We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great pool, access to a gorgeous beach, close to El Bulli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almadraba Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great pool, access to a gorgeous beach, close to El Bulli”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed at the Almadraba Park because we had reservations to El Bulli and it appeared to be the closest hotel to the restaurant. They staff made it clear that many of their guests stay because of El Bulli so they were helpful in booking a cab for us to take us there, and letting us know how early we should leave to get there. Given we had booked the hotel solely because of its proximity to the restaurant, I hadn't really thought about what else to expect from the hotel itself and we were happily surprised with how much we enjoyed our day there. The hotel is beautifully designed and clean. It isn't is a row of identical looking hotels, it is perched by itself and looks more like a little resort. The views from the garden, the pool, the terrace and of course the rooms, are all spectacular. You can see the water, the mountains, the beach and it all looks gorgeous. There is cute outdoor garden where you can sit outside and order lunch. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, which were elevated and had gorgeous views surrounding them. And the beach was a short walk down the stairs built into the hill. The room was clean and modern, with a spacious bathroom, and a nice balcony to lounge on. We asked to be moved to a room with a straight-on view of the ocean and it was a stunning view. We were only in Roses for our El Bulli meal (which was spectacular) for one day and night, in between four days in Barcelona and four days in Paris, and it turned out to be an amazingly relaxing mini-beach vacation day in the middle of our busy city-tour vacations. We definitely want to come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    77
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
117
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed here during our trip to dine at El Bulli restaurant for two nights.The staff were all very friendly and attentive, and spoke great English. We opted for the standard room, but had a peak at the ocean view rooms and they looked AMAZING. However, you can still see the beach from the balcony, I think every room has a nice balcony.

Breakfast was included and had a great selection of fruit, cereal, cured meats, pastries and bakery items. I did not have a chance to try out the hotel restaurant.

The pool is just in front of the horizon, and the location of the bar just before sunset was magical too. The beach is only 5 mins away when you walk down the stairs at the back of the hotel so we chose to swim in the ocean instead of the pool.

My only complaint was that the mattresses were very very firm!

Parking is free and everywhere was easy to get around with a car.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ami721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed here earlier this year and loved the place but were disappointed with the restaurant however at that time we were paying only room and breakfast so we ate elsewhere after our first evening.

We liked the place so much that we decided to have another short break at the begining of September which is high season there and meant that we had to take half board.

We were very pleasantly suprised by the big improvments we found in the restaurant. The food was good both for lunch and dinner and the service was of the very highest level. The staff were really professional and at the same time pleasant and multi-lingual.

This time we paid extra for a higher grade room,it was no bigger than the standard room but had a nicer view and a jaccuzi bath.

We were delighted to find that the only criticism we had of this hotel at our previous visit no longer applied.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Access to pool area difficult for the elderly or diabled
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm thornlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen and Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We just returned from a weekend at the Almadraba Park.

The hotel is one of the best we've staying in in Europe. It's new and fresh, with surroundings that are unmatched in terms of views and the location of the property. The staff is great, nice and not intrusive. They will speak Spanish (or aparently any other language) which I prefer over everyone having to try to speak broken English with me (I'd rather speak broken Spanish with them).

The property is about 4 kilometers out of Roses, which everyone wants to tell you is a terrible resort. Roses isn't great, but it's not the worst we've seen. In any case, you don't have to spend time there, other than eating if you choose to eat outside the hotel. The hotel food looked fantastic, but with kids we wanted pizza as offered in Roses. The property is 15 kilometers or so from Cadaques, which is a cute town with no beaches to speak of, and is where Dali's house (and a tour by reservation) is found. I would think that most people who visit here will make the winding drive to see Cadaques.

The breakfast is buffet, fresh and taken outdoor (assuming good weather). The hotel is more or less non-smoking, but once you're outside, people smoke. It's located about 40 minutes from France and the French smokers come to Spain now, since it's more friendly to smoking, it seemed to us. In any case, the orange juice is unmatched and the croissants also come from France, we felt, so they were far superior to what's found in Spain.

The pools (there is a kid's pool and an 25 meter lap pool) make this hotel probably the best there is for a serious swimmer. In fact, if you like open water swimming, you can swim in the Med, which is literally just below the hotel. The beach is about 25 meters down an incline, which is perfect. If you don't want to swim, there is some great trail running and hiking on the trails that follow the shore from the hotel and that are marked paths. They make this hotel the perfect place to locate a very upscale triathalon camp. There is no gym to speak of, but there are squash courts and given the outdoors, you should stay home where you have access to your own gym if that's what you need.

The room we stayed in, a suite to accommodate ourselves and our two children, was large by European standards. The bath and shower were fantastic, new and clean and everything you want including nice soaps. Our one gripe with the rooms was the bedding. The beds had some plastic or hard mattress covers that made me think of a hospital bed. They were not comfortable. Also, the beds were two separate beds, not a "matrimonial bed" which, honestly, I don't know whether it was available. The Westin's Heavenly Bed would certain be a huge improvement here (and everywhere).

This was not an inexpensive property, but is an example of getting what you pay for.

Overall, with the exception of the beds, this is one of the best properties we've ever had to pleasure of visiting.

  • Liked — Options for swimming, beach, service, location
  • Disliked — beds!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I totally agree with everything previous reviewer stated. Absolutely beautiful sunset views from lawn bar. Only negative if any is that the town is 1.5 miles away.
Pool, tennis, squash, boules all top notch. Hotel staff is if anything obsessed with cleanliness.

  • Liked — clean, spacious, modern
  • Disliked — too far to walk into main village
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whammer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

This hotel is a gem .... we stayed for a week at the start of the holiday season and enjoyed every moment. The staff were courteous, attentive but not intrusive. The table service at dinner was quick and efficient. For dinners, the quality, selection and variety of menus each day was very good. We stayed on a half pension and felt it was excellent value for money. The room was clean, airconditioned, a good size, with a nice bathroom and a spacious balcony to relax on before dinner. The location of the hotel on the promentary overlooking L'amadraba beach was excellent as you could easily choose each morning whether to go down the stairs to the beach or stay up at the pool. The sunsets looking back up the coasts to Roses were beautiful. L'almadraba is a small village at the end of the coastal road so the majority of people are actually staying here rather than day tourists - this made the beach less crowded than other villages along the coast and obviously less noisy at night. A morning run in the nearby national park is a nice way to start the day. Highly recommended village and highly recommended hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Oz_Swagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

On a promontory above the beach, this hotel offers extremely comfortable accommodations set in lushly landscaped grounds. Our double room with huge bath had a balcony with views over the nearby private villas and the beach. (All rooms appear to have water views.)

Almadraba Park is about a mile north of the hubbub, traffic, and crowds in the main area of Rosés, contributing to the pleasant quiet of the site.

The dining room is very good, even if the breakfast is typically expensive for Spanish hotels (€15pp when we visited). The service was flawless, with a maitre d' who remembered our room numbers after a single visit, and servers who know their jobs well.

Features: a large pool overlooking the Mediterranean, spa services, and stone steps leading to the beach.

Based on what we saw of other Costa Brava towns, from Cadaques to Lloret de Mar, we would highly recommend Rosés and especially the Almadraba Park.

And, if you're making your reservations far enough in advance (a year, perhaps), don't forget reservations at the world reknowned El Bulli restaurant in nearby Montjoi.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canyelles Platja
Canyelles Platja
#8 of 36 in Roses
282 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#11 of 36 in Roses
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#4 of 36 in Roses
276 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almadraba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almadraba Park Hotel

Property: Almadraba Park Hotel
Address: Avinguda Diaz Pacheco 70 | (Platja DeE L'Almadrava), 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Roses
#3 Luxury Hotel in Roses
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Almadraba Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Almadraba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almadraba Park Roses
Almadraba Park Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing