We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cuenca Old Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cuenca Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Leonora de Aquitania, which was situated in the old town of Cuenca. We found this hotel to be very clean, well situated for exploring the old town and only just down the road from the main square and the cathedral. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking was in a public car park 50m from the hotel with security and was free if you stayed at the hotel, a very big bonus. The hotel was quiet with no banging of doors and we would definitely stay their again on our next visit to Cuenca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osaoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    118
    100
    23
    5
See reviews for
56
175
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Easy to find, nice hotel, rooms comfortable but could be refreshed, for the price. Good location with nice view. Main road busy but room at back is quiet. Cuenca's old town is delightful and there are lovely walks to take in the stunning scenery.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors to get good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swallowtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We enjoyed our family room with 2 bedrooms connected with a door and a shared bathroom....very spacious and comfortable with windows opening for fresh air if desired. The air conditioning worked great! Loved the tile flooring and old wooden windows. WiFi didn't work in our room, but worked fine in the lounge area or in the cafe. Loved this quaint hotel and the on-site cafe & bar. Be sure to arrive early for breakfast as the food was quite depleted by mid-morning. Food was sufficient with yogurts, pastries, some breads, ham & cheese.

Very nice location, with just a short walk downhill to the cathedral, art museum, and main square of the old town and the suspension bridge & the excellent Meson Casas Colgadas restaurant---a restaurant not to be missed! Also great sights uphill! Be sure to wander around and explore the area. Cuenca is a beautiful area to see and hike around..but is quite a sleepy little town. One day and night was sufficent for seeing the sights, visiting the museum, cathedral and having a great dinner.
Wonderful service and very clean. We arrived nearly 2 hours before their posted checkin time, but were allowed early check-in which was very nice!
This hotel is a great value with added charm for a stay in Cuenca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gorge, the hotel sits at the very edge of the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyssaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Monday night and the saving grace of this hotel was that it only cost 45 Euros.

The building itself is gorgeous and very well located. However the rooms are well overdue an update. Having spent two weeks staying in hotels at around 60 Euros a night, this was definitely a low point (and I realise that this hotel costs a lot more than that at weekends). The bathrooms were particularly poor and the showers (one ancient head on the wall with painfully sharp jets of water and a modern hand-held one at waist height) were tepid even after two people showering at 9am.

When we arrived in our room, there was no power and one of the wall lights was hanging off its cable. This was admittedly fixed quickly. We asked if there was a room with a view and were shown a room with two twin beds on the 3rd floor with an amazing view and terrace. But counted 8 enormous hornets swarming outside. We declined the room. Our friends had a street-side room also ok the 3rd floor and had similar hornet problems. One even got into their room despite closed windows. They were allowed to move but management were non-plussed by the hornets - there was clearly a nest in the hotel attic as we could hear and see them from the street.

Overall, for 45 Euros this hotel was a bargain. Reception staff were friendly. But I would not have paid more, as I consider the hotel very dated compared with others in Spain in this category. I also could not get wifi to work on my iPhone.

Another tip - do not visit Cuenca on a Monday. The town shuts (including almost all restaurants). Overall, I would recommend Morella and the Hotel del Pastor as better in every respect than Cuenca and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesrh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of the historic quarter of Cuenca. From the train station, hop onto the bus that brings you into the center of Cuenca. From here, change to the bus # 1 that takes you to the hill top historic quarter. Get off at Plaza Mayor. The street signs of the hotel lead you to it.
Friendly front desk, free wi-fi, good heated rooms ( though very small ) and tidy toilet. Some rooms face the street, while the others face the valley. The valley facing rooms have great views. Breakfast is neat and good.
All sights are walk able from the hotel. Be prepared to walk up-hill and down-hill.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the valley
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank akmbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at what must have been the afternoon rush, but the clerk at the front desk was efficient and quickly accomodated everyone in line. The view from the 3rd floor was truly amazing. Parking is just on the other side of the street from the hotel. Originally, we had hoped to stay at the Parador, but thankfully it was booked, and we were able to discover this wonderful gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor, room 302. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
271 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed one night in a room with a beautiful view, overlooking the gorge below. The room was comfortable and reception staff most helpful and friendly. The reason I didn't rate this hotel higher was the clumsy access to a very slow internet service. We had to wait for the night man to arrive to figure out a way for us to have access, a process which took too much of our time. They either need to change their provider or have written instructions for guests so it doesn't have to be reinvented every time a guest arrives with an iPhone or Mac.

Room Tip: Worth the extra charge to have an exquisite view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
3.7 mi away
Hotel LB Villa De Cuenca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonor de Aquitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonor de Aquitania

Property: Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Address: Calle San Pedro 60, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leonor de Aquitania 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel from the XVII century just two minutes walk from the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Leonor de Aquitania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonor De Aquitania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing