We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel, excellent food and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First class hotel, excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel, the food at the hotel was exceptional, although there wasn't as much choice as previous hotels I have stayed in all inclusive there was still plenty of variety with choices of fish, meat and chicken everyday, bacon, sausage, beans, eggs plus the continental selection at breakfast, all of which was very tasty.

The hotel staff were very friendly and allowed us a room to shower in the last day as we had an evening flight.

The rooms were spacious and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

The only down side was that the all inclusive package ended when we checked out, it would have been a nice gesture if they had allowed you to continue until you left the hotel.

El Arenal is a 18-30 resort for germans so be prepared for the chants and the beach full of young people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your recommendations. All them are welcome and our management hotel tries all his best to study and improve the service and facilities.

We hope to have another opportunity to see you soon at the Mediterranean Bay.

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    280
    135
    47
    46
See reviews for
81
508
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel as a late deal and paid a little extra for the four star.
An adult only hotel in a quiet location near the beach at El Arenal and regular bus service to Palma made it an ideal base for travelling throughout the island.
The position of runways at nearby Palma airport have planes nowhere near this resort irrespective of wind direction.
The restaurant is on ground level with a lovely water feature in view. The choices vary at meal times and you can be assured of a great, healthy option to sample local and international foods. Wines are chilled or at room temperature for your preference, beer is on tap, soft drinks and water in abundance. Dress sense is smart, after all, you book a four star you shoyld respect that so did everyone else.
The pools at front and rear for hotel patrons are small and private.
The bar is well stocked and always manned.
The staff were very polite and helpful.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlasgowGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with all readers in TripAdvisor and for your recommendations.

Please, feel free to contact us by email cmalenque@mllbayhotels.com for any further assistance.

We will be so grateful to see you soon at the Mediterranean Bay.

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hello all
We stayed here for one night before moving to a different 4star hotel in Alcudia. First of all , if you are after a quite beach with splendid views and so on , Arenal is not the right place. Only go there if you are after clubbing , drinking and nightlife. Not good for families with small children either. The beach is not bad but is way behind a lot of other beaches in Majorca and lacks the beauty of a proper Majorcan beach
In regards to the hotel will put it as bullet point format:
- Hotel is fairly new , couple of years old
-The bathroom doesn't have a bath but is very nice designed and stands out from the rest of the room
-The room itself has nothing special, is clean but is VERY small , The smallest we ever stayed in.
-The only difference between all inclusive and half full board is that you get inclusive drinks from 10pm to 11pm which is not worth it in my view. The all inclusive menu is also limited
- A suggestion to the hotel will be to serve PROPER sangria that has fruits in it , not the crap they serve which is definetly not a sangria! Being a spanish hotel you must be ashemead of serving such rubbish sangria which is your famous national drink.
- The food is OK , plenty of choice but a little behind to a similar 4star hotel we are now staying. But, unless you are very demanding and Food is your number one priority it is more that enough and taste nice.
-wi fi is free and is everywhere , which is good as the hotel we are now staying charges extra so I guess this might also be practiced by other hotels in Majorca.
-the hotel doesn't have a see view as far as I am concerned as there is another one hotel blocking the view. The hotel where we stay now which is in Alcudia has superb views which you won't find in Arenal.
-the closest beach ,shops,bars etc are just couple of minutes walking
-Staying there only one day and eating 3 times , the juice machines where empty 2 of 3 times , and we always came to eat somewhere in the middle of the meal times so We had to get water, coke,beer instead.
-the hotel has a small outside (about 5x3m) pool with about 10-15 sunbeds ! Obviously not enough for everyone but being in the middle of the town I guess the space is scare and most of other 4star hotels in Arenal should have similar space for outside pools
-One stupid thing they practice is that the guests have to go to the reception to take a remote and leave 20euros deposit. This is a non sense . If they are so paranoic about their (not more than 5pounds from ebay) TV remotes , I would suggest them to find a less idiotic way to keep track of them.
-Another thing that needs to be improved is the customer service from the stuff at the reception. Although , helpfull they lack that extra that is needed to deal with customers. I mean : sad faces, plain replies , lack of using words like : please , sorry , thanks etc.
But , we also found the same problem with a lot of staff from the hotel we are staying now .
Leaving in Britain for almost 7 years we are used to a high level of politeness and a almost perfect customer service. I guess Spain and In our case Majorca is a long way behind Britain in this particular category and I suggest all local hotels paying more attention to that. A smile , a Sorry or Please word really makes a big difference.
For the final I left my main concern , that really annoyed me.
His name is PEDRO ,the supervisor from the restaurant , this guy obviously doesn't have to be working there as he definetely Lacks the skills of dealing with customers. You can see him all the time going around the restaurant , like making the boss , looking all the time around like a prison officer that is supervising the prisoners. When we first come to dine and where looking around for a table he approached us quickly and said in a rude style that we MUST ask him where to seat. When we asked if we can stay outside he again rudely replied that there are no free tables . We replied that there is a free table and insisted to stay outside and he again was making faces and finally told us in a rudely way again , that we can seat outside.
When finishing the dinner he came to clear the table , he took a plate which had some food left and made a comment : Mama Mia !! accompanied by an ugly face like why did we take some much food if we didn't eat it all. This is totally unappropriate and this is definetely not his business to comment on that. We strongly suggest the hotel to take actions against him as he is totally not up to the job he is doing.
He is the reason we decided to take off one star and only give overall 3 instead of 4 .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nykk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your stay at the Mediterranean Bay.

All positive and negative points are welcome because we are still learning from them and from all recommendations of our customers.

Regarding the sangria drink and juice machines, we notify to our hotel manager to improve the services.

Reference to the remote control, we would like to explain that it’s only a deposit that you get back when you return it at the reception.

We beg your pardon for the inconvenience caused with our staff and our hotel manager will study this situation.

Many thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to have another opportunity to upgrade your experience in the next future.

Kind regards,
A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I have just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel which we enjoyed with our friends another couple. The hotel is immaculate, worth the 4star rating, extremely clean, lovely and mostly all the staff were helpful. We were all inclusive which was definitely worth the money, there was a big range of food you could have for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was beer on tap, soft drinks and also wine in the restaurant as well as the bar for whilst you were having meals.
On arrival both the rooms we had were upgraded free of charge to junior suites which were gorgeous, however dont bother hiring the tv remote for 20 euros there is only 1 english station BBC news which just gets repeated. Towels for around the pool can be hired for 15 euros, all deposits are given back when checking out. Hairdryer in room is ok and an ironing board and iron and be borrowed (no deposit) from reception.
The hotel is only 15mins from airport, taxi cost between 15-20 euros so dont bother with transfers. The beach is a short walk down the hill, shops are the normal tacky and repetative but ok for small gifts. The whole area and hotel is VERY aimed for germans, they are everywhere, not that its a problem, just saying!
There is NO entertainment in evenings apart from 1 night which was poor but so bad it was funny! The alcohol is served in small glasses so you are forever going up to bar and is HEAVILY watered down without a doubt! I had 8 vodkas and wasnt even tipsy, however the beer is san miguel on tap which was fine, bar closes at 11pm.
The outside pool is lovely with loungers, chairs and tables seating area, however the pool is not heated so freezing, the weather was lovely so we did get in a few times to cool down.
We travelled out to Palma one day the next main town which was a pleasent 20min air-conditioned bus ride away (stop was right next to hotel) which was only 1.25 euro each ( taxi would of been 25), had a McDonalds there which was well nice, burgers actually look like picture LOL ! There are more variety of shops there including big Mercandona ( supermarket like tesco).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear guest,

We want to thank your full details about our services, facilities and hotel location.

We invite all our clients to comment their experience and ideas, because it help us to improve our weak points.

We are looking forward to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just got back from short break in El Arenal, Spain. We were upgraded from Palma Bay to the Mediterranean Bay Hotel. The hotel is adult only which was perfect for my friend and I.
The hotel is lovely and clean, rooms very nice and the restaurant was wonderful - something for everyone. Lunch and dinner had both fish, meat, pasta and chips, salad and veg etc. Nice deserts and biscuits with cheese - you can have as much as you want and go back round again if you want more. Its was so good we didn't eat anywhere else so it was really good value for money. The pool is great, with plenty of sunloungers - no issues with towels being put out to reserve a bed. The spa is lovely too and another area to sunbathe.
Would higly reccommend and go again. Staff were all really nice and friendly with lots of adivce on how to use the local buses etc - only 1.2 euros to go to the city.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor as it nice to leave the patio door open and I personally prefer to be at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear guest,

We want to thank you the fact of sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. Our team did all their best to offer you a good alternative.

We are happy to know that your holidays have not been dashed and we hope to have another opportunity to enjoy our hotel again.

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just back from my week stay at this hotel. Cannot fault it at all.
We checked in at 9.50pm and were told that we should just drop our bags in the room as we could still make dinner (finishes at 10pm) i was surprised at this as most hotel staff wouldn't bother to tell you, so a good start! The hotel itself is spotless and the staff are brilliant, no problems with language at all and they are all lovely and friendly.
The food was fine and with being a little bit fussy i was kind of worried from other reviews, but i didn't have a problem. Plenty to choose from; salad, cold meats, soup, meat being cooked on the hotplate in front of you, always pasta with two choices of sauce, veggie option, cakes, icecream....i could go on! The drinks are all self service in the restaurant, with alcohol being available at lunch and dinner (wine bottles to pour from in a bucket / tap for larger).
The main bar opens at 10am until 11pm. The brands are local, but very good, although i did hear one fellow who said some of the shorts were the real deal. I was happy as the larger was San Migel.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but adequate for the amount of time you spend in there. All rooms have a flat screen tv and you can rent a remote (is a deposit so you do get it back) i think its 20 euros, but we just used the buttons on the front of the screen so didn't need one. The shower is amazing and has jets for a massage (i found them a little too powerful!).
The main pool area has plenty of beds and never had a problem finding one. The sun comes round the building so a good bit of shade in the morning on one side, then in the late afternoon disappears round the building on the other side!
The beach is just a short walk down a steep hill and is beautiful. Only down side is coming back up the steep hill! The resort has everything you will need with the usual sovenier shops, etc.

Your band does get cut off when you check out at 11am but they still serve you drinks after this. We were told at check in that check out was 12pm even though there was a sign saying 11am so i think this is what is meant.
I hope this helps everyone when considering this hotel. I would definately reccommend and will definately go back!
Nice hotel (one of the nicest in the area), nice staff, nice food, overall a really nice holiday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank siobhanceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing the Mediterranean Bay for your holidays. Thanks for sharing your recommendations with all readers in TripAdvisor.

We are looking forward to see you soon!!

Kind regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Everything was fantastic, great food, clean rooms and excellent staffs EXCEPT for Hotel Manager. With the best intention in the world, we gave them some feedbacks on our last day, good ones and some improvements but we were confronted by the Hotel Manager at the reception and in front of 3 other clients telling us that he disagreed with some of our feedbacks, written on the feedback card (which we thought should be confidential). We were quite shocked as we thought hotels asked for feedback to improve their services, not to confront the client and read out their feedback card in front of other clients. If Med Bay does not appreciate feedbacks, then please remove this card from their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhotels15, Rsp. dpto comercial y e-commerce at Mediterranean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you the fact of sharing your experience online and our apologies about the situation with the Hotel Manager.

We can understand that it was a misunderstood because we value your opinion and recommendations. All feedbacks are welcome and we need them to improve our services and facilities.

Please, feel free to contact us for any assistance by e-mail cmalenque@mllbayhotels.com.

Many thanks again and we hope to have another chance to see you soon.

Best regards,

A.Celeste Malenque Pons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Bay
Caribbean Bay
#12 of 44 in El Arenal
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#69 of 77 in Playa de Palma
2,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Bay Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Address: Calle Sant Bartomeu 18, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance you can afford.Opened in May 2010. Located at 350 metres from the beach of Arenal and 11 Km from the capital, Palma. There’s a wide offer of leisure in the vicinity. The bedrooms have a fully-equipped bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and air-conditioning. A large salon bar with leisure areas and a swimming pool will make your holidays unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mediterranean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpo Hotel El Arenal
Mediterranean Bay Hotel El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing