We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family”
Review of Alizaque Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alizaque Lodge
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Cuenca on our way back to Madrid. Cuenca itself is stunning! The old town is beautifully maintained, and even though there are cars passing up and down, it retains its charm.
We had an apartment on the top floor of the Alizaque lodge and it was amazing. Laura, the girl who greeted us was very helpful and offered loads of information about where to go and what to see etc...
Our bedroom was beautiful with an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen was better than the one I have at home, fully fitted and with smart Smeg appliances. Our two teenagers slept on the pull out sofa bed and said it was very comfortable. And while my husband and I marvelled at the surrounding scenery, they were quite happy using the free Wifi! The only slight drawback about sharing this apartment was that they had to pass through the bedroom to use the bathroom - not a big deal.
The ceilings did slope, and the windows were on the small side, but this is a beautifully renovated, old building. To have changed these features would have ruined its character.
The setting of the Alizaque is perfect. It's right at the top of the old town. Have courage if you are driving and keep going uphill until you reach the very last building on the left before the castle. If you are lucky you'll get parking nearby, if not just continue on through the gates, and walk back.
Be aware that the reception desk is not open 24 hours. You do need to ring in advance of your arrival. And once you are checked in, you can be completely independent. Like I said, it's perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a GREAT place. It is a multi-room apartment with full kitchen, bar, we had a loft room with nice dormer, a window looked out on two canyons from each side of the apt. Also, dishwasher, washing machine fridge, everything, and it was so nice. People great. Location, it is the last thing on the left before you go up into the gate of the castle itself. (GPS will take you inside walled gate, too far.) You could stay a week here and have everything you need. Cuenca is a beautiful place and north is the park with the "Enchanted City" odd mushroom like rock formations. Like the "elephant" formations at the Arches national park. The hanging houses are underwhelming, but interesting; however, the whole place is very unique and quaint. Located walking distance from everything to see, but it is all up and down hills. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Loft is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Mazarrón, Murcia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Apart from tom tom not being able to find it, we were able to park outside free of charge. Situated almost as high as you can go-it was perfect for views of the old town and gorge. We were able to walk to most things. The apartment was perfect with a fully fitted out kitchen (a kettle was provided on request). Very clean.
Laura was more than helpful with information, and when we accidentally left our passports behind, she arranged delivery by courier straight away and we had them the following day!
If you want a great setting with friendly staff and a more than adequate breakfast (reasonable at 6 euro each)-this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great reception from Laura - very helpful explanation of the layout of the old town and where to eat. The lodge is sited right up the top of the old town and beautiful views are right on the front doorstep.

Inside, the apartment is modern and well fitted out with everything you could want: a high pressure shower, flat panel tv and even a washing machine! Very spacious and comfortable. Perfect spot to stay in Cuenca.

Room Tip: Top floor room might have less plumbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth_Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The apartment offers a lot of comfort/luxury and spectacular views. The location of the lodge could not be better at the top of the historic part of Cuenca. Crossing the road, you will find the former Convent of the Carmelites, which is a beautiful museum now, with a surprising collection of modern art. We could park our car nearby the Lodge. In the weekend it was a little harder, but even then it is not far away. Laura, who is in charge of the reception, is very attentive and adequate.

One should realize that the large terrace, as it is shown on the website, is only accessible for guests of the maisonette /apartment. The way the terrace is emphasized, is a bit misleading.
Our apartment (1A ) is right above the terrace of this maisonette. We were lucky it was booked only 1 night by 7 persons. One looks straight into your bedroom and annoyance of noise can hardly be avoided. Besides this house, beautifully restored, is anything but soundproof.
The mattress is comfortable, but I dislike separate beds that move apart that easy. The metal front of the bed looks nice, but it is noisy during the night,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseboele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a pity, we stayed here for only one night having a little appartment we could not use except for the fridge. Great little appartment with nice view, very clean and well kept, service was very helpful and friendly, location at the top of the very nice old town of Cuenca. You can easy reach the center with the Cathedral in a few minutes.
Tip: stay here for a few days and explore the region e.g. by bike north and east of Cuenca. Been here a few years ago and it was just great.
One thing to be aware of, check in is only possible at certain hours in the morning and later afternoon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Clean modern rooms in a renovated building. Pretty floors and well equipped kitchen. Great location at top end of the historic village with fine views and cooling breezes. You have to sit on the floor to look out the low window. Friendly, helpful staff. Lights from adjacent town parking lot annoying if you want window open at night.

Room Tip: There is an excellent room with deck overlooking the ravine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayyidaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#5 of 11 in Cuenca
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alizaque Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alizaque Lodge

Property: Alizaque Lodge
Address: Calle Trabuco 23, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alizaque Lodge is emplaced on the area of the old castle and dominating the old quarter.”Hung” on the Hoz of the Jucar enjoys, probably, one of the best views of the city and his environment. Situated next to the main interesting sites ( Bezudo´s Arc, Antonio Perez Foundation, Hanging houses, Mayor square…) and is the perfect place if you want to discover the old quarter of Cuenca, declared World Heritage City. Likewise, for nature and hiking lovers, just next to Alizaque Lodge start all the different routes and paths that go through the ravines of the Jucar and Cabriel, from which you can enjoy in a different way the perfect fusion of architecture and nature, main characteristics of our town. Alizaque Lodge offers apartments and duplexes, joining the special attention and service of a luxury hotel, with comfort and spaciousness of a modern house, fully furnished. Staying in Alizaque Lodge is the perfect starting point for your visit of Cuenca, an unforgettable-unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alizaque Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing