We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Mix Alea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mix Alea
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel was among the cheapest packages offered by Russian travel operators to Arenal, but it turned out quite decent. Clean, in a quiet area, food choice was ok and varied over the week, and the receptionists were very helpful. It's on a hill, so I wouldn't recommend it to people with health problems, but overall it's good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galina1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Galina, thank you for being our guests and writing this review about your stay. It is really nice to know that you enjoyed your holidays and liked our hotel’s cleanliness and the staff’s friendliness. We would love to welcome you as our guests again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    142
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
72
171
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in the begining of this October. The hotel itself we liked very much, because it is so peaceful and quiet at night - wouldnt believe it in Arenal. Unfortunatly a bit far from the sea. That steep hill "to climb " while returning to the hotel is killing your legs when you stay there longer. The room was nice and the hotel seems to be newly renowated, looks fresh and modern. The staff really friendly and always smiling. The only big problem we had was the food. Everytime after eating my boyfriend and I were not feeling very well, stomach pain or so. Until in the middle of my vacation I got poisoned with the food and pretty badly :( 24 hours before i didnt eat anywhere else outside this hotel, so i think the reason is the hotel food, to be more precise- the fresh tomatoes. I think they were not well washed before :( If not this poisoning, the vacation would have been just perfect, but 2 days i could hardly move and i had really a lot of stress. In my opinion this hotel has only this food problem, in all other ways it is a very nice hotel with nice staff .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. It is great to know that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities in general and your room and enjoyed our staff’s friendliness. We are very sorry that you fell ill while staying with us but can be that it was not due to any hygiene issues within our hotel. We would like to take this chance to inform you that the food is always of perfect quality, which we monitor through monthly quality audits and analytics, carried out by an external company to evaluate the condition, storage and processing of the food we use in our hotel. It would be a great pleasure for us if we could welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

hotel Alea is great choice if you compare the price and what you get. Clean modern hotel after reconstruction of the rooms. From outside hotel doesnt look good simple style el arenal, but the room are perfect, new clean, big bathrooms. great and kind recepcionist. food wow for 3*!! breakfast perfect and for the dinner they changed every evening and the food was tasty!! pool small but nice. the hotel is in the edge of el arenal which was great for me, i dont like this place and beach.. its perfect base for your trip car need... i can only recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silwya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Silwya, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review. It is great to know that you were satisfied with your room, the food we offer and our staff’s friendliness and therefore enjoyed a great stay at our hotel. We will pass your praise to our staff and are looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We've spend 5 days in the Hotel Alea. We were a bit sceptical before arriving due to the good price and the things heard about the hotels in El Arenal. But I must say that the Hotel Alea proved to be exactly what we were looking for: a good comfortable hotel, far from the crazyness but within walking distance to the beach.

The location was for us great: 10 min walk from the El Arenal beach (sure, a steep walk, but by no means as difficult as some reviews might make you think), in a quiet location where you don't hear anything from the noise of the parties in El Arenal. There was also a more "quiet" beach nearby - down the hill and to the left, along the marina - where you could escape the party noises of the DJ wannabe german/dutch groups who think that everybody on the beach wants to listen to their music.

The rooms were acceptable. Rather small, but clean and well equiped. Small balcony with nice view (I guess we were lucky to have a room overviewing the forest). The airco was a big plus: very silent so that you can leave it on during the night and still be able to have a good sleep. The service was good - every day clean towels, toiletries (though the refill was less and less during our stay). Pitty that the WiFi was not free - this would be a big plus to the hotel.

The food was good. We were on half board and while the breakfast was a bit boring (though everything you might want was there, but with limited variation - one type of eggs, bacon and beans, various pastries, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, etc), the dinner was very good (enough variation, well cooked dishes, nice salads). Sure, it was not a 5-star hotel restaurant, but there was always something interesting to try. The drinks were cheap (1.3 for a water, 1.8 for a soda and 5-9 euro for a bottle of wine).

All in all, it was a good choice for us. If you are looking for a quiet hotel to spend a few days in El Arenal and don't mind walking 10 min to the beach, then I recommend Hotel Alea. I doubt that you will find a better price/quality ration in El Arenal.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms overlooking the forest offer the best views (the rest of the rooms are either tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tetra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to know Hotel Alea provided exactly what you needed and that you enjoyed your holidays in Mallorca very much. Thank you for your suggestions about our breakfast buffet, we apologize that you find it repetitive and we hope that didn’t spoil your holidays. We will be glad to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel has the nerve to cancel a reservation, 4 days prior to arrival.
I can only guess, but a 5 night stay is commercially not interesting enough?
By Spanish law, overbooking is a criminal act, and I have already set things in motion to address them to this, as they did not respond to the WHY of the overbooking.
Be warned. I sincerely hope no one will have to deal with a similar issue here.
On top of that, try to get a reasonable hotel mid July after such a message!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest, we apologize for the occupancy problems we had, in such situations we always try to find the best solution for our guests offering them a hotel in the same category or higher, we realize that this, sometimes, might not be good enough for our guests and we would like to take this chance to apologize once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I went to Mallorca on 12 September 2011 and this hotel was my home for 7 nights and 8 days.

First I've to say that I've paid 337€ for the Flight+Transfers+Hotel (Half Board).

With this in mind I just can say positive things about my holidays. The hotel is located in the end of a road and it's quiet and calm. I don't know if it's quiet in August, July or June but in September it's ok!

The staff is friendly, helpfull and most of them have a smile in the face. You have free Wifi (on the reception area) if you want to browse on the internet wich is a "must-have" nowadays (even if you're on holidays).

The food is OK. It's not a Gourmet thing but it's not garbage and I think that the most of the people will find something that suits their tastes! You can eat as much as you want so I really can't complain taking in mind what I've paid.

My Room was large and the toillet was OK too. Unfortunately the views weren't the best but you won't have a nice view unless you're on the pool side because everything else is surrounded by Cheap hotels. I've asked by e-mail some weeks before I arrived to have a room on the pool side but no one replied.

The rooms are cleaned everyday but in my opinion it's not very well cleaned. You can find dust everywhere and It looks like they only make beds (without changing their clothes) and change the toillet towels. This is the downside of this hotel in my opinion.

Most of the people are from Eastern Europe so you won't ear much English or German. There were Spanish and Portuguese couples but most of them were Russians, Romanians, etc.

Like I said, when you pay 337€ for a 8 Day holidays you can't complain and this hotel is a SIMPLE but very NICE, FRIENDLY and QUIET Hotel! Just don't expect luxuries...

I would go again to this Hotel and I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Filipe1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alea08, Director at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We thank you very much for your opinions. I am very sorry not to have answered your e-mails but unfortunatelu we have not recived any. Probably you have the wrong e-mail. It is not allowed to enclose any e-mail in Tripadvisor but you can get from the LUABAY HOTELS WEB.
We allways tried to please our clients and I personally am to teir whole disposition.
I am currently talking to the housekeeper about your critique.
Thank you again and hope to see you again.

Julián Santamaría / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We (myself, wife and 12 yr old son) stayed at Hotel Alea for four nights prior cruising out of Palma, we payed a total of 255 euros for the stay.
To begin the location of the Hotel is at the end of a small culdi sack with some rooms and balconies overlooking the road outside, other balconies look directly at neighbouring propertires with a 30 foot gap. Thankfully I had requested a pool view when booking and the hotel accomodated this request. The check in staff were friendly and helpfull, we in fact arrived early and were allowed to leave our luggage in a spare room until our room was ready. The hotel has free wi fi but it is only available in the reception area but this is all we needed to send the odd e-mail and check the news etc. The room itself was very clean and a good size, the shower was very powerfull and hot water was never a problem.
Be aware that the pool are is reasonably small with very limited sunbeds- only ten in total however the other guests tended to go to the beach so we never went without. Due to the location the pool area is shaded during the morning and the shadows start to grow by late afternoon with the sun worshipers moving the sunbeds and chairs around chasing the last possible rays.
We were half board and the food at the hotel is OK, I wouldnt say it was great but then again I wouldnt say it was bad, just OK. Both breakfast and evening meal were buffet and there was enough choice for all, we were the only UK family staying at the hotel so please do not expect many english options.
The beach is a five minute walk away downhill and this hill would not make the location suitable for any whellchair users, prams and light bugies should be more manageable. The beach at Arenal is fantastic with the water being warm and a very gentle, shallow slope as you enter the water so you can walk out for a considerable distance before reaching waist height.
A taxi from the airport will cost approx 14 euros but please confirm the price before leaving, note that no taxi in Majorca will accomodate more than four so if your a larger group I suggest you book with a private transfer company. If you are using public transport (which we found to be very cheap and good) take bus No21 - 1.6 euro from the airport and get off at the very last stop-when the driver throws you off! At this point you are on the sea front, about 1km away from the hotel. I suggest you catch a taxi the rest of the way as we found the hill a killer with our luggage. When you find your bearings bus route 26 passes within 200 meters of the hotel but I would never have found the correct stop until day two of my stay! I suggest you consult google maps before setting off on your journey as the hotel is tucked away out of sight of the main street.
In short you get what you pay for, this hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable in our opinion value for money. The pool and food were OK and that was all we wanted for our four night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yogibach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alea08, Director at Hotel Mix Alea, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
All the staff and myself thank you very much for your opinions. All the critiques helps us to improve our services.
Julián Santamaría
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#7 of 44 in El Arenal
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mix Alea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mix Alea

Property: Hotel Mix Alea
Address: Carrer Jose Maria Cuadrado, 4 | EL Arenal, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Be Smart Alea)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mix Alea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Smart Alea, renovated in 2006, offers comfortable, modern and quiet rooms. Relax in the pleasant terrace where it is possible to benefit from hours of fun and sun, enjoying a drink, a cocktail or a tasty snack in the solarium oh the hotel's bar. Thanks to its goos location, it provides access to the most beatiful places of the island very easily. Perfectly connected with the Palma city center by public transport, just few meters away from the hotel. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mix Alea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Alea
Hotel Mix Alea El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing