We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, below average food and little customer service skills”
Review of L'Ancora

L'Ancora
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #84 of 303 Restaurants in Roses
Price range: $17 - $90
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We arrived at the restaurant and our table that we had reserved was available. When we ordered our food the waiter criticised our choice of food.

We ordered a selection of tapas and one of the plates did not arrive and when one of the meals arrived the waitress dropped some over my daughter and with apology just carried on as though nothing had happened.

The food was ok but it was very expensive for what it was.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank johnnH4662RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Valero_Quiles, Gerente at L'Ancora, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018
Google Translation

Hola John,

Siento mucho el accidente con tu hija, es algo que a veces pasa pero debemos evitar a toda costa, en cuanto a la crítica de la elección de comida, tenemos por costumbre aconsejar a los clientes que a veces piden demasiado, o todo frito. Es solo una recomendación y desde luego el cliente pide lo que Le apetece, pero normalmente acertamos en nuestras recomendaciones, esta claro que está vez no fue asi y te pido disculpas si te molesto la intromisión. En el futuro andaremos con más cuidado. Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

The tapas sizes were generous and the service was quick, we were happy with it. We had a mix of seafood tapas that were great and the kid had the burger junior menu, which was also a good size.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kalunnahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Valero_Quiles, Gerente at L'Ancora, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018
Google Translation

Muchísimas gracias por tu opinión. Esperamos verte pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Hubby and I have visited this bar on several occasions while staying in Roses and Ampuriabrava. Friendly staff with nice white tables. Three large comfortable seating areas for approximately 8 people but also lots of tables of four and also high stools to tall tables so catering for most. Toilets are up through the main restaurant where there is another large restaurant area which I presume is opened in high season. Beautiful views of the beach. Toilets are very nice decor but there are only two - one for gents and one for ladies - not sure about disabled facilities though. Haven't eaten here but the drinks are good and well prices. Food that is brought out looks quite tasty.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsMouse85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Valero_Quiles, Gerente at L'Ancora, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018
Google Translation

Hola,

Como bien dices tenemos baños para discapacitados en la planta piso del local al fondo a la derecha, nos encanta que te haya gustado nuestro ambiente. Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

This placed caught our eye as we were walking down the front. It turned out to be a Tapas Bar on the beach. I have to say in the week we spent in Northern Spain it was the best service and food we ate. The food was HOT amazing in itself , the sea view was great and the Muscles and the Sardines were could perfectly. The service which can be suspect in many costal places was excellent, they couldn't have been more helpful. As I understood the waiter Lluc was on his first week, I an guessing he was previously from a high class establishment , speaking fluently 4 or 5 languages including English he helped make the night enjoyable. We shall cetainly be going back when next in the area.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BaronYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Valero_Quiles, Gerente at L'Ancora, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018
Google Translation

Gracias por tu opinión, estamos muy satisfechos con la labor profesional de nuestros empleados que forman parte de la familia. Esperamos verte pronto en tus próximas visitas a Roses. Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Visited recently with family and had a most enjoyable meal. We were served by Lluc who was friendly, efficient and English speaking! The bar is in the perfect place to watch the sunset and enjoy a pink gin or two! Will certainly visit again on our next trip to Roses

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank barbsimpson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_Valero_Quiles, Gerente at L'Ancora, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu opinión,

Estamos muy enfocados al publico familiar por la gran ventaja de tener la playa delante donde se puede jugar tranquilamente. Esperamos ser tu destino predilecto en tus viajes a Roses.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancora also viewed

 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to L'Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing