We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alegria closed must go to hotel santa monica.this is the note on the hotel door.”
Review of Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Monica
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“alegria closed must go to hotel santa monica.this is the note on the hotel door.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we went to this other hotel.santa monica just over the road.fawlty towers has not got a look in toilets in room.dont flush had to pore water out of my kettle to flush it complaint 4 days only 2toilets beside the bar 1 ladies 1 gents for the whole hotel no soap no hand towels.on showers at pool side working .bar staff just waliked away to smoke tabs .had to set tables if you stayed for your meals.food cold not nice atall.a/I had to go out to get food. fire doors on landing wedged open with armchairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathleengrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    55
    41
    100
See reviews for
48
78
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just arrive from my holiday in El arenal. This hotel was absolutely horrible. Noise, the staff wasn't very friendly and the food was only junk food and every 9 day's is the same. Just this hotel was the best horrible hotel ever in my live.
Just one advice to anyone who want to go there - if you want good holiday don't go in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good Points:
• The only redeeming feature about the hotel was that the staff tried their best and seemed every bit as disgusted as I was by the behaviour of young drunken German's.

Bad Points:
• The first night we arrived we were given a room with no cot for our 6 week old baby, even though we had requested a room with a cot.
• When we arrived at the room we realised that the only lock on the balcony door was one identical to a tiny bar lock you may find in a toilet cubicle.
• When we went for breakfast in the morning the variety was terrible, with the breakfast menu being aimed solely at German tourists.
• The lunch and evening meal was the same.
• The toilet hygeine was disgraceful, my girlfriend discovered a large "poo" stain on the toilet bowl of the pool toilets and the stain was still visible 3 days later!
• The hotel was severely understaffed!
• Young drunken German's were openly urinating, throwing drinks, throwing cigarettes and spitting from their balconies, with a can norrowly missing my 3 year old stepson!
• Young drunken German's caused havoc in the corridors at night, repeatedly banging peoples doors, shouting and generally being noisy.
• Young drunken German's throwing their rubbish in the pool, I found 2 boiled eggs and a few cigarette ends and also witnessed one lad throwing a full plastic beaker of beer into the pool at his friend.
• We paid for all inclusive and there was no snacks available throughout the day other than packets of crisps which cost €1 at the bar even for all inclusive customers.

I would not advise any British tourist to use this hotel as the hotel does not cater in any way for anyone other than young German's looking to party.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CraigKitson1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

On our first day of arriving there was no were to sit to eat and we were told to leave and come back at the end of food service by which time nothing was left. The food left our whole party with an upset stomach... not too mention the food wasnt even fit to feed a dog! The staff made no effort to be friendly or even try to help when you needed help. There was no management, so they said, and we were just told to write a complaint on a piece of paper and give it to reception. The hotel opposite was extremly noisy all night so you couldnt get any sleep either. The pool closed before dinner at 7 which was ridiculous because then the only place you could sit to havw a drink was out the front of the hotel. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and would definatly not recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebeccas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Should have had a 4 night stay in the Alegria, but closed thankfully and moved to Santa Monica. The lowest point was the food, not a good choice but you won't go hungry. The drink on the other hand was great, been to other cheap hotels where they scrimp on measures or limit how many glasses you can have, which gets annoying if you want to get "a round in", but great here. You will get your money's worth! Haha. We meet great people from all over Britain had a good laugh, a great chill out short break. Rooms cleaned daily and sun around the pool all day, you just have to follow the sun, which is great for getting to know your fellow travellers around the pool! Staff were friendly enough and at reception helped us with most queries (good English) Wouldn't recommend for families no entertainment for kids and pool small, but great for couples. Only short walk to beach, close to small shopping centre and airport, we got a taxi only 19 euro to airport (15 mins max.) This hotel like all is what you make of it, sun, pool, bed, shower,drink and food we were happy and hello to our fellow tourists we meet beginning May 2013 GOOD TIMES :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you don't expect to much then you won't be disappointed. Desperately in need of a full refurb. You get the feeling the hotel is just,about staying in business. Wouldnt stay again but ok for the price. Pool is freezing and shaded most of the day. 2 star accommodation at a bargain price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gunterkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

10 days of bordom food best part soup. Most of meals poor meat balls fish meat allways in sauce not nice. Drinks only at pool through day so up n down if you wanted to sit at front of shed the best way to call the hotel bar open 1900 close 2300.no entertainment at all no snacks or any eats rooms small and dated never opened curtains view was very dingy but had a good .shower with hot water. But from taps very slow bordering on a trickle. F0RTU bar and reseraunt manager was a Very nice and very good with us we had met some very good people while we where there namley BOB and RON I could say more but you will get the gist

Room Tip: dont now of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kendorossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#8 of 44 in El Arenal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manaus
Manaus
#25 of 44 in El Arenal
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica

Property: Santa Monica
Address: Avenida De Europa 6, 7600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing