We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dramatic Views from an Historically Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dramatic Views from an Historically Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

As if it weren't enough to see from your window or from that of the hotel's restaurant an awesome Grand Canyon level wonder, the Parador de Cuenca is an experience in itself and certainly the favorite of the paradors we stayed in during our recent journey throught Spain.

We loved roaming the hotels cloisered areas, sitting at the lovely bar (which had to be part of a chapel at one time evidenced by the ceilings) and other religious artifacts, the sumptious breakfast and the view.. The rooms were comfortable if not opulent, hey you're in a former convent. I write more about the Cuenca visit and the hotel at my blog: http://www.thetraveltweeter.com/2012/11/taking-road-less-travelled-to-hanging.html

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    426
    116
    33
    8
See reviews for
233
703
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This made our third visit to Cuenca, once 13 years ago, again in 2008. Seeing it from its lobby was always a stolen 'add on' to viewing and getting photos of the amazing houses that cling to the cliffs nearby. We arrived very near noon in perfect mid-day light and after the most pleasant of our Parador 'greetings' (including a '2 drinks' coupon for being long time Amigo Club participants, though they couldn't find us in their system), dropped bags in a cozy room with an adequate view and headed out with a picnic lunch and bottle of wine. WOW! It was so much fun not just to wander all OVER this fabulous location, but after a picnic in the near-deserted upper plaza overlooking our Parador, to know that we were STAYING there! This Parador, as Australia says, bespeaks 'history' and 'class' and a kind of 'timelessness'. The town itself is world heritage worthy and not-to-be-missed if you're in Madrid or passing through. Along with Toledo, I would say this is among MY top three favorite Paradors (and i only vaugely remember, perhaps, having JUST lunch here back in 2008). As it was, we ventured out that night to find dinner which, though not as 'classy', was easily available within walking distance. We returned for a glass of wine in their delightful bar before turning in for a great night's sleep (indicating that the accoustics were good for doing so). The next morning's breakfast was included on our 'Golden Days' plan and was opulent and the service was polite and officious. I love love love that the local 'cava' (champagne) is on offer as part of these buffet breakfasts that would be called 'brunch' in any other country due to the hour taken and the offerings, many of them local specialties /pastries and all. If I knew i had 6 months to live, i might well come back and spend at least one month between Cuenca, Toledo, Arcos de Fronteras, Ronda, and Bayona(?; near Puerto, Portugal). Talk about your excellent ways to 'go'!

Room Tip: We were in room #234 which was perfectly fine and on a 'Golden Days' promotion, probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel has it all. A great history great staff and an unbeatable location. Situated across from the old city on its own site you could imagine the history this building has seen.Move the cars and get the horses in and you would not know which century you were in. The hotel has first class food and service plus great views if you can get a front room. The rooms are large and have all the facilities you would expect. If you are in Cuenca then give yourself a treat.

Room Tip: I am not sure there would be a bad room in this hotel but the view from the front room was spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargil, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved our 2 nights staying in this parador. It was more expensive than our usual accommodation but was a very special place and worth the price.
Our room was massive and the parador itself was filled with beautiful things and was wonderfully tranquil. Its an easy walk to the old town and its attractions and there are walking trails nearby. No problem with parking the car onsite.
The restaurant made lovely food and the waiters treated us impeccably.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lovely hotel in beautiful position. We stayed 2 nights here and really enjoyed the atmosphere
Restaurant was great and the service was very attentive.Staff were generally very pleasant.
Our room was a superior double with wonderful views over the gorge.Keytel the UK Parador agents suggested and booked this hotel for us and gave good advice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night, one our trip across Spain. It was a different experience - the hotel was grand, sitting on the other side of the river from the main town. It is connected to the town by road but also by an impressive bridge across the gorge. The rooms were spacious and clean. The central courtyard is lovely and adds to the atmosphere of the place. The pool was nice and spent a relaxing hour or so around this area. The food is ok - I would have thought maybe it would have been a bit nicer in the restaurant. Other than this, everything was great and really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janita_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the nicest paradors I ever stayed in. Situated in an old convent, you cross the raveen on a foot bridge to reach the casas colgadas and other sites of Cuenca. The setting is lovely and very peaceful. My room was nicely appointed and the staff was good. Food in the restaurant was excellent, with some local dishes on the menu.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank soyviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
2.4 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#9 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cuenca

Property: Parador de Cuenca
Address: Convento De San Pablo Paseo Hoz Del Huecar | Subida a San Pablo s/n, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cuenca 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th-century Convent in late Gothic style, lovingly restored & converted into fascinating Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Parador de Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cuenca Hotel Cuenca
Parador De Hotel Cuenca
Cuenca Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing