We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2star max”
Review of Caribbean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Bay
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2star max”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend went there for a week to chill we arrived at 11pm to total carnage we walked past all the people sat on the walls into the reception to find a rude lady but that was fine went up to room roasting no aircon but pleasant lookin rooms till you look out the window it looks like your in a war zone . We were the only 2 English people there for the first 4 days it was full of German 18-30s sleepin outside and partying all night then throwing fag butts and plastic cups at sunbathers . I've had luxury and cheap holidays and loved everyone but this ... I would not recommend as food boring no selection and all inc drinks were very limited even havin to pay for anything half decent and value for money no way sorry peeps I know it's what you make it but we did try . On the positive the beach where we spent most of the time just to get away from there was fab and lovely bars and people there .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    174
    143
    62
    61
See reviews for
115
221
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

ok hotel, location very near to beach, food good, NO air contioning in the room! Most of the staff friendly, entertainment was a guy on a laptop playing loud music, hotel is not for families. On our last day had our suitcase stolen from baggage room reported to receptionist who didnt seem surprised? there were cameras in the room but said couldnt access it only the police, and also same day another couple had their bags stolen by the pool, when they went to police station full of placeother people that had things stolen from the beach, as it is a busy place have to br careful of your personal belongings!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Arenal hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very disappointed!!! Full of rude Germans and eastern Europeans, and has a long way to go to becoming a family hotel.
On arrival, young drunks smothered our arrival. We had a 2yr old daughter, who was extremely intimidated and scared by some of the antics, and the entrance was like an opium den!! I smoke, but really, there must have been at least 40-50 people stood smoking before we could even get through the door.
Check in was ok, receptionist very pleasant, but music was blaring from the so-called entertainment (a nice young man on a laptop, playing extremely loud music through the internet!!!!), made it very hard to hear what she was saying.
Arrived at our room, on the 9th floor around 10pm, which was very hot. No air conditioning seemed to be working, unpacked a little before retiring downstairs for refreshments, as it had been a long day.
Managed to get 1 drink before the all inclusive drinks expired at 11pm, and I was soooo disappointed at having to queue like a schoolboy to get a drink, IN A VERY SMALL PLASTIC CUP!!!!! This however didn't affect the Germans, who didn't feel the need to queue.
Things from here on, didn't get any better.
During our weeks stay, we had 4 power cuts (which meant the lifts didn't work either), after making numerous complaints about the air conditioning in our room, the excuse which came back was either, the generator had failed, or the generator isn't powerful enough to work on public area's a-swell as the rooms at the same time. GOBSMACKED. I later found out that if you're on the 9th floor, the air con is non existent, but as you come down, floor by floor, it gets slightly better. The only down side to that is the lower down you come, the noisier things become, and getting sleep would be almost impossible.
On the plus side, the rooms were clean, with a very unpractical designer sink. Towels were changed almost everyday.
Food???? Oh My God!!!! Horrendous/Awful/Inedible. Caters very much for Germans and Eastern Europeans. Tasteless and cold. If you like Chips, Fruit and Ice Cream, then you'll be ok.
Drinks. During the days, if the drinks machines broke down, or were damaged by the Germans (which happened almost everyday), then you had to pop over the road to buy water or soft drinks. No attempt to open the drinks machines in the main bar area or restaurant to compensate were made, which in my eyes was totally disgusting. Also, I question, why was white rum free, yet local dark rum was an extra 1 Euro??? All inclusive should mean all inclusive.
During the week, damage to the handle rail bar leading in to the swimming pool got worse and worse until it actually became dangerous and swung back and forth with ease. This caused tiles to break, and lies dangerously sharp on the steps. After 3 days, it was addressed, cordoned off by sunbeds, chairs and masking tape!! This however didn't stop the Germans!!!!
On our 5th day, my daughter after visiting the local hospital with a very serious rash, was diagnosed with Urticaria. Food? Water in the pool??, plus I gained a very painful earache, as did 3 others I got talking to.
The only positives I can give to this hotel, is that most of the staff were great. When I apologised for having to complain, yet again, and again, they were very understanding expressing their sympathy at me, the paying customer. Also, the location is good, close to a very nice beach, the weather was fantastic, and we met some fantastic people (English & Scottish).
Finally, I have to sympathise with the Scottish family who arrived the day before we left. 6 adult's, and 2 children who spent £8,000 on 2 weeks at this hotel. God help you.
MLL Hotels have to make serious changes and address all the issues and I'm sure I wont be the last to post a review like this.

Darren, Lancashire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is not as bad as the reviews but it is NOT A FAMILY HOTEL!!! We were sold this as a family holiday but it was full of randy, rude 18-30 Germans. Initially it was a nightmare with cold food and no air conditioning!!! We had to move from eighth floor to seventh floor - no biggy to get some sleep (still not great) The hotel staff are lovely and try very hard to please, the pool is on level 1 and it has a pool bar, only thing is it is 1.54m pool so NOT suitable for small children. We were the only English speaking people there till the day before we left so not a typical English hotel. We didn't care about this really as we just wanted a family holiday, there were no kids other than ours so we spent a bit of time at beach which to our horror was full of glass!!! All in all this is not a bad hotel, they are trying very hard to improve the reputation and bring in family's but its just not set up for families with pool and NO entertainment to talk about. (One guy sitting with speakers and a laptop playing music as loud as he can is not entertainment) the hotel is clean and tidy and before we left the food was coming out warmer!!! Bonus!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise and you get great entertainment watching drunk people fall over from wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickiemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is ranked as a 3star but the good service, food ,rooms feels like a 5star.
The brand new rooms are cleaned everyday and the towels were changed everyday.
No complains about the various food every day.
For a swim you can go to the nice pool. The location of the hotel is outside the noisy area of
Arenal so you can have a good night sleep.
At the last day we even got towels and could take a shower in the evening to catch our late flight.

So it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sasje1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Cold and Bad food, staff not too friendly and only with basic English, small room, on day time only one bar at the small pool,charge for everything 4euro a day for safe 3 euro per device for wi fi
We worst hotel we stayed so far really do not go there!!!only good side is the location next to lovely beach

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius County, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I liked this hotel becauce of its very helpful staff, good location, quite tasty food. What is more the rooms are cleaned every day, its brand new and good looking. All A'renal is very noisy city and there are many young people, but i could sleap easily, there was no such a big noise outsite. One minus for me - that you have to go out of the pool area after 7p.m. All in all, I realy liked my holidays here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justas187463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.4 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#69 of 77 in Playa de Palma
2,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#14 of 44 in El Arenal
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
#10 of 44 in El Arenal
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Bay

Property: Caribbean Bay
Address: Calle Trencadors 48, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Saga Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has been refurbished recently. The rooms have a full bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air conditioning. There is a large bar lounge with recreational areas and two swimming pools: one is located on the upper terrace of the hotel to let you enjoy with friends or with your partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribbean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel El Arenal
Saga El Arenal
Caribbean Bay El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing