We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of OLA Hotel Maioris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OLA Hotel Maioris
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently went to Majorca with the family and after booking with on the beach as a package and checking this hotel out - well don't believe everything you read, the rooms were off 2/3 star rating and the restaurant is more 1 to 2 start the staff just do not smile and maybe because they are / look tired they do not want to even try and communicate or help. The only good thing about this hotel was the entertainment team they were great. So all in all defo not a 4 star average 3 star

Room Tip: Only tip send them an email before you arrive and ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hey_dude066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are very happy you enjoyed our animation team so much during your holiday.
Our dining room staff try to give the best possible service to all our guests, we apologize you didn't experience it this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for OLA Hotel Maioris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and overall we really enjoyed our stay.
We was very apprehensive after reading the reviews and even thought about transferring to another hotel...
The food on the whole was ok, more labelling would of been helpful and yes there was alot of fried pork on the menu, but there were always plenty of choice and the table staff worked really hard trying to keep the restaurant clean and tidy.
The pool area was clean and the animation team worked really hard trying to get all guests involved. The sunbeds wasn't a problem, we came down to the pool between 9 & 10 everyday and had no problem, but we did go outside school holidays..
Rooms were spacious and clean, maids came in everyday to change the towels and make the bed.
The area is quite remote, there are a couple of shops and restaurants which is 5 minutes away, and the pizza place showed the England footie game..
Overall I would return to the hotel especially for the money, I agree it's not a 4 star more like a 3 star but was happy with what we got.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonksy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your value for money holidays at our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back next year at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a good hotel with a good mixture of facilities and entertainment, the food was on the whole very good, with plenty of choice from salads to chef cooked meats and veg, my children (10 and 14) really enjoyed the joints of beef and sliced chicken and pork, the entertainment worked very hard, and if you join in keeps you fit and hungry for the next meal. The small shop at the hotel was surprisingly reasonable and it was a short walk to nearby shops and a couple of restaurants (small shopping arcade) there is also a large Mercadona around 5 mins walk up the hill. If you want more of a challenge, its worth walking directly to the coast, its a twisty steep road but worth it for the views on the way and the stunning swimming amongst the rock pools when you get there, no sand, but great for snorkling or just paddling around like me. There is an exclusive restaurant down there as well (Sea Club) but no children allowed, you can also just get a drink there if you like. We have been to a few all inclusive before and overall this one kept us entertained and busy when we wanted and also relaxed when we had had enough, a good holiday was had by all from 10yrs to our inlaws around 65.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53Alan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your honest review.
We are very happy you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back, next year in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We got home from our holiday here a couple of weeks ago. I had read some of the reviews, and was a little apprehensive. We actually found the hotel to be good. Our room was clean, and we found the other parts of the hotel ie the pool area, reception, dining room to be so also. We found all of the staff that we dealt with to be very helpful and friendly. Our children really enjoyed the mini disco and evening entertainment.

We found the food good. The labelling of the dishes could have been better, but we always found something we liked, and there was a chef cooking fresh meat or fish every night. The main problem was that the dining room got busy at times (we figured out the best time to go after a day or two), and also that some people were piling their plates high, resulting in queues. There was really no need for this as the staff were continually bringing more out, so there would have been no difficulty taking a normal amount then going back for more. Also it said in the brochure we had that men had to wear long trousers in the dining room. This is not the case, there were men in there with no shirts on...not what I like to look at when I'm eating! There were also nice salads and some very nice desserts.

There is not much within walking distance, but as we have a toddler and were with my mum who doesn't walk very well, this didn't matter to us. There is a taxi rank and bus stop right outside and free busses to the beach and Palma.

Our room had a nice large balcony as it was on the first floor. It got plenty of sun and was ideal for us as we could sit out there while our toddler had a nap in the afternoon. We did have an issue with people throwing cigarette ends off the higher balconies, one of which popped our sons lilo. We told the staff at reception what had happened and they bought him a new one, which I thought was really nice of them as it wasn't their fault.

Yes sunbeds go early, but we popped down with our towels before breakfast at about eight and got some easily.

We had a good holiday here, especially considering what we paid. Don't be put off by the reviews...these things are what you make them!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salvarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your rewiew.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back next year at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel firstly sells itself as a 4 star hotel I would give it a 2 at best. The entrance to the hotel is nice & thats about all you can say about good things !! I have just come back from there with my Fiancee & 2 Children 1 14 & the other 10 so a party of 4 when told where to find the room .... the room was very very basic .. The beds where rock hard & kids couldnt sleep ! the smallest portable TV you can imagine with NO childrens channels. In addition to this, the rooms have a balcony that isnt private with a family room ( If you can call it that !!!! The walls are paper thin so any noise will keep you awake. The pool is very unclean & I wouldnt allow our kids to go in it ! The eating area is small for the amount of people staying there ! The food itself is terrible & they use the cheapest ingredients available... We ate there 2 times out of a week .... and ate out the rest of the time. NO coffee / Tea facility in room ... Beach Towels you have to give a 20 euro deposit on each towel & if you want them washed you have to pay a 2 euro fee for each towel to be washed ...... The internet isnt free ( WIFI ) 3 euros a day for 1 device... all inclusive drinks ( NOT) after 23:00 you have to pay for drinks & prior to 23:00 you are only allowed to order 2 drinks at a time in small plastic cups & the queues can get long so you spend more time in the queue then sitting down with your family or friends.... The safe in the room will cost you 3 euros a day ..... The entertainment was very hit & miss .... OK if they hire in entertainers... But unfortunately there own staff put on a show which wasnt to dis similar to a school play very disappointing.... The Staff do not smile and I would put this down to them being paid next to nothing & being understaffed which was very obvious.... There isnt a beach for miles around... Although after hiring a car I managed to find a beautiful Beach near a place call Cala Pi full of Spanish people & no Brits aboard nonsense. All in all if you go to this hotel you will be very disappointed

Room Tip: there are no options to up grade !!! Believe me I would have done it
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We apologize you didn't enjoy any aspect of your value for money stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to the hotel direction in order to improve our services for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been back for two weeks now so have had a little time for reflection. Reading between the lines I think the other reviews are generally give a fair overview. We have never been on a fully inclusive before. The location is really not a problem unless you want to be at the heart of a throbbing resort. transportation links are easy enough if you plan. Palma a nice day trip, Arenal is a fantastic day out, the hotel bus drops you off a third of the way up the beach, walk a bit and find a decent spot, wonderful sand and waves, dont know where the bad reviews come from. The 'rocky' beach is 15-30 mins away from hotel, lovely place to spend a few hours. Agree it maybe is not to suitable for young kids but my 4 yrs old was happy snorkelling here so cant be that bad. Free bus pick up for the aquarium, wonderful day good VFM compared to other places. its at the other end of Arenal, so went for swim afterwards and got a taxi back to hotel as couldnt work our buses, cost 17 euro.
As for the hotel, towels at dawn thing, but guess that happens everywhere, a bit frustrating but there you go. Pool is a bit packed, timed it for later in afternoon, or the early part of food times, and ate late! Room was great can't complain, apart from silly fee for safe (don't understand that), or lack of channels on TV.
For what you pay, the food was fine just miss the peak busy period which is easy enough. The wait for fresh cooked fish etc was a bit long but work around it by snacking on other stuff and looking for a break in the queue. Bar was fine, enthusiasm of staff amazing for the long hours they work. Entertainment team the same. My Mrs especially liked the water aerobics.
Overall, not a 4 star as we would know it in the UK, but still not bad, good time to be had even for someone like me who would turn nose up at a package holiday a few years ago. The saving grace for me was getting out and about, even through I can't sit around the pool all day there was plenty to get out and do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisNat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We hope to welcome you next year again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

After reading some of the reviews i was nervous esp after a particularly awful holiday in a different hotel last year! We had a wonderful time and i am so shocked at some of the negative comments! I have travelled the world from backpackers to 5* hotels - this hotel is superb value for money! Some people must expect the world for what they pay! The family room was big with a huge balcony, pool area lovely - yes it's busy - it's called 'peak season!' - always got a lounger! Food - lots of fresh fruit throughout the day, paella gorgeous, lots of different food to try and all of It lovely! Bar staff, maids, chef (working like a dog!), reception, dining room staff were all friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. I truly believe what you give you get back- I witnessed some really rude people and the staff remained polite at all times- credit to them! We met some lovely people there of all nationalities- great vibe to the hotel. Lastly - the animation team!! Yes they were loud how they had their voices left I ve no idea! I have never seen so many people join in the adult activities and the kids club was great too. I think I enjoyed the mini disco as much as the kids ! All this is down to the animation team, their enthusiasm is fantastic! Petar and laura are brilliant as are all the team! I have never been back to a hotel before but this time I m already planning our return! If you want an enjoyable family holiday this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We booked a family room and had a huge balcony!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kezfleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at OLA Hotel Maioris, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will pass on your compliments to all hotelstaff, Petar and Laura to motivate them future guests.
We hope to warmly welcome you back again next year at our hotel for another enjoyable family holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Arenal
3.1 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Delta
Hotel Best Delta
#1 of 1 in Puig de Ros
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#4 of 44 in El Arenal
412 reviews
11.9 mi away
AluaSun Torrenova
AluaSun Torrenova
#19 of 39 in Palmanova
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OLA Hotel Maioris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OLA Hotel Maioris

Address: Carretera Cap Blanc 6, 07609 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range: $111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — OLA Hotel Maioris 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OLA Hotel Maioris is located in a wooded residential area, on the south-east coast of Majorca, right in the Puig den Ros development and features restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets, hairdressing salon, etc.The complex is spread over three buildings, each with two lifts and issurrounded by magnificent gardens.There is a little rocky cove 900 m away. El Arenal, with its beache and vibrant night life is only a few kilometres away, and can be reached by using the hotel’s own transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your OLA Hotel Maioris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Club Maioris Hotel El Arenal
Ola Hotel Maioris Majorca
Ola Hotel El Arenal
Ola Maioris Club
OLA Hotel Maioris El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing