We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit remote but good friendly hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
“A little bit remote but good friendly hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We have just spent 1 week in this hotel with our son who is nearly 3 years old. The hotel is extremely clean and our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis apart from the day the maid was off. The rooms were spacious and modern with small balcony. We normally tend to stay in 4 start hotels if possible and I will say I did feel this hotel was probably only 3 star but don't let this put you off, it is great value for money. The food was a little disappointing as we didn't feel there was enough variation over the week. Theme food nights and a kids section would of been good. My little boy lived on chips and fruit salad for a week. There are a few little things around the hotel like the mini golf and park at the pool that probably require a little updating now. As the complex is situated in a residential area there is not much to do outside of the hotel apart from walk around the residential streets. However I would recommend walking down to the coast where there is a viewing point over the cliffs as the views are stunning. You can walk down the steps onto the rocks where we were told the snorkeling was brilliant, however the walk down is very steep and not one you would do with a toddler. There is a daily bus to the beach which leaves at either 10am or 11am and picks up at 4pm or 5pm. Going to the beach was a nice change, I would recommend getting the 10am bus so you can get a sun lounger right on the front of the sea which was lovely. The sea was crystal clear and quite shallow which was great with youngsters. The beach area you are dropped off at is in a big German area but this wasn't a problems the shops still sold the same souveniers as they would further along in palma or magaluf. I would definately recommend going to the waterpark as it caters great for young children. There are 3 large pools specifically for around 2 - 10 year olds. There are also plenty to do for the adults. Like most places though the food prices were rather high, try taking your own packed lunch. One of the best things about the hotel is the entertainment staff. Erik and the 3 further staff were brilliant, the mini disco was good each night, the activities around the pool were good fun and they made sure both the kids and adults joined in each day. They really do work for their money and deserve a big thumbs up for their efforts. I would recommend this hotel, just be aware there is nothing to do outside the hotel unless you take the free bus to the beach of pay taxi / bus fares. If you want a week around the pool then you will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanksyEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    539
    237
    86
    66
See reviews for
578
434
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

I read all the review before travelling and they do give a reasonable overview apart from those people who seem to have unrealistically high standards for the price this hotel comes at! We travelled with our 8month old son. Taxi from airport was 27 euro coming and 22 going home- we managed to get home the day before the airport was closed secondry to the bombing! Taxi to arenael cost 9-10 euro. Hotel was clean, decor a little dated. we had bedroom with 2 single beds pushed togethor and a cot which was in room when we arrived and which we werent charged for (in comparison to previous reviews) maybe we paid for this already in our booking? (i booked it through easy jet holidays, £1000 for 1 week incl flights for 2 adults and 1 infant from Belfast). our room was on second floor above bar overlooking pool and wasnt too noisy at all. Room was smallish but not too bad -good wardrobe space, safe, sofa bed. Beds were firm but comfortable and air con was dated but worked well. Balcony small but all we needed. Now the food: Breakfast was good esp the omeletes- freshly cooked as you wait and you get to choose whats in them eg ham cheese mushroom onion etc. also bacon, beans, fresh fried egg, potato, yogurts, fruit, cereals etc. tea and coffee help your self from machine and juices. Lunch and tea were similar- various soups and lots of bread, lots of salads and fruit. There was a freshly cooked meat/fish- beef/fish/lamb/pork, 2 veg, a meat in sauce, chips, potatoes and a paella every evening. also wee tubs of icecream and lots of different cakes etc. Help yourself to soft drinks - coke etc beer and water in dining room. Bar area was nice queues not bad during day longer in evening. All drinks free to 11pm including beer soft drinks water coffee tea cocktails and spirits also lemon and orange slush. In bar area bread biscuits cold meats and fruit during the day. Shop at neighbouring delta hotel 2 min away did papers etc and supermarket 5 min away did everything else.
The only complaints I have are 1) Not enough parasols at pool (but loads of sunloungers at any time of the day and other completely shaded areas available) 2) Loads of wasps all day (they dont really seem to sting but buzz around everywhere esp where drinks are spilt) 3) Not enough highchairs in diningroom (altough we got better at knowing where to look as week went on)

I would recommend going into arenael for tea one evening- beach is lovely at sunset and lots of restaurants/tourist shops. our meal cost 22 euros.
overall relaxing holiday we just lay about and this hotel was perfect for a stress free break prob not the best if you like to see/do a lot unless you hire a car. would i go back...prob not but then we never really do! And i certainally wouldnt advise anyone not to go...........enjoy your trip

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Our first time at the Ola Maioris and it will not be our last. We had a great time!
However, a couple of tips - please wear suitable footwear around the pool and in the bar area, the tiled floors become very slippery when wet and if you join in any activities and play on the artificial pitch don't do what i did and play in bear feet as i suffered for 4 days with blisters on the bottom of my feet.
The location of this hotel is not on the beach front, it is in a residential area, but 2 minutes from the hotel is a small shop which sells newspapers etc, and further up there is a large supermarket and chemist. Walk the other way from the hotel and you will find Maioris commercial centre which has a supermarket, good restaurants and banks with cash machines (about a 10 minute walk). There are buses and taxis immediately outside the hotel. We paid 25 euros for a taxi from the airport, which was the same on the return journey, we managed to fly out of Palma just before the car bombing.
The entertainment team in the hotel do a fantastic job:- Bjorn, the stunning Lubka and Anka who are all lead by the inspirational Erik, there are activities throughout the day for both adults and the kids, you can either join in or simply relax by the two good pools, they will not force you to do anything you do not want to. On an evening time they start with the kids disco followed by the diploma presentations, then the adult entertainment starts which is either professional acts or the entertainment team putting on their own show which does include audience participation (if any one reading this was at the hotel for the last 2 weeks of July then i was John Lennon, Superman and the 'cool Dad' in Abba). The night finishes with the group dancing, again led by Erik, if you want to lose pounds in sweat then join in the dancing.
There was always a good choice of food with the chefs cooking at the grill aswell. You can help yourself to wine, beer and soft drinks in the restaurant. Long queues did occur in the bar on a night time.
Our room was good and very clean, it was on the 5th floor with good views across to Arenal and Palma.
We met other families with kids of similar ages to ours (5 & 10). There are families from alot of other countries, but everyone was friendly.
Overall, a great family orientated hotel, either sit back and relax and have a good holiday, or join in with the entertainment team and have a holiday that you will love and never forget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilberfossclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We have just returned from from 8 days at Ola Maioris we are a typical family of four with children aged 3 and 8. I read a lot of the reviews before going to the hotel and was a bit scepitical before arriving. I don't know what some families expect from hotels but this hotel was 4 star. Our bedroom was very clean and had a double bed and two single beds, with plenty of room for extras like the buggy. It was cleaned everyday except Sunday ( where they put a note into the room to say they were having a day off) and was spotless, clean sheets and towles every day. The staff were always very attentive and were plentiful around the resort. Our main focus was if the kids were having a good time and everything is clean then you are happy, and this was the case. There was plenty of choice to eat in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner, with help yourself to all soft drinks, wine, beer & water which was great as meant no queing!! I will admit it was a bit repetative but there was always plenty of choice and at the end of the day you are in Spain not a mitchelin star restaurant!! Bar snacks were always available from 10.00am - 11.00pm with a really good selection including healthy snacks. The pool area was great for the kids and adults, both large pools, with plenty of sunloungers around, either in the sun or under cover ( which we found perfect with 2 small children), not too many umbrellas but a large area available in the shade. There are 4 entertainers on hand from 10.00am - 11.30pm to help entertain both the children and the adults, the 2 girls and 2 lads work so hard and are so good, they try and get everyone involved and are fab with the kids, mini club is from 10.30am - 12.30pm and 3.00pm - 5.00pm, they do all different activities with them, out two loved them. At night they do a mini disco from 8.30pm - 9.30pm again this is fab, they give out diplomas for each activities to the kids and at 9.30pm they offer adults entertainment. Eric and his team work very hard and are very entertaining. Would recomend this hotel to families, although not much around the hotel, a coach is avaible to the local beach. The reviews I read said this was a german hotel but there are a lot of different nationalities here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz99NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

After reading some of the bad reviews on here I was a little apprehensive about the hotel - but I needn't have worried. The hotel was clean. spacious, there was lots to do in the days and a large variety of food (though you will also get the 'same' each day in terms of there were always key food stuffs).

On arriving we were asked to stay a night next door in the Delta Hotel - I'm not sure why places do this - if it's over booking or whathave you, but it literally is next door so we trundled off there. In fact the Delta was probably a little nicer than this one so we weren't too bothered!

We moved back to our hotel the next day and had a pleasant stay.

For the people that are moaning 'There's no beach, it's too quiet' - well in all fairness it doesn't try to cover that up! This hotel is good for people that want a quiet week in the sun with no stress and just lazing about! There was a free bus to the main beach each day, you just had to book the day before. People have said there is a limit of 2 drinks per person but that didn't seem to be enforced when we were there, and soft drinks are on tap all day long too.

For the value I thought the hotel was brilliant - yes it's probably a mid or low range 4 star - but you aren't paying top dollar for it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

The hotel on arival looked like a tipical spanish costas hotel reception was freindly and efficient. All inclusive band was placed on our wrists.
AS we had hired our own car we ignored the free bus rules and regs and were glad of the freedom it gave us. indeed the hotel is within a mainly residential area with only a handfull of shops within walking distance.
The resturant was more canteen than hote cusines as it catered for family pallets of quantity rather than quality, i have to say the food was OK but not the special treat you want on holiday, but the kids will enjoy.
Pool was always busy proberbly as the local beach was little more than a rocky platform. The hotel delta next door owns a beach club which is more adult orientated and can be accessed at 10 euros a day.
Breakfasts were the same everyday usual fare but an excellent freashly cooked omelet could be had. Entertainement was a trully kid frendly affare mainly for the hordes of todllers even late into the evening. All inc drinks ended at 11pm. Rooms are spacious and reasonably well appointd i have yet to find a spanish hotel with comfy beds extra pollow from reception helps. As my first foray into all inclusive holiday i recon it is great value for money but squarely aimed at the family market, if you want a base to see the island its great value but if you want sophistication try elseware!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We had a unanimous vote that this has been our best holiday ever. The hotel is beautiful, rooms fab, staff very friendly and helpful. rooms cleaned daily and very spacious, facilities superb, food and drink amazing.....so good we are now on diets!! The piece de resistance though was the Anamacion team led by the fabulous Erik, what a guy, he is amazing, our kids thought he was fab and so did we. He was the life and soul of the day and night. His team were great with the kids and also with us adults, they remember your name and make you feel so welcome. They put so much effort into their evening shows . One of the highights was Erik's performance of his hero Freddie Mercury, it was amazing, so big thanks to Erk, Bjorn, Umberto, Olga and Lubka, you guys rock!!

We met some lovely people and the "crack was always mighty". There was a lovely mix of nationalities here and everyone blended together very well. All in all, this is a great place to relax and enjoy the sun. If you have children like us, ours are 11 and 6 and they had a ball.... the Anamacion Team are superb with the kids. we could not commend them high enough... with our youngest son it was almost a case of hero worship!!

Ola Maioris, you should give yourselves a large pat on the back - Thank You, from David, Arlene, Jonathan and Callum....we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
31.1 mi away
Eix Lagotel
Eix Lagotel
#15 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#15 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#12 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Property: OLA Hotel Maioris
Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07620 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
Ola Hotel Maioris Majorca
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club
OLA Hotel Maioris El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing