We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable off-season business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights whilst on business in Arenal and it was perfectly adequate for my needs, at a very reasonable price. Arriving by taxi from the airport (about €18) meant no problem with parking. The room was clean, had a balcony, and was well serviced with plenty of hot water. A safe in the room is paid for at €2 per day. Breakfast was fine although not very hot. I cannot comment on the other meals. There are some good local restaurants. Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel. 4* rating should be treated with caution as in other Spanish hotels. Much of Arenal is closed at this time of year and if you are looking for entertainment this will be very limited. The largest proportion of the people in the hotel were sailors training here at the local club in preparation for an important regatta at Easter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 868 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

this hotel is full of thieves..They stole our luggage, valuables and documents on the last day(last half hour until we are leaving) of departure.and nobody could answer it until today .MIster from reception said that is not his bussnis .How is this possible? even refused to call the police .They made our holiday a disaster!!And since now never respond us for that things and documents!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miky_mihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel in September 2012. We cannot complain about the hotel, it was modern, newly renovated and clean, plus we got an upgrade to a junior suite instead of the standard room that we had booked. The hotel is well situated in the center of town. However, we were not pleased by the surroundings (and El Arenal in general). The town has no charm and is full of traffic, the streets and the beach are crowded and dirty, and most appartment buildings are not nice to look at. There is no parking at the hotel and it can take a while and some walking to find a parking place in the busy streets. Great hotel if you are there for partying, but El Arenal was not a good choice for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were also booked for Palma bay but one of the hostels, door would not close. Reception moved us no problem to here Great good hotel no comparison, food was good with plenty of choice restaurant staff well organised, Beer on tap and help yourself to wine, no complaints. Bar was understaffed poor guy rushed off his feet but was HAPPY. The rooms were more than adequate no street noise unfortunately noise travelled between the rooms no privacy needed to keep music on low at all times. fantastic shower could have stayed in it all day piping hot water.
Reception staff could have been more helpful. Arenal area did nothing for us very little to do other than bus it to the city , Dogs running on the beach ugh. Last week of the hotel and it showed ran out of a few items,little entertainment which was the main reason for original booking but on visiting Palma Bay in daylight thank goodness we were moved.

Room Tip: Side room overlooking pool for sunny balcony for part of day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dargai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having just got back from the hotel i agree with some of the things that VCL has written. i would like to add that the hot food was never hot, a microwave was available to use but not advertised food mainly for germans, spanish, nothing really for english people. no entertainment, staff at front desk very rude and unhelpful. although we were originally booked into Palma bay and this was supposed to be an upgrade to an adults only hotel you could hear everything going on in other rooms, VERY NOISY.after three days i was desperate to get home.went back to the palma bay to see what it was like thank god i didn't have to stay there i would have never have booked it if i had known what it was like. the area had mainly closed for the season so there was very little to do, beach looks nice but very dirty in parts,went for a walk around the area some of which looked like a war torn area and was really filthy dog mess along the pavements rubbish everywhere. MY OPINION IS AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE. THE ONLY GOOD BIT WAS THE NICE MAN AT THE BAR WHO WAS ALWAYS PLEASANT.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were "upgraded" to this hotel because the Palma Bay Hotel was full. When we arrived we were suprised but thankful our room was ready. Our Initial thoughts were the rooms although small were clean, maid service everyday. We were at the side of the hotel and had a slight view of the pool. However the hotel next to us was so close you could practically reach across to their balconies. If it had been open we would have had to have kept the curtains shut at all times for privacy. Noise was a problem as you could hear the toilets, showers and almost conversations in the next room. The food was ok, at the beginning of the week although limited choice there was pleanty of it. By the end of the stay it was obvious the hotel shut at the weekend because they ran out of a lot of basic things. The waiter was good allocating tables and asking people to sit in the bar if none were free, he seemed to know what order people were in. The barman was overworked, on his own you often had to queue for a drink and there was a definate shortage of glasses. If you got a decent size one it was important to not let it go. Often the larger was served in short glasses or plastic cups meaning a lot of time spent queueing for drinks. On various nights they ran out of various spirits, and when you had to pay for drinks after 23.00 it was quite expensive. There was only entertainment one night we were there and because it was not close to the main nightlife (remaining open) it limited our options for going out. We accepted this as it was obviously the end of the season and the outside terrace was pleasant to sit on. We met some nice people which helped. It was close to a beach and bus stop which was useful to travel into main Palma. I think if they had had one more member of bar staff, the ability to help yourself to water and improved entertainment especially as everyone we spoke to had booked to go to the busier Palma Bay Hotel it would have been a better experience. However after visiting that hotel we were so glad we were moved. For a very last minute booking we can't complain too much as the staff were friendly although we did ask for extra blankets and pillows.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarerawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We originally booked Palma bay hotel and after a terrible journey and then turning up there it was disappointing. Luckily when we checked in and they said we had been upgraded to a 4 star Mediterranean. 'Great' we thought. On arrival the interior is of a high standard and looks new.

Shame that it is stuck in the middle of the street surroundings, with no nice views at all.

Our room was overlooking the street and some apartments. It was very small but nice interior. The balconies felt very open to your neighbours.
The shower was excellent and bathroom all very modern. The bed was uncomfortable, but the maids cleaned the room everyday - but they knock and just let themselves in straight away.
The hotel was extremely noisy, could hear neighbours talking, going to the toilet, crashing, banging, doors slamming.

The breakfast was the best meal of the day, shame about the lunch and dinner. The food was very bland and we went out most days for dinner - spending more than we budgeted for.
The man who showed us the tables was friendly and helpful but we often had to ask for more wine/ wine glasses. The restaurant staff were polite but some of the reception staff were quite rude!

We asked for a snack one afternoon- apparently they do snacks, but they don't advertise it. The guy bought out two sandwiches with stale bread and processed ham and cheese inside- the sandwich was not even cut in half- was awful. He got quite annoyed when we complained about it. We didn't eat it.

The drinks aren't anything special and you are given them in small plastic cups. The beer is the best! Drinks are only served 10am-11pm and the barman gets people to queue at the bar in single file! After 11pm you have to pay for all drinks - even water!
Entertainment every other day, and other times its just quiet with no music or atmosphere.

The beach is about 10 mins walk away - it is the worst beach I've ever seen - its better the further you walk down though. But otherwise there was litter, dog poo and glass!


To be honest if it wasn't for the lovely people that we met, we would have wanted to leave after the second day.
We are happy to be home now - shame as they could make the hotel so much better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#5 of 44 in El Arenal
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
OLA Hotel Maioris
OLA Hotel Maioris
#1 of 44 in El Arenal
1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indico Rock Hotel Mallorca
Indico Rock Hotel Mallorca
#37 of 78 in Playa de Palma
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: $71 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing