We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Manaus(El Arenal)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pinero Tal(El Arenal)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Garau(El Arenal)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
azuLine Hotel Bahamas & Bahamas II(El Arenal)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Xapala(El Arenal)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mix Alea(El Arenal)(Great Value!)
$77
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$88
$74
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$89
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
369
318
151
54
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
318
151
54
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiterooms are smallsaladfishshort breakquiet hotelstandard roomon an all inclusive basisbar staffsteep hillfab hotelfive minute walkbars and restaurantsbus stopnice holidayplenty of choicemeal times
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 938 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Due to a complication in the booking process we had 6 nights in one hotel and had our final night at this hotel. Coming from the hotel we'd been in, this one was a breath of fresh air. Knowing how rowdy Arenal can get on a night time I was very concerned that I would be kept awake all night but that wasn't the case. This was a beautifully quiet hotel, no queing for the meals, sun loungers available around the pool, no-one in the pool and clean and well decorated. The hotel is right next to the beach and bars. Its a real shame we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend just to get away. We looked at some of the reports after we had booked and did wonder how it would be. Please remember if your booking a hotel at these kind of prices you are not getting the Ritz. The food was adequate, but we decided to eat out at night because of the money we saved by staying here. There is noise at night as it is a budget hotel so therefore attracts the younger end of the market on a budget. if you don't want this kind of nightlife give it a wide berth, or do as we did and played them at their own game. For any of you Xenophobes out there please avoid this area as it has a multi cultural feel with people form all over europe partying here, mainly Germans and Dutch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prestonb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Good standard rooms with nice modern facility's. Adult's only hotel. Food better then previous reviews say. All sorts to choose from including duck and swordfish. Great selection of drinks in the all inclusive. Including all branded drinks that we have in uk. Even cater for mrs thats pregnant, shes loving the alchol free san miguel. After reading reviews was a little dubious about booking but would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we have just returned from the mediterranean bay hotel and we were very disappointed. this hotel is not 4 star and is a 3 star at best, all the drinks are served in small plastic cups even in the evening when you can find the bar staff as most of the time they are not available. we witnessed one guest having to get his own drink from the bar as you can stand for 10 to 15 minutes waiting for a drink. Please note that not all the drinks are all inclusive eg sangria and a lot of the cocktails have to be paid for which was silly as sangria is a local drink. As with other reviews the bathroom doors have a tendancy to get stuck when locked and you have to get someone from reception to open the door. The rooms are tiny and the fridge door touches the bed when opened, we hurt our toes on this on numerous occasions. we found the pool area small around twenty beds and during the day you could smell sewage around the pool area. El Arenel is noisy during the day and at night lots of shouting coming from other hotels beside ours, not a relaxing holiday experience to say the least. Also like other reviews the food is only luke warm and we did not feel we had to have to heat our food in a microwave in a 4 star hotel. Also check the back of your plates as a few times we found them to be dirty. we went to a 4 star all inclusive hotel last year and it was perfect drinks in glasses in the evening and proper cocktails all inclusive meant all inclusive. we will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake211_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a lovely time at the Mediterranean Bay, the room was very modern and comfortable but on the small side however this doesn't pose a problem. Another great thing was there were 2 pools with plenty of sunbeds and the beach was only a 5 minute walk away. The food was decent however i thought breakfast to be slightly below my expectations, in addition we had trouble locating where snacks were supposed to be available for guests. The bar service was good and we never had to wait a long time to be served.

Our stay was very relaxed and enjoyable in the hotel and noticeably one of, if not the best looking hotel in the area by a long shot which tends to keep the crazy young Germans out although they can be found drinking buckets of spirits around town before midday. The hotel staff were extremely hard working and did there best to help us when we needed it, cleaning staff where very polite and cleaned the room quickly and to a very good standard.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms at the front of the hotel on the top floor would probably get a great view on the town/beach. Although it can be noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finian_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews