We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, No Air Con”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed in the Superior rooms which were on the front of the hotel
The Santa Margarita beach is fantastic and the hotel has a superb position on it
Our room was at the front of the hotel and had a great view and a nice balcony to sit on
There are a number of decent resturants locally
Breakfast was good including hot eggs and bacon, and a large buffet, fresh and well stocked
Parking outside the hotel is free, easy and plenty of it

It was very hot at night and as the room had NO AIR CON, we had to open the window, but the beach area is noisy

This converted a very pleasant stay into an uncomfortable couple of days
I suggest going there out of season

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SAINTSGUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

Great hotel, right on the beach, near to lots of restaurants. Roses is a bit seaside and not much else, but we were meeting friends nearby, so this was a good place to stay. We had no trouble parking our car directly outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

This hotel is in a great location - right on the seafront with direct access to a very attractive beach. The covered pool is a bit too public for our liking and the lounges are not large enough for the number of people the hotel can accommodate. We stayed late May and it was full to the seams. We had a superior room which was exactly that. "L" shaped corner balcony on the 5th floor, with privacy and great sea views, simply lovely for a pre dinner drink in the evening. But the restaurant is unspeakable. A rabble descends to queue outside before the doors are opened and then its a seething mass of people raiding the buffet. Tables are squeezed together so tightly I wonder they don't try to double deck! And the food quality is v down market. OK if you enjoyed eating in your school canteen in the 1960's. So by all means select the hotel, but eat there at your peril. There are plenty of eating "places" around and a few restaurants too.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank lumiere68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: preferez les chambres avec vue sur mer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holdinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 972poupoune66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank karineC475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 37 in Roses
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#29 of 37 in Roses
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#5 of 37 in Roses
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Avinguda de la Platja n. 2, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range: $94 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecarlo hotel is pleased to welcome you on the border of the Rosas Bay, on the northern part of the Costa Brava.It is located right on the Santa Margarita beach, with a direct access to the maritime promenade.For you, we emphasized our services. In the Montecarlo Hotel, you will be welcome with a sincere and personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Roses
Hotel Montecarlo Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing