, but is a real pain when your husband is pacing the room, waiting for you to get ready.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, there were too many choices in town, but we did end our trip drinking a snifter of 43 on the front patio overlooking the iron bridge and town across the gorge on the evening before we left. The memory helps a lot on a stressful day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebra740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    471
    128
    38
    12
See reviews for
270
791
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Hotel itself is really nice and some rooms have excellent views of Cuenca. The rooms are are of a good size but not cheap, We could accept the room price if the evening food service was better but in fact it was a disaster. The food was dreadful, and the service even worse.
WE would certainly stay again at the Hotel but never eat and evening meal there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the historic city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this Parador in Aug 2013, Contrary to previous reviews we found the reception staff very jolly and helpful !

The room we had , enjoyed a view of the bridge and the hanging houses. The room was clean but a bit careworn, but nonetheless had a certain charm as did the whole Hotel.. which was very atmospheric at night with the ecclesiastical music playing in the background.

we used the pool facilities which seems fine to us, very pleasant in fact on the very very hot day we stayed..

At night we booked a table in the Hotel, we endured a ten minute wait to be seated at our allotted time ( I was ready to just cancel and walk into town for a meal, but my better half made me wait !! ) another interminable wait then for a menu and drinks.. The food we had was mediocre to downright bad.. the steak I was served was really tough and in fact should have gone back to the kitchens but hunger took over.. There was a live jazz band playing which was very good, this is the only thing I can be positive about concerning the dining at the Hotel

The setting in cloister was fantastic and it is a crying shame the dining experience is let down by the dismal service in the restaurant and the food..

The location of the Hotel is second to none, and the very short walk into the Historic centre nearly made up for the poor food we endured..

So to sum up Great location , Good parking (albeit at a price ), acceptable room...but eat out !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stunning location. The historic building makes an ideal hotel. Our experience of the staff was that they were courteous and efficient. We chose to pay a premium to have our car reside in the secure garage. The central courtyard made an ideal location for a memorable meal.

The suite was very well appointed. Furnishings in keeping with the building itself will please all except those who need every design to be cutting edge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staycalm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's a magnificent hotel in the most desirable position. I had been there about fifteen years ago and the structure still retains the old charm. From the hotel you can enjoy the best view of Cuenca and its suspended houses. You only have to cross the iron bridge to be in one of the most fascinating old Spanish towns with a stunning Cathedral. This time we got a rather small room. The hotel used to be a monastery and, as such, had a magnificent private church. This time it was closed. The hotel also promised free WiFi -- which however works only in the proximity of the reception hall. The swimming pool is very small (despite the available space) with very few chairs, and the breakfast not as rich as one would expect. It is worth a visit, but, because of these shortcomings, we cannot assign the full score.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent two nights in the Parador of Cuenca and we were disapointed mainly by the service (views are splendid and place is nice). Staff is generally neither welcoming nor nice with clients in addition of not beeing helpful. As an example the groom when taking our luggage to the car, dropped two bags on the floor including one laptop... Plus we asked for a bottle of wine to be kept after a diner since we did not finished it and they lost it. They did not apologize and did not propose any compensation. Staff at the front desk not customer oriented at all. The room service is just doing the minimum. The room was ok but a bit old fashioned. Bathroom would need a refresh and you can hear the flush of the toilets of the rooms around!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jefrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Parador is amazing and in the most perfect spot for visiting Cuenca. The room was a really good size even for our family of 5 (although air con could have been colder). We had the perfect view of the houses and the pedestrian bridge. Despite other reports we found the staff and food in the Hotel to be of a very good standard. Our 3 children were made very welcome and every effort was made to accommodate them. The restaurant even has a children's menu which was authentic and not the usual boring selection.
My only complaint was that it was very expensive, even for just one night! However, a lovely enjoyable treat for us all to do together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#9 of 11 in Cuenca
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing