We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Parador de Zamora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Zamora
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having read widely differing opinions about this hotel on trip advisor I did wonder about my plans to stay here, but I need not have been concerned. I stayed for 10 days and all aspects of my stay were perfect. The hotel staff were polite and friendly, the building itself full of character and atmosphere, the standards of cleanliness very high and the food delicious. I found no cause for complaint about anything and wondered if the writers of the negative reviews I'd read had stayed in the same place.

Zamora is a lovely town and Parador de Zamora is right in the heart of everything. Beautiful romanesque buildings are on the doorstep, there are many museums and churches to visit, and the overall atmosphere of the place is a delight. There were very few tourists which is always a bonus.

I hope to return in a couple of years.

Room Tip: I was in the old part of the building which I had requested, although having seen inside the buildin...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Zamora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 732 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved this town. Pretty, nice size, lively but not too touristy and the people were so helpful and friendly. Nice food too. The Parador was ideally situated. We were directed to a car park which provides a discount, but there is also public parking in the same area. The Parador was as usual, very good in every way and the pool was lovely. Bear in mind it only opens mid-June. The Spanish only want to swim when it's incredibly hot! It's always worth checking whether the pool is open at any hotel you book, if you're planning on swimming. The restaurant food was of good quality although they seem to have trimmed down their menu a bit. Paradors are always worth a stay for a bit of elegance and historical surroundings and although a bit more than some hotels are good value for money and often have special offers on.

Room Tip: We stayed two nights and both nights, the binmen came round early in the morning to empty the recycl...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraldineLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Parador is located on a tree covered square, well situated to visit the old Romanesque town, cathedral and castle in one direction, and the Plaza Mayor and the Restaurant quarter in the other.
Our room in this former monastery was airy and comfortable and looked out towards the river and beyond. Parking is a problem. The hotel has limited spaces in a compact garage at €15.50 per night, or public metered parking in a small square which was full when we arrived but adjacent to the hotel.
We did not dine in the restaurant as there is plenty of choice within easy walking distance, but the breakfast was good and up to the normal Parador standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The parador is situated in a beautiful square in the middle of the old centre with easy walking distances to historical places and museums. Parador is old castle with nice atmosphere.
Parking around the corner is relatively cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulusAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It is often a bit of a challenge finding the Paradors that are situated in the historic centres of towns or cities, but we succeeded after asking for directions from a local who was amused as he was frequently asked the same question. However, on a cool wet day the hotel was welcoming and we were upgraded to a large comfortable room overlooking the plaza, with a nice warm bathroom. Luckily the rain stopped briefly and we were able to have a quick exploration of the old town. Unfortunately we were only staying one night as we would have welcomed more time in this lovely city.
The hotel building is a typical historic Parador. The dining room was moderately busy and service and food were good, with bread replenished (unlike at the Segovia Parador). Breakfast was very good. All the staff at the hotel were helpful and pleasant.
We would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This Parador enjoys a great location in the centre of the old part of a lovely town, though getting to it is not easy. We had sat nav which tried to take us through a tiny archway which our car would definitely not have fitted through, so we had to go a different way and eventually found our way to the parking place next to the hotel. Others have talked about having to feed the meter every two hours but we were lucky enough to arrive on a Sunday when parking is free. We were staying in town the next day so were able to work out the meter arrangements without having to move the car. The cost is minimal (0.60 for two hours) and the charging times are 9am to 2pm and then 4pm to 8pm - put money on the night before and it gives you a ticket for 9am to 11am the next day. Come back at 11am and pay until 1pm, then come back at 1pm and paying for two hours actually takes you until 5pm because of the free period at lunchtime. Feed again at 5pm to take you to 7pm, then feeding at 7pm takes you to 10am the next morning, so you don't need to get up early! OK it's a bit if an inconvenience but Zamora is a small town so you probably won't be going very far away from the Parador. The hotel does have a small parking garage for 15 euros a night but I got the impression you have to be lucky to get a space.

The Parador is in a lovely old palace with an amazing staircase. Service was really friendly and helpful with the concierge explaining where to go in Zamora. We didn't eat dinner here but had the usual good breakfast. There is a nice terrace overlooking the swimming pool where you can have a drink. Our rooms were in the old part of the building and were incredibly quiet.

I really loved the town of Zamora and it's almost empty during the day. We sat in the main square after lunch to do some people watching but there were no people to watch, apart from a few local police who occupy what must be the most beautiful police station in the world! In common with most Spanish towns it only comes alive in the early evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ready4offagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is lovely. Our room was lovely, but somewhat small. Dinner and breakfast were very good. The only caution is parking. We had a great spot next to the hotel, but had to feed the parking meter 3 times--be sure you understand the rules for paying. Great location--easy walk to historic sites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zamora
0.2 mi away
NH Zamora Palacio del Duero
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Zamora
AC Hotel Zamora
#4 of 14 in Zamora
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zenit Dos Infantas
Zenit Dos Infantas
#5 of 14 in Zamora
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel dona Urraca
Hotel dona Urraca
#12 of 14 in Zamora
96 reviews
13.2 mi away
Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Zamora

Address: Plaza Viriato 5, 49001, Zamora, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Zamora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zamora
Price Range: $94 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Zamora 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parador de Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Turistico De Hotel Zamora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing