We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a heartbeat”
Review of Canyelles Platja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyelles Platja
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was treating some friends to a visit to the Dali Museum in Figueres and home in Port Lligat so it seemed Roses was the best bet for a hotel somewhere between the two. We happened on this one and were thrilled that we did. Away from all the bustling crowds of Roses and the myriad generic restaurants, this little bay is glorious. The hotel is clean, marvellously efficient and every single member of staff, across the board, was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was excellent and the beach bar/beach easily accessible through an underground tunnel. We found a restaurant further up the beach (Restaurant Gua Gua) that served the most delicious fresh fish dishes and again were super friendly with it. If I had to pick one thing to complain about in the hotel it was the internet service; it doesn't work in the rooms, only in the lobby--not the end of the world but it could be if you have to check in with your office or expecting an email! Next to the hotel is a little shop that sells everything you could want, like a mini supermarket, but with fresh baked goods too, foreign newspapers etc. All in all we really loved it and the rates were fantastic for mid-July. We were a singleton and a married couple and this hotel is brilliant for families but we were never bothered by all the children, they all seemed to be having a great time and were probably too exhausted from having fun to be annoying!!

Room Tip: Probably the ocean view rooms to the East are quieter as the Western-most ones are over the restaura...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Canyelles Platja
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

Decent place to stay, I'd certainly consider it again. They have a tunnel under the road in front for beach access, and a bar right on the beach! The rooms were clean, and we had a nice view of the ocean. No real complaints, just don't get too excited about the pool, it's maybe 8 - 10 meters long.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

thank you for the hotel for great stay. Room was beautiful with nice view. You have in room everything you need. Design, cleanliness,nice lobby, terrace. Me and my boyfriend spent amazing weekend there. The beach is nice, many places around to go to see by car. We really love hotel and will be back. Just do not expect from breakfast too much, it is really very basic, but everything else is outstanding!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We have now stayed six times at this family owned hotel. Every year the family reinvests in the hotel upgrading the public area and the bedrooms. We always stay at the front of the hotel overlooking the mediterranean and, although it also overlooks the road, we enjoy watching over the bay and are entertained by people trying to park their cars in the evening. This year there was even a wedding on the beach to watch!
The breakfast selection is excellent and the restaurant very well managed, clean and comfortable. You can choose whether to eat in the main restaurant, outside by the pool, or in the smokers restaurant. The table d'hote always has a choice of four starters, four mains (two fish, two meat) and four desserts. There is an a la carte menu too. THe beach can be accesssed direct from the hotel without having to cross the road and is very safe for children. The hotel also welcomes families. Few of the guests are English. The surrounding area has many interesting places to visit including Dali's birth place and the Dali museum at Figures. Good shopping in nearby Roses.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K3ntishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and I spent a week here in August, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, and the staff have great attention to detail. Nice reception and dining area.

Lovely room, spacious, bright, giant and comfortable bed, nice bathroom, aircon. We also booked a sea view which I'd really recommend - the balcony is spacious with table and chairs and it's a lovely place to sit and relax.

One criticism I have is of the pool area. It's fairly small and right next to the road at the front of the hotel. It's also noisy and was packed full of kids screaming and bombing into the water, which made it difficult to spend any time there. I fully admit this is our own fault for travelling during school holidays, I just think it's important to point out that in peak season this is very much a family hotel.

The beach is nice, not too big and lovely water for swimming, and is right across the road (you can access it via a private underground tunnel). It gets pretty busy but there's always a bit of room, and you can hire loungers should you wish. Watch out (or rather, listen out!) for the hilarious woman selling coconuts on the beach.

Breakfast was great - huge variety of fresh pastries and breads, lots of hams, salami and cheeses, scrambled eggs, fruit juice. My only issue was with the coffee, which was AWFUL, which one definitely doesn't expect in Spain. (You can get great coffee at the hotel bar, it's just not open at that time of the morning).

It is worth pointing out that this hotel is not in central Roses, rather it's in a smaller, more quiet suburb 10 minutes drive outside the main town. This is no bad thing as there is a selection of good places to eat and a really well stocked shop right next to the hotel. We travelled into town on a few evenings to eat, there are so many nice places (especially if you like seafood) and lots of traditional Spanish fare. I'd particularly recommend Gua Gua on the beach.

Overall it was great, and exactly what we'd hoped for - though if you want a quieter time I'd avoid the month of August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrislondon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hotel was a reasonable cost on a great beach. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size. We were staying so we could go to El Bulli and the manager was very helpful in trying to get us a babysitter for the night (on the night of a public holiday). Only downside is that it is a long walk from the centre of Roses, where there are more restaurants. The city bus service is useless and we never found the taxi stand in town (but we did get one of the bars to call us a taxi).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Our room was recently remodeled and was both spacious and pleasant. Mini-fridge was provided, and air conditioning worked well--not always true at *** hotels. Excellent view of ocean with small patio (if ocean-view room is booked). Busy road between hotel and beach (hotel has underground beach access), but excellent soundproofing in room. Staff was courteous and helpful. Excellent breakfast included, but avoid the restaurant otherwise. Other meals at the restaurant were truly bad, a rare occurrence in Spain. Parking is advertised as available at a cost, but the garage was full. We got very lucky with street parking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdxhej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.3 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
471 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almadraba Park Hotel
Almadraba Park Hotel
#3 of 37 in Roses
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
2.4 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
2.5 mi away
Prestige Victoria Hotel & Spa Elit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyelles Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyelles Platja

Address: Avda. Diaz Pacheco, 7-9 | Platja de Canyelles Petites, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#6 Family Hotel in Roses
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range: $130 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyelles Platja 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Canyelles Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyelles Platja Roses, Spain - Costa Brava
Canyelles Platja Hotel Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing