We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveler rating
158
275
119
33
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
158
275
119
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city fresh fruit public parking hanging houses reduced rate hotel is located main square perfect location converted convent steep hill modern bathroom nice room lovely hotel cathedral street wifi euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 600 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is a converted Convent located next to the Cathedral within walking distance of the Casas Cogadas. Lovely, comfortable property full of character. Located on a steep hill so not recommended for anyone with walking difficulties. Lots of bars and restaurants in this historic part of Cuenca. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

What a stunning conversion of what was once a 17 century Convent. Sensitive and well considered.
WE HAD A BATH TUB WITH PLENTY OF HOT WATER.
And a room with 2 big windows that opened out onto a fabulous view.
Up in the old part of town, stay here if you can.
Excellent value for money and very helpful staff.

Room tip: I asked for a view and got it. Brilliant.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Old Town. Public Parking is only 50 metres away. The room was spacious and clean with a nice shower too. Breakfast was perfect! We were very happy and will recommend to our friends...

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GASTROBIKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca_con_Caracter, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Convento del Giraldo, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your comment.

We love knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking.

We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to have your visit if you return to Cuenca

A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

The hotel’s deep within the delightful old part of town so it’s in the best tourist location. However we were disappointed at windowless rooms on the fourth floor, with only a skylight to look out of via a small, slightly rickety set of steps.

And at 147 euros a night, I didn’t expect breakfast pastries out of packets, fresh fruit heavily chilled from overnight storage, and a complete lack of milk, fresh or otherwise, save for a carton of room temperature soya and another of fully skimmed. If a good breakfast is your thing, this isn’t the place to get it.

Parking is in a public car park some 75m or so up the street, at 16 euros a night. There is no street parking , even for motorbikes (10 euros a night).

Shame really, it’s a nice hotel and being an old convent, not easy to fix the window issue. But that lousy breakfast means it’s thumbs down for a return visit, especially at that price.

Room tip: If you want a view, make sure you ask for it, or you may well not get one of any kind!
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Redfred320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca_con_Caracter, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Convento del Giraldo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Cuenca.

The hotel is in an old 17th century building. It was opened in 2008 after a complete refurbishment. We keep part of its previous structure and some of its most characteristic elements. This means that there are not two identical rooms. Each one has a special charm: views of the sickle, views of the old town, attic, wooden ceilings ... We regret that the room was not to your liking. In any case, if you had communicated it at the reception, we would have tried to relocate you.


We apologize if the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. We have a varied buffet with quality products (cold meats, fruits, eggs, cakes, toast, dairy products, juices, etc.) and food for various food intolerances. In addition, our co-workers are at the service of the guests to meet any demand. In any case, we take note of your appreciations.

Finally, parking is prohibited in the old town of Cuenca. For this reason, we have an agreement with a public parking located on the same street as the hotel so that our customers can comfortably leave their car at a special price.

We hope that, in the future, you will offer us a new opportunity to recover your trust.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

We initially chose this hotel because of its location. On arrival we asked if there were rooms with a view on offer and for a €30 upgrade we got an excellent room with views both ways. The room itself was perfectly satisfactory, but ranks probably in the top 1% of hotels in the world for its views of the stunning scenery at Cuenca. Car parking was reasonably adjacent, with a discount from the hotel. Overall, given the views we though the hotel was good value

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 979alunb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca_con_Caracter, Atención al Cliente at Hotel Convento del Giraldo, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you very much for choosing us.

The location of the hotel is one of the aspects most valued by our customers: we are in the heart of the old town of Cuenca with views of the historic area of the city and the amazing Huécar river sickle.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed all of this.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews