We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Stay here.”
Review of Posada de San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada de San Jose
Ranked #1 of 29 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent. Stay here.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Posada de San José was the highlight of our recent tour around Spain.

Lovely big room, clean and bright with a massive double bed and a balcony that looked out across the gorge.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
Can't remember if there was wifi... far more interesting things to be looking at!
They accept dogs.

We loved it here and would return without hesitation.
The breakfast is a buffet with lots of choice and another great view from the dining room.
We took the tasting menu one evening which was delicious.

Parking may be the only downside. We didn't have any real trouble but I expect at busy periods this might be a challenge.
We arrived at the Posada by turning right immediately after the Catedral in the Playa Major. This route brought us to the front door but the roads were extremely narrow (we have a VW estate). You can pull in just after the Posada to unload but you can't stay there. Alternatively, there is a wider road parallel to the narrow route, but stopping to unload bags would be more difficult.
The staff at the hotel will direct you to parking - underground and at the top of the hill.
One day we went for a long walk around the gorge which was spectacular.
The Museo de Arte Abstracto Español is also worth a visit, if only for the design of the interior spaces.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the gorge, they are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
173
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villaviciosa, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked thru their own page (and got an automatic confirmation email in return) only to be told the day before we were supposed to check in that they didn't know anything about our reservation.

The owner's quite implausible response was that the they they didn't really operate their own internet page and that the company that did sent them a fax with the appropriate details instead. So they couldn't find the fax and would shrug when the confirmation number was mentioned. As far as they were concerned we could be damned.

My impression was they were overbooked over that weekend and we had gotten a too good rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AudazViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for one night, but could have stayed for more if our time allowed. Wonderful views, outstanding restaurant and very pleasant staff. The cost was only 75 euros and well worth it. Will go back on my next trip to Spain. The only down side is limited parking and the road to the hotel is very narrow.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in October and was really pleased despite a couple of issues. Location next to the Plaza Mayor is wonderful and the room was spacious, very clean, well lit and beds were comfortable with lovely linens. The room also had a terrace with a view of the gorge and a couple of comfortable wicker armchairs to enjoy a quiet al fresco moment in privacy. The included breakfast was very good and the view from the dining room was spectacular. Small inconvenience was noise of people talking at the front desk in the evening - our room was fairly close. The noise didn't continue too late at night, but if you're an early to bed person you might ask for a room further from the reception area. The authentic feel of the building and furnishings was delightful and the hotel is remarkably inexpensive for the quality of the experience. An unfortunate problem with the boiler made for no hot water one day, which was explained to us upon check-in. The problem was fixed the next day and without being asked the manager made an adjustment to our bill upon check-out. Very professional.

Room Tip: People at the desk are keen to please, so if you aren't delighted ask to see another room. Each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a huge room with a marvelous view of the gorge at a smaller price than the Parador across the gorge. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on a little terrace overlooking the gorge--felt like a private terrace. Breakfast was only adequate. Getting to hotel requires driving through old part of town--streets are narrow and winding. Parking was a couple blocks away and rather than working our way back through the streets we took our bags to the garage. Very little English is spoken.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed for two nights in September. The conversion of this beautiful old building to a hotel has been undertaken so as to retain many of its original features, and tastefully furnished with solid period pieces. My very comfortable room (23) had a fantastic view over the gorge and armchairs by the window so I could sit and enjoy it. The bathroom was well equipped with a plentiful supply of hot water.
The reception staff (especially Beatriz) were very friendly and helpful, as were the ladies in the restaurant. There is a small terrace where you can sit and eat, or just have a drink. For breakfast there was a good selection cereals, fruit, meants, bread, pastries, etc .
The hotel is well located for seeing all the sites that Cuenca has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking over the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed over night and loved the feel of this hotel and its location. Everywhere is steep and parking a bit of a problem. We had a very comfy room with a seating area and terrace. The view over the gorge was fantastic. The bedding was crisp and really good quality.The pillows were also thicck, not like some skinny ones you get in Spain. The hotel was spotless with some lovely pieces of furniture and art work on the walls. We didnt eat here but found plenty of eating places at the top of town where we parked safely for nothing. Would recommend it and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 for 80 euros.All the rooms were quiet as the hotel is set down an alley away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
1,249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de San Jose

Property: Posada de San Jose
Address: Ronda Julian Romero 4 | 50 metres up from the Cathedral, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada de San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel located in a XVII Century building in the heart of the old quarter of Cuenca, a declared World Heritage City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada de San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De San Jose Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing