We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospital Visit and Overcharged!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospital Visit and Overcharged!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hostel is a disaster - the owner, Tim [-----], was rude from the very first email, telling us (in a single line blurb) that we had better hustle from the airport or we'd be locked out of the hostel! After ENDLESS emails trying to establish a dialogue so we could sort the problem, we finally arrived at a resolution when our flight was changed to an earlier time!
Unfortunately, things went from bad to worse - our friends (who we were staying with at the hostel) had to cancel because they were in a terrible road accident. We emailed the hostel and explained that we were cancelling 47.15 hours before our scheduled arrival time (instead of the 48 hours requested on hostelbookers.com) but that we had a good reason.
The owner charged us for an entire days stay, and said that the cancellation policy was 2 days prior to the DAY of arrival. But it's listed on hostelbookers.com as being 2 days prior to the TIME of arrival. I thought that's why Tim had emailed us right away to find out when we arrived?
EVEN MORE OF A JOKE - the cancellation policy is listed as being 3 days prior to arrival on hostelworld.com and hostels.com.
So how am I meant to contend with four different cancellation policies (one on hostelbookers, one on hostelworld, one on hostels.com, and one that the owner just makes up in an email)? All while trying to deal with a friend in the hospital?

The owner was so rude in every email that was sent, I'm shocked this place remains in business. I would NEVER stay here - and I didn't even see what it looked like inside!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessM323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy M, Owner at Hostal Atlanta, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
This review has been written by a person who has never even been to stay here at Atlanta. They threatened to write a bad review if they did not get a refund for 40€ charged to them when they cancelled late so they are not getting it because they are not entitled to it. We hope you disregard these vindictive comments and read some of the many honest reviews written by guests who have actually been here and enjoyed our hospitality.

Thanks for your time

Tim Moss

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    35
    15
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
37
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hostel Atlanta ticks all the boxes! the lovely staff are amazingly kind/helpful and our room was more than perfect, very clean and comfy. it was a pleasure and are happy to recommend this hostel to anybody.
the beach is a stones throw away and there is a must eat restaurant a few doors down 'Casa Gallega Alfonso'

Big thanks to Tim, Olly and Debs

Lots of love, Dominic and Sofia (London)

Room Tip: room 312 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaDominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This Hostel is perfect for a few days in mallorca. We've booked a twin bed room and got a room with a own bathroom. Great! If you like you can rent bikes for 7€ per day. Palma is 12km far away. You are directly at the Beach. They have a own Restaurant with delicious burgers. If I will come back, I will stay with you again. Thanks to Tim! Great staff & Information!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammelmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Hostel Atlanta it was an amazing experience. We were greeted by Tim given information on the things to do then given our room keys. We had booked a room wih a shared bathroom but were upgraded on arrival to a private bathroom. We spent both nights of our stay hangin out in the bar below the hostel and by the end of our stay it felt more like the staff and owners had become close friends . Absolutely incredible customer service, wonderful people, situated right by the beach, has wonderful food downstairs. Our room was incredibly spacious and clean. I would I back in an instant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesenippz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Absolutely excellent; a group of four arrived with a reservation for three and they gave us a larger room with no trouble (including a giant terrace with breakfast table!). The staff is extremely friendly and open, and the hostal is clean and well-maintained. The cantina serves fantastic homemade food (thanks Johan!), and for this reason has a limited menu, but everything on it is great.

Room Tip: If you're in a large group (4+), see if you can get one of the front rooms on the second floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p3rp3tua1m0t10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I thought this was a super place and the room I had was really lovely, cosy, smart and clean. The hostel from the outside also had a lovely character, in comparison with a lot of the expensive hotels in the area (all of which frankly had the charm of office blocks). Tim gave me some very helpful advice also. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent a long weekend with mates here in April here and was blown away at the standard of service, quality of rooms, superb location, top facilities and all-round value for money. Tim (owner) couldn't have been more accommodating.

You simply won't find a better alternative in the area.

It's more like a hotel than a hostel. *****

Room Tip: request one with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Arenal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pepe
Hotel Don Pepe
#3 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
azuLine Hotel Bahamas
#2 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alea
Hotel Alea
#8 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
Mediterranean Bay Hotel
#4 of 48 in El Arenal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinero Tal
Hotel Pinero Tal
#5 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Azul & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Atlanta

Property: Hostal Atlanta
Address: Calle Terral No 50, 07600 El Arenal, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > El Arenal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in El Arenal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Atlanta 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Atlanta El Arenal, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing