We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of season - and great rates!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed here last weekend.
Great rates out of season and massive value for money - booked through Hotels.com
Out of season parking is easy - in season - don't even think about it - Roses is mad!
Our room was large and had two twin beds, two sofas and a kitchenette. Bathroom a little bit on the wee side and teh place must be due for a refurb soon.
The restaurant downstairs looks a bit on the pricey side of life.
Great views of the beach and sea.
Out of season and at this price level - would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

cosy old-fashioned apartments with kitchenette and air-condition, walk right across the road to the beach, enjoy the good breakfast in the upmarket priced restaurant, but forget about your internet connection and be lucky to find a place to park your car nearby in high season

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PankowBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent 2 nights in Roses Spain, a great area about 2 hours north of Barcelona by car. The city is on a bay with about 3-4 miles of sandy beach. The city is very touristy, meaning that there are large crowds in the summer, with scores of restaurants and shops filled with people. So if you are looking for a quiet getaway, Roses is not your place.
We booked our room as a quadruple, with the hotel stating there would be four beds. However, when we arrived, the room had two single beds and then a couch. The couch had a small pull out mattress, but the expectation was that the 4th person would sleep on a hard couch. When l voiced my objection at the front desk, they said "we don't have rooms with 4 beds" (despite the quadruple room promotion), and further stated that they were completely booked.
The room itself had a fantastic view of the ocean, and included a mini fridge and even a stove (not sure what benefit the stove was as there were not stores anywhere to buy food).
Parking in Roses is very difficult. The hotel has a parking garage you can use for a fee, but it is about 6-7 blocks away.
We drove one day along the coast towards France, to Banuls-Sur-Mer and to Collioure (this latter beach was fantastic), it was about an hour drive from Roses.
Be sure to go to Figueres to the Dali museum.

The hotel has a restaurant but it is very expensive and not worth it, given the innumerable other restaurant options all over town that are much cheaper.

The hotel has no amenities at all (you can't even get a soft drink at night).

The hotel location is great, however rates in August are very high relative to September.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdvmanhattanbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Good location. Friendly staff. Impossible parking. Noisy sea front rooms. No entertainment, no communal areas
Restaurant served bad food with arrogance. Still frozen chicken, half cooked fish. Canned soup. Strongly suspect evening set meal was lunchtime leftovers. Expensive wine

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bomberBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed four nights on a room & breakfast basis. The location of the hotel is perfect - easily found on arrival in Roses, front line right on the lovely beach and close to the pedestrian area of the old town which has lots of restaurants etc for lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices.
The only downside is car parking. The hotel has none, not even outside for drop off! This is an issue all over this town. Bad enough in late May and apparently a nightmare in high season. The good news isthat what parking is availabl on street is free. There is also a pay car park along the front if really stuck.
We asked for a top floor room to get a terrace with table/chairs and two sunbeds. Very well worth the extra cost. 504 is the best room if you can get it. Large terrace on front and side of room.
Breakfast was good, with plenty choice but aimed at the European market - cold meats/cheese etc instead of hot options. Excellent selection of fruits made up for it.
The hotel is a little tired looking, but is certainly very clean and the staff friendly. Not much English spoken, though. Seems to be a favourite of the French, which is no bad thing as they always seek high standards! In fact the whole of Roses was full of French visitors, very much the dominant nationalty. Very few Brits and no Americans.
Close to the hotel you can get a boat trip to Cadaques - an hour's sail for €13 return was good value. Do not go by road - difficult drive and no parking.
From Girona airport it was an easy 50 minutes drive which makes this town very accessible. A real Spanish town with real Spanish people and not too touristy. I liked it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I booked this hotel for one night whilst traveling from spain to Southern France. On arrival we found that we could not get near the hotel due to the local carnival. Parking was in a back street some 400 meters away. Booked a twin bedded no smoking room for myself and my son only to be given a double bed. After complaining to the reception which happened to be a small desk in the entrance corrider we had the room changed to a twin room but it smelled very strongly of smoking and not very clean. The bathroom was tiny and desparatly in need of a refurb as was the rest of the hotel. It was as if it was timelocked in the 1970's. After aproaching reception again it was take it or leave it. As the time was now 10 p.m. we had no choice. There is a resteraunt at the hotel but you have to leave the hotel walk down the street and in through another door. Great when it is raining and blowing a gale. The food was good but very expensive. Breakfast which was in the price for the overnight stay was again in this resteraunt down the street.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Wish we had read the reviews, the hotel was close to the main section of Rosas and was told that there was plenty of free parking. We were not told that it was street parking which was not available. We had to drive round the one way system several times before we found parking and had to walk over a mile back to the hotel with luggage in the rain. Hotel not bad, had small kitchenette in room, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jancowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 37 in Roses
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramblamar
Hotel Ramblamar
#23 of 37 in Roses
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montmar
Hotel Montmar
#12 of 37 in Roses
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit

Address: Plaza Cataluna, 20, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Price Range: $64 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mar y Sol Elit is located on the seafront, at the shopping and residential district area of Roses, in Costa Brava. The hotel Mar y Sol Elit stands out for its central location which provides wonderful views of the Bay of Roses. The hotel Mar y Sol Elit has an easy access to the beach and its 37 fully equipped rooms are specially designed for families and allow the accommodation of up to 4 people per room. All the rooms have: -Bathroom with hairdryer -Air conditioning and heating - Direct phone line -Safety box (consult pricing) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Aparthotel Mar y Sol Hotel Roses
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing