We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only plan to visit once....stay here”
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stunning location. The historic building makes an ideal hotel. Our experience of the staff was that they were courteous and efficient. We chose to pay a premium to have our car reside in the secure garage. The central courtyard made an ideal location for a memorable meal.

The suite was very well appointed. Furnishings in keeping with the building itself will please all except those who need every design to be cutting edge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staycalm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's a magnificent hotel in the most desirable position. I had been there about fifteen years ago and the structure still retains the old charm. From the hotel you can enjoy the best view of Cuenca and its suspended houses. You only have to cross the iron bridge to be in one of the most fascinating old Spanish towns with a stunning Cathedral. This time we got a rather small room. The hotel used to be a monastery and, as such, had a magnificent private church. This time it was closed. The hotel also promised free WiFi -- which however works only in the proximity of the reception hall. The swimming pool is very small (despite the available space) with very few chairs, and the breakfast not as rich as one would expect. It is worth a visit, but, because of these shortcomings, we cannot assign the full score.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent two nights in the Parador of Cuenca and we were disapointed mainly by the service (views are splendid and place is nice). Staff is generally neither welcoming nor nice with clients in addition of not beeing helpful. As an example the groom when taking our luggage to the car, dropped two bags on the floor including one laptop... Plus we asked for a bottle of wine to be kept after a diner since we did not finished it and they lost it. They did not apologize and did not propose any compensation. Staff at the front desk not customer oriented at all. The room service is just doing the minimum. The room was ok but a bit old fashioned. Bathroom would need a refresh and you can hear the flush of the toilets of the rooms around!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jefrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Parador is amazing and in the most perfect spot for visiting Cuenca. The room was a really good size even for our family of 5 (although air con could have been colder). We had the perfect view of the houses and the pedestrian bridge. Despite other reports we found the staff and food in the Hotel to be of a very good standard. Our 3 children were made very welcome and every effort was made to accommodate them. The restaurant even has a children's menu which was authentic and not the usual boring selection.
My only complaint was that it was very expensive, even for just one night! However, a lovely enjoyable treat for us all to do together.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly the good things. Cuenca is a fantastic place to see visit and stay. This was the only place we planned to stay two nights on an extended tour and was also the last stopover on the way to Madrid airport and home. The hotel bathes in a prominent position in the town and shares the building you see. The Church to the right is separate and to be fair the new extension to the right fits in well. You do not need to stay here to have the benefit of this wonderful place.

You would think that with this natural advantage and the prices they were charging along with the Paradores 'reputation' as a Group that you could be expected to be greeted as a 4* guest. Sorry but a cheap hotel chain in the UK comes to mind. We had paid extra for a room with a view but ended up with 305. A view, yes but the tree outside took away the view of the hanging houses - this was disappointing but not essential. The room was 4* but some of the furniture had seen better days.

On arrival at about 17.00 Reception was fairly busy. We were advised of our room number and directed to the room - no offer of help with luggage or concession to age. We elected to pay for parking (€12 per night) and booked a table for two for dinner for €33 per person.

Having rested from our journey it was time to get ready. The internal frosted modesty screen door latch was broken and looked as if it had been in that condition for sometime. Even after 40 years of marriage the double sinks of the en suite fails to overcome a basic failing of being unable to shut the toilet door. This was compounded by the nail that was proud of the wood work by 5 to 10 mm at shoulder height as you entered to bedroom itself. This was evidence of a simple lack of care.

"Don't let it spoil things" and I agree. Changed fresh and looking forward to a first class dinner in the cloister quadrangle with live concert musicians. We arrive on time to a restaurant with 30 people dinning at most. Then a 10 minute wait to be seated followed by a similar wait for a menu only to be able to place an order an hour or so after arrival.

Half way through our first course (A local dish not quite to my taste but I offer no adverse comment) the thunder and lighting started and music stopped. There appeared to be no plan B. Other diners left and ate in the cloister at odd tables - others including us went into the breakfast room and had the main meal there. My sirloin steak arrived and the other main along with it. It was simply inedible and not fit for a dog. We left disappointed and hungry.
Why was nothing said at the time. It had been a special time as it was a Ruby wedding tour and my wife prefers no to make a fuss.

The pre-set breakfast buffet was good value but then it needed to be! We decided to stay out second night. The offer of a free meal with Champagne, if made, would have persuaded us to have diner there again.

With the exception of the room maid and the barman who made a decent cup of tea - I would be hard put to employ any of the staff with whom I had contact in a £ shop.

I have tried to avoid giving any bad reviews and have kept to the facts.

So should you stay here. Yes BUT only if you have the will and resolve to insist and get the service and courtesy you are paying for! Otherwise stay away or go in for a cup of tea if you just want to see the building inside. (Have it outside the bar e.g. on the terrace and that will be 15% extra please!.

One other suggestion Garage fees being charged on a daily rate of €12 could drop a little for the second day and could even be capped a say €25 for stays of three days or more.

The voucher for 15% off a lunch in an other Paradore as we paid the bill. No thank you. Lets get to the Airport!

Room Tip: Room 305 needs some maintenance - You will not see the Hanging Houses because the tree is in direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Outofthelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You cant beat the view from the Cuenca Parador to the hilltop town across the easily manageable wooden bridge [don't look down]. Definitely wander up the winding hills and goto the Cathedral - it's impressive. We also enjoyed the abstract art museum in the cliff house; the permanent exhibit is beautifully designed to work with the artwork, floors, tiles and lighting. Both sites are least 15 degrees cooler then outside and in early July that can help. Hotels breakfast was amazing and the thick Spanish hot chocolate is a standout no matter what time of year. Also avail yourself to the jamon, fresh fruit, cava for mimosas, baked goods, egg dishes= all excellent. The hotel grounds include a tennis court and refreshing pool. The hotel was well appointed w/contemporary art and an impressive central courtyard. The front desk staff was helpful and multi-lingual. Rooms had tv, fridge and adequate ac, 2 sink bath w bidet, room safe and hair dryer included. The hotel hosted the wedding we attended which was lovely and lavish. Smartly moving the party to a separate building up the hill so we could dance til morning. So glad we got too Cuenca and stay at the Parador. Gracias.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneakyJen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Parador has a spectacular location at a hill just besides the old town of Cuenca. It provides beautiful views and nice surroundings - and a pool in summer. You can park your car just at the Parador, and crossing a pedestrian bridge you are right there!

As nearby all Paradores, there is a patina of old times everywhere - but you are by far compensated by spacious rooms and the very architecture of the building, a former monastery. Don't expect ultimate luxury at rooms and bathrooms - but for the price they ask I think quality is fair enough.

If you want to see Cuenca - the best choice for sure.

Room Tip: Upgrade to room with view to Cuenca - you will enjoy the sights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaquin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#10 of 11 in Cuenca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Address: Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: $104 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing