We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is located in the Barrio del Castillo right at the top of the old part of the town. Those of mediocre health will require a bus/taxi to get to it, since it is a steep walk from the entrance to the Casco antiguo. The rooms are comfortable, but of greater interest were the spectacular views over the valley running to the north of the town. The staff were helpful and correct in their dealings with guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EyeofAngkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    218
    87
    26
    11
See reviews for
76
284
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron, Montana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Love this hotel. Great location very close to the main plaza in the old part of town. Rooms are very roomy by European standards. Big comfortable bed and large bathroom. Breakfast was very nice. Old building with wonderful views from our room. Wireless did not work very well and was always dropping the connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our first choice was the Parador de Cuenca but after reading TA reviews this place was our second choice. It definitely has a great location and the staff was very friendly but besides that, this place was like staying in a convent. The beds were rock hard (and I like a firm bed), the pillows horrible (interestingly they have a whole list of pillows you can choose from but when we asked they were out of every pillow we wanted), the AC did not work and since our room opened out onto the main street it was really loud and in order to sleep we needed to close the windows, the drain was clogged in the shower (on the first day as well as the second even after I told the staff about it and it was supposedly "fixed"), and the internet did not work either (neither in our room nor downstairs in the lobby). During my 8 weeks before this traveling around in Spain I stayed in hostals that cost half the amount of this hotel that were far better. I was very disappointed with this hotel. would not recommend it and I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel location is probably the best for visiting Cuenca old town. At just 100 meters from Plaza Mayor ( Main Square) where you have the Cathedral, the Town Hall and some tapas bars. The hotel inside is modern and comfortable. The rooms are decorated with style mixing modern with traditional decoration. Ask for a room with a view to the Hoz del Huecar. Breakfast also good with all that you can expect. Parking alternatives are the paying parking a few meters up the street or just park at the public ( free of charge) parking of El Castillo. It is safe and you will save some money. The hotel has also a nice restaurant, but there are also good alternatives in the back street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Hoz del Huecar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madrid_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for 1 night here it is a pleasant hotel good location although the room was pretty basic but very clean

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondinthedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Never stayed in a convent before. Room was ample for european standards. I'm sure the nuns did not have it this good. The bathroom was AAA, all the amenities. The walls were a bit thin but earplugs helped. The mountain view was stunning, especially at night. No parking so be prepared to park in public lot at 19 euros a night or on city street and take a 10 minute uphill hike to the car (we chose the later, an excuse to eat more). Cuenca is an amazingly friendly, town with narrow cobblestone streets, one major plaza, the requisite cathedral. Loved every minute in Cuenca. With just few words of Spanish and many smiles, we found the local popluation to be very accommodating and kind as well as patient.
Summary, go off the beaten path and give the Convento a try, you won't be disappointed with an open mind and open heart.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myplez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was a bit dubious about staying in a convent, but was pleasantly surprised. The bedroom was huge with a 4 poster bed and modern bathroom. Hotel is well located in the old town amongst other beautiful buildings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieT8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Cuenca
Parador de Cuenca
#1 of 11 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
NH Ciudad de Cuenca
#2 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Exe Cuenca
Hotel Exe Cuenca
#4 of 11 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leonor de Aquitania
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso VIII de Cuenca
2.6 mi away
Cueva Del Fraile
Cueva Del Fraile
#8 of 11 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento del Giraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento del Giraldo

Property: Hotel Convento del Giraldo
Address: Calle San Pedro 12, 16001 Cuenca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Convento del Giraldo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest four star hotel in Cuenca. A beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of the old town, with fantastic views to the george. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Convento del Giraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing