We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recomended place to stay if you don't have a problem walking by foot”
Review of Manaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manaus
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“recomended place to stay if you don't have a problem walking by foot”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet area of Arenal but that anyway the area is not quiet as you might imagine so don't expect any quiet vacation here. We enjoyed very much the atmosphere in the entire area, including the hotel, but I guess that this location is not for conservative persons with sleeping problems.

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff is very polite and discrete.
Food is as good as expected from an accommodation in Spain. We really enjoyed the food including our 1 year and a half and 3 years and a half children.

We would expect to have a mini fridge or mini bar in the room but it was looked and the fee was 2E/day. Same tax for the safety box.

The hotel can be considered far from the beach (about 5-10 minutes walking) and note that during this distance you will climb quite a few meters.

Room Tip: we were with 2 kids and we've received a room with 2 double beds and one extensible sofa that co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    110
    60
    19
    34
See reviews for
55
124
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was a solo female traveller in need of a short break after stressful time at work. This hotel was in an ok location for me and it worked very well for me with the exception of the local "drinkers" gathering with cans of beer on a seat near the park. As a lone traveller this did intimidate me a little but when I did venture out on an evening they didnt really bother me and - I tended to cross over the road,
The smallish hotel is predominently booked by german clients but everybody was very friendly. It was very clean and the food was nice and fresh. The room was acceptable, again nice and clean and I specifically asked for a room with sun on the balcony and they accomodated this request. All the staff were lovely with the exception of the english receptionist who- quite frankly was the most unhelpful lady I have ever encountered. I was staying in one night and asked if I could possibly borrow a corkscrew. I was told in no uncertain terms that the hotel had to make money and wouldnt lend me one but I could possibly go back to my room on the 6th floor bring the wine and take to the bar and they may help me. This seems a piddly comment however it was the first one that indicated this lady had no concept of customer care and it became funny in the end as she was sooooo bad. A german chap approached her and asked what to do in Majorca when raining and her answer was "absolutley nothing" Majorca is as boring as everywhere else when it rains. I sat there giggling - not a good representation of this hotel. On the positive side, the spanish lady who was there in a morning and weekends was sooo lovely and nothing was too much trouble. On my first day of arriving, dinner had finished but she rang through to the restaurant and asked them to keep it open just for me - a lovely gesture. Again being a single lady traveller and taking the full board option, I was pleased to find I was given a table number when I checked in and this was my table till I checked out which was great for me and didnt make me feel uncomfortable when eating. The staff in the restuarant were again very friendly.
The pool area and the bar area were very clean and well maintained. The pool is fairly small and wasnt very busy when I was there however a good selection of sunbeds and also a pool table. This hotel is around ten minutes to the beach front and the are main bus stops within walking distance.
I did feel safe in this hotel and would go back again - even if its just to witness the antics of an english receptionish abroad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndreaNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from here on Sunday and I must say that for 200 sterling that this trip was amazing value. Room service was efficient with new towels daily and beds made - they even folded up clothing! Mealtimes were lovely. They had so much choice! And that includes desserts. If you did not fancy the heavy foods there was a huge salad selection. Breakfast was likewise well stocked. The toaster was a single slice conveyor type so there was always a queue. The bought drinks at dinner time was expensive (2 Euros for a 330ml can!)
Bar staff were cool (they were cheerful and even patched up a kid who cut his foot on some glass) but the cocktails were a limp comparison to what you could get at the bars just down the road.
So overall a very pleasant stay for me, my lady and 3 friends.

Room Tip: The rooms nearer the top have amazing views over the trees onto the sea and coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audunar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

spent 5 nights on half board basis. good quality food at breakfast as well as dinner. allocated late slot for dinner which was 8.15- 9.15 pm. plenty of choice , Very clean hotel with daily change of towels and sheets. snacks at lunch not expensive. 15 mins walk to a clean beach, could be a challenge for people with mobility problems,as located up a hill.
Arranged resort hoppa to the hotel which cost £10. and returned to the airport on the local bus, number 21 which is easy to find along the beach front. This cost us 2.5 euros each. Plenty of shops and cafes to go at. Mainly German tourists with some British .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleribreed1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just come back from a week at Manaus, really cant fault the hotel. Rooms clean and bed made, clean towels etc every day. We were on the top floor, room 601. Lovely view and sun on the balcony etc, although some of the rooms lower in the hotel were without a view. They can face onto next doors hotel which is very close and therefore balcony is in complete shade.

Food was fine, something different every day. Always salad, chips or potatoes, pizza and veg or rice and then a couple of different main courses. It was nothing spectacular but we ate every day and always found something that we liked.

We always had plenty of sunbeds around the pool area, never a problem. The jacuzzi needs to be switched on by bar staff and they werent always behind the bar. Sometimes had to wait a few minuites to be served as they pop back and forth but that was fine, we just looked out for them before getting up !!!

So, all in all a nice place. I personally wouldnt return, probably due to the location of the hotel. It is right at the edge of El Arenal and there is a fair walk down to the beginning of the beach. You will have to walk along the seafront a good half hour to reach nicer bars and restuarants and then there is the walk back !!!! which was a pain really. There is a bus stop just round the corner to the hotel which would take you to Palma Town if that helps !!

This hotel is fine for a really relaxing break, If you are not interested in leaving the hotel much then this place would be for you. Its a 20euro taxi fare from the airport and the hotel is quiet and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor or on the side overlooking the pool as these are by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baileybonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This Hotel is very good value, very clean, really lovely staff. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool with a wood behind, so nice and quiet.
The area of Arenal, however I would not visit again if I was paid to. It is very run down, tacky shops, no nice bars for evenings, just underground discos, so maybe for very young people this may be god, but i wouldn't recommend this area to any English people. It is for Germans and Danish, in 2 weeks only heard an English voice ( apart from my husband) once.
The beach is not pretty and the area is dirty, the streets are dirty,graffiti everywhere.
I am not happy writing this as will be headlined under this Hotel which was great in every way, such a shame it is in this area.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mags3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

this area is not the real majorca ,arenal is " tacky" and full of idiots,and drunken half wits,blow up dolls,fithy pavements,covered in spearmint blobs,dog and human mess,as for the manaus,you can practically touch people in the adjoining hotels,their entertainment is audible from your 1 step balcony,thats arenal,the hotel is in dire need of a total refurbisment,i know money is tight,but if it is not forthcoming a slow inevitable decline is certain.you do meet some pleasent locals and the hotel staff are very helpful ,despite being overworked,the food is barely tolerable,we could not wait for our holiday to end,glad to see the back of el arenal,

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITCHURCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mix Alea
Hotel Mix Alea
#9 of 44 in El Arenal
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ipanema Park
Ipanema Park
#13 of 44 in El Arenal
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 44 in El Arenal
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#28 of 44 in El Arenal
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 44 in El Arenal
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
HSM Reina del Mar
HSM Reina del Mar
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaus

Property: Manaus
Address: Calle Josep Maria Quadrado 7, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manaus 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Manaus is located in one of the quieter areas of Palma beach, surrounded by woods and only a short walk from Playa de Palma. The hotel has very bright and cozy rooms, some with fantastic views of the forest. All rooms are equipped with balcony, safe, mini bar, bathroom, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and air conditioning.There are two lifts, a lounge, and one for reading and board games, TV, cafe, bar, a swimming pool and a children's pool. Entertainment twice a week during the summer months.All meals are buffet, and each week there is a special dinner-either: Majorcan or Mediterranean cuisine. "Show Cooking" for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manaus El Arenal, Majorca
Manaus Hotel El Arenal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing