We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
48
72
82
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
72
82
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outside seating tennis courts stay there again old town bedroom spain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 247 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

When we opened the door to our room "Wow" was all we could say. We had a double salon room and it was amazing. The lounge had a large sofa suite with lots of cupboards for storage,a coffee table and TV and there was also a fridge in the wall cupboard. This led up two steps to a bedroom with the largest bed I have ever seen. There was also a desk with a chair and a second TV on the wall. The bathroom was amazing too with double basins and a large double shower.

The whole suite was tastefully decorated and maintained with dark wooden beamed ceilings and brought white walls.

The hotel itself, set just outside the beautiful town if Cuenca, was beautiful and was surrounded by beautiful scenery. There was a very pretty courtyard inside the hotel with a restaurant and bar with outside seating so it was possible for us to have a proper meal with our dog with us, which was a huge bonus and the menu was good.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, check in and out was quick and easy and there is plenty of parking. The hotel has a salon for relaxing and also has a lift.

It's the ideal romantic location and very relaxing as there is no Wi-Fi or mobile phone coverage as it is in the mountains, although there is coverage just down the road in Cuenca for those who cannot live without it.

We were travelling en route from London to Malaga and although Cuenca is not on the usual tourist road trip route, we like to vary our journey and stop off at different places in France and Spain. I would very much liked to have stayed longer at this hotel and also explored more of Cuenca.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would be delighted to stay there again.

Room tip: Some rooms have steps so if you don't want steps make sure they know in advance.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Hotel in a rural setting 5 k from Cuenca old town. Suite room is spacious but get extremely hot and air con is not powerful enough. Parts of the hotel have been renovated but some toilets in common areas are very dated. Restaurant is quite nice and not overpriced. Swimming pool is big enough but it could do with a bit of TLC and some sun loungers. It could easy become a 4 stars with more services such as food available throughout the day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank crislondon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca_con_Caracter, Atención al Cliente at Cueva Del Fraile, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thanks for your visit.

We are carrying out an ambitious program of renovation of our facilities. Soon, the entire hotel will be renovated.

In the next few days, we will have new loungers that will improve the stay of our guests.

We will take your comments into account to continue implementing better and new services.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

This was our 2nd visit at this hotel, which has recently been refurbished. This former monastery is found a few km out of Cuenca. Lovely and spacious hotel, with friendly staff, we opted for half board option which included a drink too. The room we had was nice with great views although neither of us liked the shower/loo room, with a sink behind the headboard of the bed - would have prefered a proper bathroom, the shower wall leaked into the bedroom area. Enjoyed the evening meals we had as a group, although as the set menu didnt change, if staying longer than 2 nights, might be stuck for choice. Would stay again and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kaise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

I think it's fair to say this hotel has probably seen better days even though the staff try hard.

On the plus side the rooms in the old building are nice and cool, with comfy beds and are cleaned daily. Also the buffet breakfast is great value. Reception staff also very friendly and helpful.

On the downside the food quality at lunch and dinner is pretty poor and choice quite limited. Seemed to us that it was mainly used by hard pressed couples with very young children grateful that there was a ready meal without needing to get in the car.

Of mixed quality:
Guests get free use of sports facilities (and reception have a limited supply of equipment): the pool area is great but aside from this the outdoor facilities are tired and underused.
Wifi reception is sporadic and slow. Finally our experience of the rooms in the newer part of the hotel was poor (we changed rooms after a night).

You should have a car if you're staying here; both because it's quite remote and so that you can savour the decent restaurants in Cuenca.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 165PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on the way back to the ferry.didn't realise it was out of but it wasn't a problem.Directions with sat nav were good. This hotel is going through a bit of a change, builders were in but didn't hear them working. Our room was nice and spacious and had been renovated, with a lounge area. Looked over a field which had goats in, with the gentle sound of their bells.the room had a large bathroom which was nicely done,
Had a baguette for lunch, Then took the car and parked near the tourist info, then walked down into town ( only a couple of mins or less) lovely town to walk around, some of the houses are built on the side of cliffs!
Had dinner in the hotel , food was nice, didn't really understand what we we ordered but that's what it's all about being on holiday and not knowing the language! All good fun!
Breakfast was good, lots of choice.
It is an old farmhouse and some parts look very old( nice)
Nice stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bevbru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews