We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but loud. Good food, not much for drinks. Good for its price”
Review of Caribbean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Bay
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, but loud. Good food, not much for drinks. Good for its price”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

It's obvious this hotel has just reopened after renovation over winter and so in General has a fresh, new feeling about it. They seemed to have been trying to increase activities judging by other reviews by having more than just one disco a week, but beyond that there's honestly little in the way of evening entertainment (including the local area, and yes there is a prostitution issue as mentioned with men on the streets often trying to lure holidaymakers into brothels so watch out) beyond either watching TV in your room or reading by the pool. So not much of a family resort I'd say as there is unfortunately very little to do in el arenal, but the bus to Palma leaves just across outside the hotel so eat regular intervals.

Internet is a bit pricy only one device for each 15 euros for a a week so not great if you both have phones/tablets etc.

As for the rest? Rooms are cleaned regularly with a good bathroom and HD TV. Beds....not the greatest in tens of comfort. Blankets are actually several layers of sheets you'll end up having to unwrap yourself from and there were no other blankets as mentioned in another review. Safes were all offline hotel wide and locks/alarms didn't work properly on patio doors, substituted with a flimsy catch. So security is a worry if you're on a ground floor and have lots of cash/valuables. You will NOT get a lie in at this hotel if that's what you like on holiday. The noise from 6am onwards makes this impossible due to the thin walls especially if your room is poolside and the staff come out to wipe out the entire area daily with long poles which they aren't at all careful about bashing off the railings. Plumbing is also very noisy and room cleaners can and will turn up at any point even up until 6pm

Okay, cons aside. The food is fantastic and indeed, despite what I was expecting, lunch and dinner varied a lot from day to day and I thought it was all very tasty and you'll never be without a full English in the mornings.

The unlimited drinks are easy to access with self service fountains in the bar, restaurant and around the main pools. Table red and white is self service in the restaurant and beer is all San Miguel as can be expected though will have to pay for other wines. No cider if that's your thing but plenty of mixer drinks (vodka, rum etc. including baileys)



Staff are all very courteous though there's always normally a bit of a cue at reception for help and there's a locked luggage room for their with late departures as well as a room with an air hockey/pool table. Two pool areas, roof and terrace (though you may end up chasing the sun and moving beds a lot in the terrace was it's surrounded in most sides by walls, this is the in one with the bar. Roof pool is great for catching rays though there is a bad smell around the pool itself a all the AC vents emerge there but it's only limited to the pool itself and not the larger patio area just round the corner which is nice and quiet.

In summary it is the quintessential 3 star hotel: clean and well serviced but with things that will irritate. Food is great, drink selection is good if you like mixers. Nothing really to DO per say unless you're there to chill by the pool and soak up rays. Good transport to Pslma. Beach is just round the corner and down a bit and is gorgeous (though you will be bugged every five mins by the roaming beach massagers)

All in all, good value for money, not a nightmare hotel and you won't hate it by any stretch but just don't expect this trip to...stand out and leave a lingering impression. Final word: a great getting-away-from-it-all hotel and you'll enjoy your trip so long as you plan excursions in advance and be ready to travel to Palma.

Room Tip: Get one well off ground floor, sea facing, don't let them fob you off if you've requested ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller26557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    173
    143
    61
    60
See reviews for
114
220
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is a cheap 3 star hotel and I have scored it as this. By giving it a 4, very good, I am not saying it is a 4 star. It is however a good 3 star.
Rooms: go for a high room, preferably sea facing. It is only a couple of blocks back from the beach and has an ok view. Rooms ending 04 and 05 are very good, avoid lower floor rooms looking over the road and any room ending with 10/11 as they have a corner balcony with no sun. The rooms are very clean and most are bright and newly decorated. Bed cloths are sheets and there are blankets in the wardrobe. Safe provided, air con good, no fridge. Nice tv's only three british channels.
Pools: there was plenty of loungers on the roof terrace on the 10th floor, which has a small pool and the main pol on the 1st floor with a bar. Both quit pleasant though this depends on the clientel useing it at the time. The 10th floor pool is generally more peaceful.
Food and Drink: go with an open mind and it's good. Even though some of it may look less English it is all very tasty including the meets. Always chips and rolls. Breakfast, beans, sausages, bacon, eggs all good. Also continental breakfast items. There is a microwave at the far end of the restaurant if you prefer your food hotter. Coffee is not good. Drinks are available at pool bar during the day and 1st floor bar in the evening until 11am. Beer, vodka, tequila, gin etc etc etc. a two drink limit and no pints but you can go up as many times as you want.
Staff: the bar staff are lovely, the management can be a little annoying if they get involved and in the evening there is often a que, but it moves pretty quickly.
Access: there are 4 lifts and ramps all over so access is very good. There is only one lift that goes all the way down to the restaurant so there can be a little delay at meal times.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank young2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights over Easter which were okay, but if we were here for our main holiday we would have been disappointed.

Though the hotel was reasonably well maintained, and the staff friendly enough, it completely lacked atmosphere. The lobby, reception and bar were all basically one space, with the feel and décor of a McDonald's or an airport departure lounge.

Drinks were always served in small plastic cups (like you get from vending machines), which is understandable around the pool area for safety reasons, but not of an evening in the bar.

The food was well cooked and piping hot, but very limited choice, and the quality was probably on par with a hospital canteen (which matched the atmosphere to be honest).

The immediate surroundings were very run down, however, the beach is just 5 mins walk away which is beautiful.

If you have not booked this hotel yet, I honestly think you could do better for the money (we certainly have in the past) but if you have already booked, don't panic, there are definitely worse places to stay, and I don't think it's the sort of place that is so bad that it would ruin anyone's holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you like the 1970's, you'll love this hotel. It's like a step back in time, complete with red and white leatherette furniture and wood effect panelling. On the positive side, the hotel is very clean, with a good maid service every day. The communal areas are very clean, as is the dining area. The meals are buffet style, and tend to be a little repetitive, although there's always something for everybody. My wife and I are both vegetarian, and on some days there was very little other than chips...it was often difficult to tell what certain dishes were as they weren't labelled. However, on the whole, dining was a pleasant experience (the food was always hot). We went all inclusive with drinks being served in little plastic cups, with only 2 drinks per order. The only snacks available during the day were cold ones...cheese and ham slices with bread, fruit etc. There weren't any hot snacks between meal times. The one issue I had was with noise. The walls seemed to be paper thin, and some of the guests got very drunk and would often roll in late arguing and shouting...entertaining but not great for a good night's sleep! The other negative was the resort itself. The beach was lovely (albeit with a lot of litter) but parts of the resort look like a shanty town, with buildings in various states of disrepair and grafitti. There also seems to be an issue with prostitution in the resort. Although we wouldn't go back to El Arenal, I can honestly say that we've had a good 4 night stay at the Caribbean Bay...You can also use the facilities at the sister hotel, the Palm Bay, although this does not include the restaurant. You'll probably need to go there for games etc. as there are hardly any (or any entertainment) at the Caribbean Bay. A good choice for a short stay, with good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked without setting my standards too high because for four night AI it was a bargain.
My heart sank when the taxi was driving round the near by streets which had all seen better days but when we pulled up outside I had a massive sigh of relief.
The hotel is very modern and unbelievably clean. The staff are fab and really looked after us. The drinks selection was great even though everything stops at 11pm...there are about four supermarkets in the vicinity and plenty of bars on the sea front which is minutes away from the hotel.
There was always a selection of food available (the snack bar left a bit to be desired) some of the concoctions at dinner weren't to my taste like the squid hotpot type dish but hey ho there was always fresh salads and again for the price paid I wasn't expecting Michelin stars. Would we go again? Definitely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma104_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Clean hotel, nice enough staff, food was ok. In a nice location, just a few minutes walk from the beach. Only bad incident was when they ruan out of toilet roll and said there was nothing they could do ha! As well there are no food/drink facilities after 11 o clock, not even water. Lunch and dinner were much better than breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week as a female family of 3 we made many friends and that helped to have an excellent stay at this hotel. It was exceptionally clean can't complain about the food there was always something for everyone. The only critiscm was that the all inclusive bar served your drinks in plastic cups at all times of the day. The weekend entertainment was a disco which turned out be very enjoyable dj played almost all English music. I think you will be hard pressed to complain about the hotel, there are plenty of shops bars and restaurants within 5mins of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank June25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.4 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#68 of 77 in Playa de Palma
2,812 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
#10 of 44 in El Arenal
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Bay

Property: Caribbean Bay
Address: Calle Trencadors 48, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Saga Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been refurbished recently. The rooms have a full bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air conditioning. There is a large bar lounge with recreational areas and two swimming pools: one is located on the upper terrace of the hotel to let you enjoy with friends or with your partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribbean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel El Arenal
Saga El Arenal
Caribbean Bay El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing