We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully situated hotel with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almadraba Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almadraba Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
264 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderfully situated hotel with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated overlooking a small bay about 4 km outside Roses. There are spectacular views from the dining room and terraces around the hotel. There is a large sea water pool, tennis court and plenty of areas to sit and relax. The rooms are spacious but a little dated. Service was excellent. Our only criticism is with the food which was very variable. Breakfast was good and the choice for lunch also. Dinner was less reliable: we had some good dishes but also some poor dishes and we were sometimes kept waiting for as long as 45 minutes to get served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    66
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
102
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

it is no coincidence that one of the world's top restaurant reviewers rates this place very highly.
Having stayed at some pretty good places this has to be one of the best. Where do you start? The view - heavenly. The food - orgasmic. The attention to detail - fantastic. Service 10 out of 10. I do not think you will find a better family run hotel at reasonable price. None of the pictures on the official website does this place justice. People say the mountain view is not so, but it is one of the prettiest beaches you could ever wish to find and if you go for sea view you have some 40 miles of the Bay of Roses complete with real fishing boats etc.

Room Tip: Mountain view means a pretty beach backed by a hill. Sea view means a whole bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskychaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is warm and welcoming, the staff could not be more attentive or courteous and it has real family feel to it. The food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked and presented. What really takes some beating is the location - on a tiny headland and overlooking the small beach of Cala Almadrava, it is also just on the edge of the stunning Cap de Creus National Park, with access to excellent walking territory. Closer to home the grounds of the hotel are immaculate and the imaginative landscaping means you can always find a little corner to hide in when or if you ever tire of sitting next to the pools. Rooms are spacious and although everywhere is spotlessly clean, every day the cleaning staff beaver away adding yet more shine. A somewhat irregular local bus service connects the hotel to the town of Roses about 5km away or you can walk along the coastal path in less than an hour. It was a pleasure to stay there - well done to Jordi and his team.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel too highly. Where do I start? First, the rooms were large as was the balcony which had good reclining chairs and teak table. The room had 2 armchairs and the bathroom had a toilet which could be used separately from the bathroom. The hotel is in a chain which has the word 'silence' in it and sure enough it was lovely and quiet day and night. Don't know what it is like in the high season, but then we would not travel then.
Then the restaurant: We were there with Great Rail Journeys and had the Table d'hote menu - with a sweet trolley and a cheese trolley - bliss! The food was excellent and most attractively presented. The waiters were extremely well-trained, efficient and pleasant. The house wines were also excellent.
The grounds were beautiful, terraced and with stunning views as had most of the rooms. The swimming pool was huge with a smaller pool as well. Loungers were to be found not just at the pool but on many of the terraces and the way the hotel is situated, you could choose sun or shade.
The most important thing I must mention though is the caring and helpful attitude of the manager and all the staff. My husband was ill for several days and the attention and help we received was just amazing. We are both so grateful to them all, (as to our holiday rep Linda who was extremely helpful and attentive.
It was not a problem for us, but perhaps I should mention that it is quite a climb from the pool or even more from the lovely beach up to the hotel.
Thank you again Jordi and your staff for all you did for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated on a rocky promontory with rooms overlooking a small sandy bay on one side and the wide Gulf of Roses on the others, this superb hotel has a delightful variety of places to sit/lounge (shade or sun) on numerous garden terraces and has a large (25m) swimming pool. Our bedroom (for 9 nights) was spacious with masses of storage and excellent bathroom. Great choice of delicious food and extensive breakfast. Efficient, very friendly and smart staff and management (family owners) with good English. Ample parking and a local bus/hotel shuttle hourly into Roses centre (3km). Excellent; best we have stayed in. The only downside was the lack of tea/coffee making equipment in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Best views/balcony from Gulf of Roses side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

High standards in presentation. Gardens well maintained, neat and green, gardener s come every day. Sunbathe or relax by the pool or in the gardens with the smell of Jasmine in the air. Staff are very pleasant and Courteous. They are independent, run by same family since founded. Rooms with air conditioning and balcony. Huge breakfast choice. Superb aspect/views, amenities. Could not be bettered. Private access to a lovely beach. Swimming pool with own bar. Tapas and lunches excellent. We came with Great Rail and would certainly come again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Almadraba Park Hotel- Roses
A decent hotel in a prime location with fantastic views, used as a back drop for wedding receptions which can be noisy for a few hours if you have a sea view room as the terrace is right below you. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Very good club sandwich and apple pie at the terrace bar. Smoking is allowed on the terrace of your room and at the terrace bar which are open to the atmosphere. Minibar well stocked and decent prices. Tax/IVA is 10% on the bill, plus a city tax of 0.99 euros per night per person over 16.
Downsides are- noise from room to room, no soundproofing; and wardrobes and cupboards have no felt or mechanical suppression to eliminate this at least? The TV has no facility for dual language or if it does the menu button function has been disabled? The in room safe will not accept even a notebook computer? No tea and coffee facilities in room? No evidence of room service offered?
Overall a pleasant two day stay would have stayed a third, but for the downsides mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding reception due or plan to be out when there is one, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CondeNast126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canyelles Platja
Canyelles Platja
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#5 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.8 mi away
1935 Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almadraba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almadraba Park Hotel

Property: Almadraba Park Hotel
Address: Avinguda Diaz Pacheco, 70, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Roses
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#5 Luxury Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Almadraba Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Almadraba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almadraba Park Roses
Almadraba Park Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing